We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Railroad Cafe - CLOSED

Railroad Cafe
Price range: $31 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nice family place with regular customers, comfy seating, and nobody worrying about their gluten sensitivities or calorie counts. My favorite was the desert - pralines made locally. Yum.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Live2TravelReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
286 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“First Time visit did not dissapoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went after church for the first time today 2/10/2013. The place is in Humble after you cross over the railroad tracks. I like small business and like to support them. you have a choice of cornbread or rolls and we got the cornbread until our food came. You can get bot a breakfast and lunch menu( i do not know if this was just for the time we came or Sunday). I ordered a cheese omelet, the biscuits and potatoes were good as well. If you are watching carbs then do not get this but it was Sooo Good! This is a very quaint type of place. I like the menu and the service was nice as well. I will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bacrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huffman, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Treated us great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We arrived one evening to find the restaurant was closed for a private party. But they did mention that they had a small side room and would be willing to serve my wife and I there. We had a wonderful meal, great service, and felt like we were treated "special". We've been meaning to go back ever since.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Our favorite in Houston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The cafe was recommended to us 6 years ago by the bellman at our hotel. We are from Monterey Bay are of CA and prefer local food to the many chain restaurants in the area. Wehave gone every year since and never disappointed. It wasn't that hard to find, yet was funky looking on the outside. Our TX friends with us were a bit dubious about going in. Were they surprised! The food, atmosphere, and service were wonderful, delightful, and impeccable in that order. The chef has twice just brought us what he felt like preparing that night and we were never disappointed. Wine selection is good as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Delicious Food, Charming Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

The food here is absolutely delicious! Tons of selections for such a tiny little place.The service was excellent. The atmosphere was awesome. You feel like you have escaped into a little unique fairy tale cottage. We have found our new secret restaurant staple!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railroad Cafe also viewed

Humble, Texas Gulf Coast
Humble, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Humble, Texas Gulf Coast
Humble, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing