We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our quiet home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hughes Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly Hill Homestead B&B
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We found Holly Hill about 10 years ago when we wanted a quiet place away from the hustle and bustle of touristy Jefferson...while visiting Jefferson. It was also our sanity away from our daily life in the Dallas area! We have been back many times over those 10 years...even though we have moved from the Dallas area to another east Texas town, we still enjoy the serenity of Holly Hill and the company of good friends! Jolene's breakfast ( and lunch and/or dinner if you choose) is never disappointing! You feel like you are "home" when you walk through the door!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

When looking for a weekend getaway my mind goes to Holly Hill Homestead, and then, so do I! It is a wonderful relaxing retreat where you can see the stars (and the full moon), hear the birds and forget all the traffic and hustle bustle of the city. One can celebrate birthdays, friendships, and life itself. The food is an experience all it's own, but nothing tops the hospitality of Jolene and Tim. Thank you, Jolene and Tim, not only for sharing your beautiful place, but also for being the special people that you are.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Holly Hill Homestead is a hidden oasis of quiet beauty and gracious hospitality. The sounds of nature encompass this delightful getaway. It is an opportunity to explore meandering pathways and appointed gardens. You’ll fall asleep in one of the charming yet incredibly comfortable bedrooms and simply escape from your hectic, hurry-up world.
Awaken to the sunrise song of birds and the fragrant anticipation of a delicious homemade breakfast by the lovely hosts Tim and Joliene Wilson.
Making plans to return, you will leave Holly Hill Homestead with memories of sheer comfort and joy.

Debra Smith

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

We want to thank you for visiting Holly Hill once again as your special gals getaway. I will always remember your excitement of picking fresh squash blossoms and watching me make them into something yummy. Talk about "Farm to Table" in a fun way. You and the birthday group are always just the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Our first stay here and we loved it. We stayed in the newly built cabin, "Parker's Crossing". Hosts Tim and Jolene Wilson have provided everything you need to be cozy and relaxed in this charmingly rustic setting. There is a bedroom downstairs with a queen bed. The loft (my favorite spot) also has a very comfortable queen bed. Windows galore let in lots of sunlight. Homemade quilts adorn the beds. Corrugated tin and cast iron fixtures add to the 'country' feel of the place. It rained our first night. The gentle sound against the tin roof was was the perfect backdrop for a great nights rest. We are looking forward to visiting again...and again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kern B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My wife and I spent two wonderful nights here for our 20th wedding anniversary. There was a noticible atmosphere of peace and tranquility even as we went for a walk in the trails around the 12 acre wooded property. The owners, Jolene and Tim Wilson have gone to many, many details creating a wonderful atmosphere, excellent hospitality, delicious food and a reason to getaway. With all of the business of life, these three days, for us, was an experience that refreshed us spirit, soul and body and a place we're looking forward to coming back to again.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here two evenings for the purpose of just getting away to relax and reconnect. We found Holly Hill Homestead on the internet and after reading the reviews on their website, decided to give it a try. We live in the Dallas area so the short trip to east Texas was a pleasant drive. Upon arriving at Holly Hill we were met by Jolene who was helping her husband put some finishing touches on a very nice cabin (located on a piece of their property) they had built for guests. Tim & Jolene are two of the nicest people you will meet! They not only make you feel "at home," they are like old friends you have not seen in a while ..."very easy to be around." We stayed in their home, choosing the Lady Bird Room, named after Lady Bird Johnson who had stayed in this house when her husband was president. Holly Hill is very comfortable in all respects ...from the home, to the hostess and host, the surroundings, the bed, and the food! Yes, Jolene can COOK! Our two breakfasts were unbelievably good, not to mention "the snacks" I sampled ...as in chocolate chip pound cake! They even sent me home with a couple of slices ...just the kind of people Tim and Jolene are! And then there are the animals ...from Larry the Peacock, to Amos the Parrot all were very entertaining! Never knew that a parrot could say so much! You will laugh! As for the small towns around Holly Hill, quaint with a couple of very good restaurants (for dinner) and a great winery that provides live music on the weekend! Please read all the details of this B&B on the Holly Hill Homestead website and then take a drive to East Texas, you will be thrilled that you did ...we were and will go back!

Room Tip: We believe any accommodation you choose at Holly Hill Homestead will provide you with a great experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Tim and Jolene are wonderful hosts. They share their peaceful garden surrounded B&B in a way you will never forget. What a wonderful way to relax. And the food is tremendous! Jolene's expertise in the kitchen cannot be matched! You will return again and again. We do!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraJoy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holly Hill Homestead B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Hill Homestead B&B

Address: 9076 Texas Highway 11, Hughes Springs, TX
Location: United States > Texas > Hughes Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hughes Springs
Price Range: $85 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holly Hill Homestead Bed & Breakfast and its companion property, Parkers' Crossing Cabin is a secluded, rural getaway in the piney woods of east Texas. Famous for its 30-year herb and perennial gardens, Holly Hill is known by its regular guests for comfortable, relaxing accommodations, customized breakfasts and personal attention. The 1930's style farm house and property with its variety farm animals, nearly two acres of display gardens and over one half mile of deep-woods, walking trails offer restful relaxation and retreat. The two-bedroom, two-bath house is unpretentious and real, full of antiques and stories reminiscent of an earlier, quieter time of hard work and virtue. Parkers' Crossing offers more private accommodations with two queen beds in one private bedroom and a loft, a one-of-a kind, custom rain shower and beautiful view of the natural setting that is unique to Holly Hill. If you are lucky, you'll get to sleep to the soft, soothing sound of rain on the tin roof.Enhance your stay at Holly Hill with a pre-arranged workshop in herb gardening, cooking, decorating, design or other custom craft by request. Private dinners, luncheons and picnic baskets are also available with advanced notice. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing