We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short trip through Houston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria
Ranked #128 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Valparaiso, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short trip through Houston”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I was driving through Texas and needed a place to stay and was glad to find this hotel with free parking. Overall, it's not the fanciest Westin I've stayed in, but the room was quite comfortable. I did find the tiny balcony to be somewhat amusing; however, I stepped out there and was able to get some nice nighttime photos from my 15th floor room. I booked a rate that included breakfast, and I loved that room service was an option since that is a luxury to which I don't normally treat myself. Since I didn't have to be anywhere at a specific time in the morning I was able to go for a run in the area and then enjoy a nice room service breakfast. I'd definitely book this hotel again if driving through but might opt to stay downtown if I was actually visiting Houston itself.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Supervisor at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Matthew P,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your short trip through Houston! Your night time photos and of the rooms and Galleria skyline turned out very nice and we appreciate you having uploaded them! We hope you will allow us the privilege to continue hosting you during any future travels through Houston.

Be well,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    260
    157
    68
    43
See reviews for
151
118
58
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We visited Houston for the first time and stayed at the best place ever. The Galleria was fun shopping, great restaurants and close to the freeway. We visited NASA and Galveston and the location of hotel near freeway made for easy access.
Fun place to stay and bring the kids! Mine loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Andersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Supervisor at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear 4Andersons,

We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your first visit to Houston! It was our pleasure to host you and hope to continue assisting in providing you and your family with memorable family vacations.

Best wishes,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The staff was very courteous and made me feel comfortable during my stay. I liked the option of choosing whether to have maid service or get extra points. The bed truly was heavenly! There was a small balcony off my room with a view of the pool area. There was a nice outdoor pool but no hot tub. I suppose the heat may have been the reason for the lack of a hot tub. The room was quite large, as was the bath. The showerhead was very nice too. Two negatives, in my opinion, were the charge for in room WiFi and the lack of onsite self-seve laundry facilities. Given the cost of the room, I was surprised to find a $10 per day charge for WiFi. As to the laundry, it was a huge inconvenience for me because I have to use special detergent. Therefore, I could not use the laundry service offered by the hotel. I had to locate a laundromat to wash my clothes since I stayed 10 days. Overall, however, my stay was quite nice and I would stay there again if I return to Houston.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor and a good view. A view of the pool is nice and the upper floors also ave bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dispalzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Supervisor at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Displazz,

We appreciate your comments about your recent trip to the Westin Oaks. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy the Heavenly amenities such as the bedding and shower head. We regret that the cost of wifi and lack of laundry facilities caused a disruption in your stay. You may be interested to know that we do provide free wifi in our lobbies and offer dry cleaning services for a fee. We hope to be able to continue hosting you during any future trips to Houston.

Be well,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed the night here on a weekend visit to houston. Wife shopped at the galleria and I played golf. The hotel is part of the galleria. First off, they have really cool smart elevators. The lobby is hip, inviting and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the mall and Cheesecake Factory next door. the rooms are very clean and nice. You can tell it's an older hotel, but it's more of a nostalgic feeling with a clean nice new feel to it. The beds were amazing and I slept great. The shower heads were really cool. I know that sounds weird but when you stay at a few hotels it's the small things that matter. I would definitely stay here again, especially to be steps away from the mall and convenient parking steps from the lobby ( they also have valet parking) . I also forgot a few things in the room and they sent it to me at my house. We also were helped by Caitlin at the front desk on a few print outs for concert tickets. She was very helpful and courteous! Made our day!!!
We order room service and the food was good and fast. (Try the macaroni and cheese)
Great hotel! Great getaway.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mruizinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Supervisor at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Mruizinla,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed an invigorating and refreshing stay at the Westin Oaks. It is our pleasure to provide personalized service and are grateful for your kind words about Caitlin. We hope to continue providing you with our heavenly amenities during any future travels to the Houston Galleria area.

Warm Regards,

Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I were in town for a planned visit to MD Anderson Cancer Center. Since this can sometimes be a very nerve-wracking experience for me, I decided to try and make it fun by turning it into a date night. Angelica in guest services made our stay so special! When I called to see if I could make sure that we got a king bed, I mentioned briefly the visit to MD Anderson and my desire to try to turn the night into a date. She made sure we got the king room. She also had a small plate of healthy snacks delivered to our room accompanied by a sweet, hand-written note wishing us a great date night! This meant a lot to me, especially since I am a graduate student with student loans and, now, medical debt. I would normally never be able to pay for these types of upgrades. Angelica helped turn a somewhat distressing visit to Houston into something very special. She has made very loyal customers of us! Thank you, Westin and thank you Angelica. --Andi

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalyn W, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Andi G,

We appreciate your 5-star review of the Westin Oaks! Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff. It thrills us to hear that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience by displaying personalize instinctive service. We strive in creating a relaxing and rejuvenating atmosphere to unwind and we are elated that we could provide this for you and your boyfriend. We look forward in hosting you again and invite you back with a warm welcome.
Be Well
Kalyn Wilson
Guest Relations Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

It wasn't quite the level I had expected for a Westin, but over all nice.
It's missing snacks, TV channel guide, the bath was not the lux feel that I've come to expect from a Westin. One more thing some form of art or color in the halls would add a lot in my opinion.
It was clean, and the view was nice. The value was good.
We enjoyed our three night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalyn W, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Kathiang,

Thank you for taking the time in providing us with your candor. We appreciate all guest feedback as it allows us the opportunity to improve. We are glad that over all your stay was satisfying and you enjoyed our relaxing and tranquil rooms. We do provide a menu for our refreshment centers so you can customize you snacks to your liking, which can be ordered through Service Express. We regret that this was not communicated to you. It is disappointing that your expectations were not met with our heavenly bath and apologized that this caused a disruption in your stay. We value your comment as well as your time spent with us. We hope to continue to host you in your future trips to the Houston Galleria area.
Be Great,
Kalyn Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilgore
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I reserved this hotel through Hotwire and I got a good deal. $109.00 for the night. My check in was painless and the room was great with a nice view and being attached to the Galleria was a perk. I do have 2 gripes though. 1st is internet access. For some reason the Westin's want to charge you for their internet and it's not that great either. $9.95 for 24 hrs at 512kb down. I thought I would be able to use my phone for internet but I am thinking they have cell jammers installed. I always have great reception in the big cities with AT&T but not in this hotel. 2nd is the parking. I figured you park in the parking lot that is in front of the building but not here. The parking lot out front is the "express parking", whatever that is. It is however a money making operation for the mall. They charged me $6 to get out and I was only in there for 15 minutes. For the free parking you have to park in the blue garage which is underneath the parking lot. Not a pleasant area. I felt like I needed to be sanitized walking out of there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanAN70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#34 of 511 in Houston
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria

Property: Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria
Address: 5011 Westheimer Rd., Houston, TX 77056-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#112 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria is located in the Uptown Galleria District and offers the perfect setting for those who are seeking the ultimate in leisure, dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Oaks Houston At The Galleria Hotel Houston
Westin Hotel Houston
Westin Hotel Oaks
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing