We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Poor to Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Houston North
Ranked #74 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Midwest
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“From Poor to Excellent”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Prior to my stay, I had emailed the Hilton Houston North rep who generally responds to the comments on this thread with some general questions. Over two weeks later, I still had not received a response and phoned the hotel.

Since we were checking in on January 1, I wanted to know if the Exec Lounge and/or the restaurant would be open, I also had questions about the hotel shuttle to/from the airport. A Front Desk rep picked up the call and put me on hold for over 10 minutes when I finally hung up. The next day I called again. The rep was less than pleasant and sounded annoyed with my questions. And so, my expectations for this hotel were low.

Upon arrival at IAH, I called the hotel again. This time, the Front Desk rep gave me precise instructions on where to catch the shuttle and when to expect it. At check-in, the same rep (Matt) was cheerful and friendly. I had booked a suite and jokingly mentioned that the Presidential Suite would be nice. Matt checked and told me that it was mine.

Matt told us the Exec Lounge was open, but unfortunately, it wasn't. He then gave us one coupon per person for a free appetizer at Vino. We were planning on having dinner anyway, so the coupons came in handy. In addition to the appetizers, we also ordered some entrees. The salt and pepper shrimp salad was my favorite, along with the seared tuna appetizer.

The next morning we tried to enter the Exec Lounge for breakfast and again it was closed. The Front Desk gave us each a breakfast coupon, and we ended up with a substantially more hearty breakfast than what we would have had in the Lounge.

Since we were expecting a quick breakfast in the Lounge, we were running late when we got to the restaurant. The breakfast server gave us some carry-out containers so that we could eat on the shuttle to the airport.

The shuttle service was prompt and efficient. If I were to ever transit through IAH again, I will be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamboola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpaduano, Director of Sales at Hilton Houston North, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello Bamboola! Thank you for your review of our hotel. I want to start out by apologizing for the problem you had when trying to contact the hotel for information prior to your stay. There is no excuse for that. I did want to tell you that we are actually going to use your review as a training topic. In fact, two topics. First is for all the PBX Operators & Front Desk Agents on how important it is to take care of not just the guests in front of you but also those on the phone. Second is how to recover from a mistake like Matt did with you.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to tell us and everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    295
    164
    87
    45
See reviews for
169
127
83
611
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Room was a great rate, included internet, appies and continental breakfast. I would have rated this hotel higher, but we froze! Heater in room just blew cold air, and never warmed up. Thankfully, theny had an extra blanket in the room. Felt like the hotel was empty...has a massive lobby. Starbucks was closed. Shuttle service was great also.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ItravelTKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpaduano, Director of Sales at Hilton Houston North, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello itravel1967!

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would return once again in the future. We also want to apologize for the cold air in your room heater. Since we don't know your name, there is no way for us to track what room you stayed in. We also don't know if you called for assistance with the problem or not. If you did not, please remember to always call in any hotel. We would have been glad to move you to another room if we couldn't fix the problem for you.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffettAir
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This Hilton stands tall with a grand building and HUGE lobby complete with Starbucks, business center, and restaurant. Rooms are spacious, modern, and have all the amenities for a complete stay. My oversized room had a separate living area, much like the layout of an Embassy Suite. The staff and management went out of their way to say hello and welcome to their hotel - thank you Mgr Gino for an outstanding stay and I look forward to returning very soon. Your property sets the Hilton standard very high.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffettAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosmont, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Overall, this is a good Hilton, well situated near the Airport, with ample parking, but not without its faults.

The rooms are upto the standard that one would expect for Hilton, but the executive lounge was below the normal standard, as the drinks were covered by an honesty bar, rather than a free happy hour, and there was no computer facilities in the executive lounge.

The computer facilities downstairs were not really up to scratch either.

The front reception staff could be better customer focussed too.

Breakfast in the main restaurant was good also.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the front carpark are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpaduano, Director of Sales at Hilton Houston North, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello kmcattrell!

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and we are glad you enjoyed our hotel even though we did fail you in a couple of ways. I am sorry our Concierge Lounge does not have a complimentary bar in the evening. Hilton gives the hotels the option of doing the Honor Bar or going free. Many charge and many do not.


Based on your suggestion, we are looking into the possibility of putting in a computer into the lounge.

Our complimentary Business Center is not run by us but an outside company. We will share your feedback with them. They do upgrades to the equipment periodically.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

This is the first time in a Hilton property. Lets start with the hotel itself. The lobby is huge! A Starbucks, cafe etc... A great place to meet with friends or even people watch. The front desk staff is great. Friendly, professional, dressed well. Very polite and helpful. They gave me exactly what I asked for even though I don't frequent Hilton's. the rooms are very clean and updated with nice linens and flat screen tv's. Even a in room safe which I think is important. I did have room service one night. Even though the price was very high the food was great. Overall I was very pleased with my stay for a week. The hotel is centrally located. Right next to the interstate, airport, and activities. However the location is not in the best area. Very sketchy at times. That would be the only drawback about this property. I would stay in this property again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cswhite1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel was clean, staffed with incredibly friendly people, and had great food at the restaurants. The executive lounge is the best that I've ever been in, with a fantastic coffee machine that made anything from a regular cup, to cappucino, to lattes. The food was fresh, the lounge was actually staffed (which is definitely what made it tremendously better than other lounges I've been in), and they had a manager's reception that we were invited to that had outstanding food and drinks. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at the Hilton North Houston. The outside of the hotel looks different and attractive. The rooms are really great, comfortable and quiet as well (an interesting approach with the separated seating area). The price for the stay is a bargain. The gym is functional. However during the weekend the food options in the hotel and that neighborhood are limited. Overall I had a great stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.4 mi away
Houston Marriott North
Houston Marriott North
#128 of 510 in Houston
448 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston North IAH
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency North Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston/Bush Airport
4.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
4.5 mi away
Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Houston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston North

Property: Hilton Houston North
Address: 12400 Greenspoint Dr, Houston, TX 77060-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Houston
#43 Business Hotel in Houston
#51 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Houston North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 25 minutes from downtown Houston and the George R. Brown Convention Center, the Hilton Houston North offers the perfect location - less than 8 miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), in the heart of the Greenspoint business district. Our north Houston hotel is close to major corporate offices such as Halliburton, GE Oil & Gas, ExxonMobil and ABS. All 480 guest rooms and suites feature the largest rooms in the IAH area - 400 sq ft! All rooms are connected to high-speed internet access and have 37" LCD televisions. Keep up with work at the flexible work desk with Herman Miller ergonomic chairs. Refrigerators available upon request. Full service Starbucks in the lobby gets you started in the morning. Over 25 restaurants with in walking distance and our local shuttle can take you to even more! Great shopping & entertainment at the Woodlands Mall, Market Street and Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavillion all located in the Woodlands. Old Towne Spring offers great shopping and restaurants. Splash on down to Splashtown Water Park just 5 mi north of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Houston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston North Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston North
Wyndham Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing