We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good because it's connected to the mall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria
Ranked #141 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had a business meeting at the Galleria area and stayed in this hotel. It's was my first time in this hotel, I had stayed before at the Westin Galleria and at the JW Marriott which are in the same general area so I had the possibility of establishing a quick benchmark. Check in was quick, I got my room in the 7th floor, next to the elevators, which to my surprise are absolutely silent. The room was clean, quiet, I would even say big. The safe deposit box was ruined, somebody never got to finish the maintenance routine. Elevators are a bit confusing, you punch the button of the floor you want to go outside the elevator, a screen then tells you which elevator is yours (A, B, C or D) and when it opens you hop in but inside there are no numbers to punch. I guess this inverted logic must be hard on some people. Well I slept ok, the bed being comfortable, the bath, shower, ok. They have a nice gym, it's got enough Life Fitness treadmills, bicycles and elyptical trainers. Breakfast was an issue, I mean the food is ok, but the service is sooo slow it hurts. Really, you should better walk out into the mall and get your chow somewhere else. The bar is good and the service there is so much quicker. Would I stay there again? I probably would.

Room Tip: Elevators are silent so don't worry about getting a room next to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homero M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 774 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The Westin is a somewhat dated hotel but the rooms are spacious and clean. The bed and shower are comfortable. The hotel us connected to the shopping mall so there is plenty to do but the area is full of traffic. Breakfast is ok but expensive but the bar is nice. Internet works fine. Ok hotel for a few nights

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank DdeKerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have stayed at both Westin Hotels at the Galleria mall over the past 25 years and they are our favorite places to stay in Houston - bar none! The location is great and the beds are better. I have purchased 4 heavenly beds from Nordstrom because of my stay at the Westins in Houston!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank LuBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear LuBeast,
We are honored to have been able to host you throughout the years! We appreciate your kind words and hope to continue this tradition during all your future trips to the Houston Galleria area! We are thrilled that you were able to take home a bit of the heavenly amenities and look forward to seeing you again!

Be well,
Jennifer Rincon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Westin Oaks. We were in town for The Battle of the Piney Woods football game. Our room was large and the decor was up to date. I enjoyed the view from the large sliding window that opened onto a small balcony. The bed was very comfortable. Traffic around the hotel/mall area is constantly busy, but that's not the hotel's fault. We liked having direct access to the mall via the hotel's elevator. Many restaurants in the area can be easily reached by walking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 894macj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a good solid Westin. If you can get a good rate, stay here. The gov't discount is aggressive, when available. If you want to shop at Galleria Mall, this is the hotel to stay at. You go to the bottom floor, and walk directly into the mall. There is a ton of traffic around this destination because of the mall, so stay somewhere else if you are not shopping. The staff is friendly, they have a good bar, but closes early, and a good gym. There is an outdoor pool, but it could use some work. The bathrooms are newer, but the could be updated. The rooms off the front, on higher floors have a nice view. They offer free parking underground, so don't pay for valet. Parking can be tough, by try the lower levels. All and all a good stay, at a good hotel. Oh, don't eat breakfast there, it is highway robbery. Breakfast for 4 was $105! Go to Tommy's Grill down the street, across from the Post Oak Hilton. You get a great breakfast for less than $10.

Room Tip: Do not eat breakfast here, it is SUPER pricey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCHOTELGUY01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My overall experience was ok, the rooms are old and careless but clean. In my opinion it was too expensive for what they offer, the only god thing is that its right there on the Galleria Mall, so you dont have to move to go shopping. The only problem I had with this hotel was that at the time to check out, it took about an hour and a half to get it done! And even after that, they still messed it up! We checked in with my credit card and at the end my boyfriend payed with his, so they charched both credit cards for our stay, and it was very troubling to get things right. Their staff were very nice and took care of things, dont get me wrong, but in a very slow way, they made me waste a lot of time. Other than that they had a good attitude towards the issue. That was my first time shopping in Houston, so it was ok. Whenever I go shopping I like to stay as close as I can to the mall, so this Hotel is a good choice if you dont mind spending more money than you should for the kind of rooms they have.

Room Tip: The only tip I have for this hotel is that when you are booking it, make sure it has the internet al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Houston is such an elegant exciting city and the Westin Oaks in the Galleria mirrors this thrilling luxurious city. The staff is friendly and my room was huge! If the real estate motto "Location, location, location" is true, this hotel has one of the best locations in Houston. Located in the city's posh SW part of town, in the Galleria, where there are wonderful shops and restaurants of every type, no one would ever be disappointed. Only complaint, internet in the room is $10/day, which is tacky. Other than that, it was copacetic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShantiElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#26 of 518 in Houston
928 reviews
Great Uptown
Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria

Address: 5011 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#112 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $130 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria is located in the Uptown Galleria District and offers the perfect setting for those who are seeking the ultimate in leisure, dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splitty, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Oaks Houston At The Galleria Hotel Houston
Westin Hotel Houston
Westin Hotel Oaks
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing