We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but very cold pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SureStay Plus By Best Western Hotel Houston Medical Center
Ranked #174 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel rooms and service was great. The breakfast was the usual Best Western good hot breakfast. The rooms were verk clean and had a good smell. However, the reason I chose to stay at thiis hotel was because it had an indoor pool. I must admit that I did not check to find out if it was heated, since I had never run into an unheated indoor pool. We were there with our grandkids who love to swim. The pool was very cold. Good news is that I now have an additional item to check when making a reservation. The only reason for not staying again is the cold pool. We will look elsewhere next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 665 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

DO NOT give these front desk reps your card for incidentals if you dont plan on using the phone or cable in the room. They will put a hold on whatever card you give them for the full amount of the room. The hold was put on my card on a Sunday and was on there for a full week. After 5-6 calls throughout an entire day, i was ignored, not listened to, and not helped in any way. They simply do NOT care.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Good hotel in Houston close to all the hospitals (shuttle to area hospitals). Only a two short block walk to the rapid transit train to downtown. Busses on the street out front. The price is what you would expect to pay for a hotel like this.
Great pillow top beds for a good sleep. The hotel is a little older but in great shape. The elevator is very slow but is working.
The people at the front desk are very nice and helpful. Nice lobby.
A very good breakfast, make yourself waffles, sausage (patties and tube), egg (mini omelette type), etc. Very busy but well maintained and stocked.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerleg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed for a week at this hotel and the service just kept getting better and better. From good recommendations for local information amazingly quick responses to questions or minor issues I would highly recommend a stay here. The prices are reasonable, the rooms are spotless with super comfortable beds and service service service service. Nice pool and jacuzzi too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fizzywa2er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel many times since 2008 and it works quite well for us. our main complaint (other than when an elevator is not working) is that the dinning room is slow to open and the gravy is very thin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

She was talking with Her boyfriend on the phone and keep Me waiting for a long time, and I left because while waiting I saw a cockroach in the elevator. I had paid the first night in advance and My money was not returned to Me, The Ruder Desk Manager kept the money to take Her boyfriend to dinner.
Ended at the Rotary House.

Room Tip: No Please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiche k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Overall - satisfied

Room Rates in my view are at the High End. When getting over $100 per night, I would start looking for rooms at Rotary House, they have complete shuttle service, etc.

Lobby and front desk and breadfast area are very nice. When getting of the elevator to the rooms you hallways leave you with not so good of a feeling. Narrow Halls, nothing to much different then you would see at a budget motel. Very plain ! Rooms were fine, comfy beds and pillows.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JAMES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Medical Center
Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SureStay Plus By Best Western Hotel Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SureStay Plus By Best Western Hotel Houston Medical Center

Address: 6700 South Main Street, Houston, TX 77030-2202 (Formerly Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $125 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SureStay Plus By Best Western Hotel Houston Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SureStay Plus By Best Western Hotel Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel And Suites At Medical Center Houston
Houston Medical Center Hotel
Best Western Houston
Houston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing