We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and professional staff, but old run down rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria
Ranked #126 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly and professional staff, but old run down rooms!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel's location was excellent. The staff- from the check in counter to the housekeeping staff- were outstanding. But the hotel itself is old and needs updating. I am surprised that Westin corporate hasn't realized this. The "heavenly shower" shower head was discolored and molded. A sticker above the shower head explaining why one of the shower heads had been disabled (for green reasons) was crooked and looked like a 5 year old stuck it up there. The shower head that did work had pink/red mold on it. Ceiling tiles were stained (yellow) in the bathroom. The non-slip material in the bottom of the tub was also cut in a way that looked sloppy. The duvet cover was frayed, the desk chair was missing the arms and couldn't be adjusted down because the adjustment handle was broken off. The men's restroom on the third floor smelled like urine VERY badly. Again, the hotel is in a good location, but it isn't up to Westin standards. Needs updating!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDubChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin M, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Greetings CDubChina,

Thank you for your review of the Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location and the level of service you experienced. However, we regret that your experience regarding the bathroom and room amenities was less than perfect. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us! We assure you that the information you provided is forwarded to the appropriate departments so that we can take every step to alleviate these issues. If and when your travels bring you back to the Galleria area of Houston, we would love the opportunity to have you as our guest again and make a better impression.

Thank you,
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    251
    149
    64
    42
See reviews for
147
110
58
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend here. We were on the 18th floor with an outstanding view facing north. The room was very clean, but there is wear and tear around the carpet and furniture edges.The beds are absolutely fantastic. I can't rate the food because the prices are laughably high. I ate at the mall or a restaurant down the street. My wife was there for a convention, so she had a chance to eat. She found the food very mediocre. The parking situation is a time consuming challenge. You can pay a hefty amount for express parking and valet or park underground and compete for spaces with aggressive visitors to the mall. You can drive in circles for 5 -10 minutes vying for a space. The traffic around the hotel, like the rest of Houston, is thick and constant. Even at midnight. Who are these people?

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher than 10, facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin M, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Greetings Ken M,

Thank you for your Four Star review of the Westin Oaks Houston. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience regarding the room view, the Westin Heavenly Bed, and the cleanliness of the room. We regret, however, that there were a few negative aspects during your stay regarding the parking and the condition of some of the room amenities. We strive to provide an outstanding location for our guests to visit, and we appreciate you providing us with information that will help us improve this experience.

Kind regards,
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I read the trip advisor reviews, but for multiple reasons decided to stay anyway, hoping for the best. We had a double queen on the corner, which was a nice big room. But, the toilet didn't flush well (as another reviewer had noted) and it had to be held down to a count of 10 to flush well. How about upgrading to efficient, effective toilets? The bottom of the tub needed a good cleaning (black) or just soaking with some bleach! The parking was a total nightmare (as other reviewers had said), and the line for valet looked horrible (as other reviewers had said). There was a line of cars waiting to turn into the lot, which would affect those self-parking and those waiting for the valet. I refused to pay for internet service, and the "free" wireless in the lobby didn't work well. And it was so noisy (as other reviewers had said)! Sirens throughout the night. Honking from the street. I should have listened to the previous reviewers and stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DRPeroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin M, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Good day DRPeroli,

We appreciate you taking time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin Oaks Houston. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the size of the guest room. We do, however, regret the challenges you endured with parking, bathroom fixtures, and noise from the road. The Westin Oaks strives to make every stay as enjoyable as possible, and we apologize for failing to deliver on this promise during your recent visit. We would like to follow up with you regarding the details of your visit to the Westin Oaks Houston and ensure that these issues are addressed. Please, do not hesitate to contact me at Galle@westin.com and reference this review. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We are staying here this week and have enjoyed it, the staff makes all the difference - they are very helpful and friendly. The missing towels in our bathroom yesterday shoved up within two minutes of my phonecall - am still wondering how they did that!! Love the beds, with a choice of soft or harder cushions. Free parking and direct access to the Galeria food court is a big plus, having to pay for Internet access is a minus...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Anni S., Thanks so much for the four star review of our hotel, the Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria. We are absolutely thrilled you were able to enjoy our world-class service, heavenly bed, convenient location and free parking. With regard to internet, I must mention that we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our lobby. I do apologize if we failed to make you aware of this during your visit. Thanks again for the delightful review and we look forward in welcoming you back as our guest! Be Well, Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Really enjoyed staying here. Was on business, but brought wife and kiddos. With one vehicle, it was wonderful for her to have direct access to the mall without needing a vehicle during the day. Even when I was back from work, it was wonderful not to need to get back into the horrible traffic.
Amazing number of eating establishments inside the mall, and ice skating was thrilling to the kids.

We asked for a high level room, and one away from the elavators, and it was pretty quiet. Beds were comfortable, and it was very nice having two queen beds at a minimum (would have been overjoyed with king beds).

Service was friendly, but charging for internet was disappointing. (~$10 a day, I think)
Also, when asking for a late checkout (noon is normal checkout), they only adjusted to 1 pm.

Would stay here again. Free garage parking was a nice bonus, but a little tight on the parking-even throughout the week-and the cars are like speed demons even while walking to our car in the garage.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room for quietness and better view. Ask for a room away from the elavators for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Greetings Tim T., We appreciate you sharing your Westin experience with us on Trip Advisor. We always strive to provide our guests with the most uplifting and rejuvenating experience possible and we are delighted to know we delivered on all fronts during your stay. With regard to late check-out, this is something that is based on availability, and we are glad we were able to allow you an extra hour. We are also constantly reviewing our internet policies, and this information will certainly assist in future decisions. Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to your return! Be Well, Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for recent business trip to Houston. My company is located in the Galleria so the location was convenient, especially since you never know when it's going to rain in Houston. The hotel was generally nice overall, with decent-sized rooms and nice beds. I still get irritated that fancy hotels can't provide free Internet. I did have an issue with the previous guest being kind enough to leave toenail clippings on the floor, which evidently the hotel's vacuums didn't pick up. I had to call the front desk several times before they sent someone up to clean them. Yuck! I also didn't like that the hotel didn't have quick food service available at the bar. It took an act of Congress to get some spinach dip delivered to the bar from the White Oak restaurant up in the Galleria. The concierge was very helpful on Saturday getting some college football games on the flat screens near the bar. Overall I would say a pretty good place to stay.

Hope this helps. .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Greetings Hulaemma, We appreciate you taking a moment to share your Westin Oaks experience with us on Trip Advisor. The Westin Oaks is situated in the very heart of the Houston Uptown District which allows our guests convenient access to the Galleria Mall, Williams Tower and other local businesses all without having to step outside. I must agree with your statement regarding Houston weather. It can be quite unpredictable on most days. With regards to internet, we are constantly reviewing our internet and wireless policies, and this feedback will certainly assist in our future decisions. We would also like to follow up on some additional challenges you noted. Please reach out to me via email at Galle@Westin.com. Thanks again for the four star review and we look forward in hearing from you. Be Well, Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with a couple issues. Our room is 1 Queen Bed! I didn't nllknow rooms like that existed! Hey frigin King beds Westin! Also cheap plastic cups in the bathroom really???? Whose idiot idea was that? Gives the hotel a Motel 6 feel!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianTheTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Greetings BrianTheTraveler77, Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your Westin Oaks experience with us on Trip Advisor! In regards to drinkware in our guest rooms, I must mention glassware is also available and located by the ice bucket inside the credenza. My apologies if you were not informed of this during your visit. Next time you are considering staying with us; please feel free to reach out to me via email at Galle@Westin.com. Thanks again for the four star review and feedback. Be Well, Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#37 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria

Property: Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria
Address: 5011 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#112 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria is located in the Uptown Galleria area and offers the perfect setting for those who are seeking the ultimate in leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Oaks Houston At The Galleria Hotel Houston
Westin Hotel Houston
Westin Hotel Oaks
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing