We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the usual Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center
Ranked #157 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Conroe, TX
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not the usual Best Western”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Room smelled musty and pillows are crumbly foam. Bed was comfortable. Ask for a room with a small number as the elevator at the back close to the parking lot is "elevator is temporally out of service" at night. Ask for a floor the ice machine is working. Not very accomidating for guests spending hours at the Med Center. It's cheap and breakfast is good. Never saw the shuttle? Sping for Residence Inn just a bit further.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftloos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    221
    142
    61
    40
See reviews for
228
81
53
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Center, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a very nice stay on 9/17-19/12. The rooms,staff,breakfast were very nice and clean. We were able to walk to the doctors office and Methodist Hospital.
We had only two small complaints, the indoor pool was cold and the hotel really needs
better parking or atleast a way to come in instead of walking around to the front.
Will be staying again when we come to the Medical Center area.

Room Tip: Beds are wonderful and just a really nice place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

For starters, I have stayed here several times. Every hotel has it share of pros and cons; here are mine for this hotel.

PROS: It is conveniently located within the Medical District. Within walking distance to Texas Children's Hospital new Maternity building and has a shuttle as well for many of the other hospitals. The staff is typically very friendly and polite, even if you have had a rough day. The breakfast area is larger than most Best Western hotels that I have been to. Plenty of area to sit. The rooms are usually quiet and the beds are comfortable. There is an elevator at each end of the hall which is nice.

CONS: Access into the hotel is a bit odd. There are 2 doors in the rear, however only 1 will let you in; make sure you have your key. There is also a set of doors just outside of the breakfast area which will let you out, but not back in. You will have to walk around the front of the hotel to get back in.

The fitness area is fine, but the equipment is older and needs to be replaced. I workout quite often, and their treadmill has a tendency to slip at higher speeds. I have stated this to the management, however they informed me that it has been maintained and operates normally.

Parking: If you park below, there is one door that has a key entry which will lead you to some stairs. The elevator cannot be accessed from the lower garage, so if you have bags be prepared to carry them or walk up the ramps to the front or rear entrances.

Wrap: If you have to be in the Medical District this hotel is perfectly located. It does have some minor inconveniences, but the staff and location make up for them.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, you should probably unload at check-in so that you are not having to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Was in Houston for a family having surgery. Front desk & driver were both very courteous and helpful. Stayed in the standard room. Have been at this hotel before but in a 2 suite. Much larger with a kitchen. The location was the main reason for choosing this room. We could walk to most hospitals.They did let us have an extra hr for check out & we could leave the car longer in their lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Dead Rat Found Under My Bed at the Best Western Plaza 
6700 S. Main Street Houston, TX 77030
Near Medical Centre.

I don't recommend this Hotel for any patient undergoing Chemotherapy, An Infection can be fatal. 

I called the Police to protect My rights but they made Me pay My stay, Including the evening I left the Best Western.
My rights where not respected, I caution all foreigners to avoid this Hotel, You will be abused.
Stayed July 2012

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaNjA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My daughter and I took a short vacation in Houston. Initially, we were pleased with our room. It was clean and neat. Our first disappointment was after a late dinner out, we circled the parking lot and couldn't find a parking space. We weren't alone. Eventually, squeezed into a small questionable spot. Our second disappointment was NO HOT WATER! Unbelievable. I told the people at the front desk and was ignored. I paid 105. For that. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was in Houston for eye surgery. This Best Western gives a medical discount. The king sized bed room was $100.00 with the discount. Everything was very clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable. They have a hot breakfast. They had sausage, egg patties, biscuits and gravy, waffles and all the other usuals. We did not use the pool, but we did look at it. The water was murky. I would not have gotten in it. The location was perfect for my surgery. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verySouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Medical Center
Houston Marriott Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center

Property: Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center
Address: 6700 South Main Street, Houston, TX 77030 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel And Suites At Medical Center Houston
Houston Medical Center Hotel
Best Western Houston
Houston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing