We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and good standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Ranked #120 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location and good standard”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for business and had a very good stay. Good service and nice spacious rooms. Front desk were very helpful and it's located right on the Galleria Mall. Valet parking is good and not too pricey.
Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkieUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Clarkz,

We are very appreciative of your kind review of the Westin Galleria. We strive in providing each of our guests a rejuvenating atmosphere to unwind in and are thrilled that we provided this to you. It give us joy to hear that our front desk staff assisted in making your recent stay a memorable one and hope that we have the privilege to continue providing this service to you.

Best Wishes,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    320
    208
    89
    46
See reviews for
182
126
50
468
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This Westin really impressed me—enough to switch my travel over to Starwood and get a Starwood credit card, which is something no hotel has ever done to me before. Really nice and consistent experience. The location is excellent, no matter where in Houston you're going. The room was huge and well-appointed. The Westin bed and shower are the best I have experienced in a business hotel; I recently stayed in another Westin and it was the same. I think the term they use is "heavenly" and, while the appellation is going a little far, it is basically the best I've had outside a St. Regis. Check-in was quick; my room was available 3 hours early with no fuss. The check-in agent was friendly, helpful, and knowledgable.

I will definitely be staying here again and looking forward to returning. The only negative was a constantly busy elevator bank, but that just shows the hotel is popular to me. The rooms might be a little dated to some, but everything you touch is first class. Westins are the only hotel I can remember staying in recently with shampoo and conditioner that I didn't hate. I will say that the room cleanliness could be just a little better. It was very good, but at a Westin for $200+ a night you expect pretty much perfect. The nooks and crannies should be spotless.

Room Tip: High-floor rooms are better as per usual
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
298 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was allocated room 535 when I arrived, and I cannot believe I am the first one to ask to be moved after one night, it is next to the roof top ac units so you can hear the constant hum all night. The position also makes you feel hemmed in. I would also avoid 635 634 534 etc around that are around there, and trust me I want a decent room for $200 plus a night. So when you check in and they give you a room around that area, ask for another room.

That out of the way, here are the positives, great outdoor pool. Breakfast at the Daily Grill is fabulous and good service. Rooms large but not outstanding. If you have gone for the shopping then you will love this place, you are actually in the galleria.

Room Tip: Please ensure you take on my tip, otherwise you will be disappointed with your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillCRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear BillCRochdale,

We appreciate your recent review of the Westin Galleria. We aim to provide our guests with a tranquil and rejuvenating atmosphere to unwind in and we are thrilled that we provided this to you. We hope to be able to host you again on your travels to the Houston Galleria area so that you may continue to enjoy the Westin Experience and convenient location to the Galleria mall.

Best Regards,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
1,036 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Beds are heavenly , quiet and clean rooms , hooked to the galleria and easy to get in and out of, once you figure out the entrance ramp. I am here working so the view is not an issue, but the wireless and room service are first rate. Very decent room rate and location is perfect for my business meetings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Superb location adjoining the galleria with several bars and restaurants within a few blocks,

On the down side, my room had no closet or clothes hanging space. Thankfully my stay was at the end of a 10 day tour and my need for hanging clothes was minimal. My colleague did have hanging space and I did comment on check out that it was perhaps a little silly of a hotel to not have such a space. Even without a built in unit, a hanging rack could be provided. The room was very spacious and certainly big enough!!

The room alarm clock woke me at 0555h on my first morning- obviously the previous occupant had an early flight! I had had a late night and was not too happy!!

Room Tip: Check your room has a wardrobe / closet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeReeMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear DeeReeMe,

Thank you for your kind review of the Westin Galleria. You may be interested to know that each of our rooms are equipped with a closet where you will also find the blow dryer, iron and laundry bags. Our closets can perhaps resemble inter-room connecting doors and we regret that we did not effectively communicate the location of the closet area in your room. It is also disappointing that we failed to clear the alarm clock from the previous guest. I have sent your comments to our Director of Housekeeping so that we ensure that we rectify this issue. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to host you again, should your travels bring you back to the Houston Galleria area.

Best wishes,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libreville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very, very pleasant stay. The room was ample enough for my needs. Beds and bath were very comfortable. The staff were extra polite and I found check in/out very smooth. Didnt use their facilities and the only downside was that my room didn't have much of a view (the roof of the Galleria mall). As others have noted, it is in the middle of a very busy mall but that didn't bother me as it was part of the reason why I was there. Reserved well ahead so I also got a favorable rate. All in all an excellent choice and I will definitely return when next in the Houston area.

Room Tip: Higher floors appear better but perhaps ask for one with a good view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corin_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The rooms were nice and it's attached to the galleria, which is nice since crossing the monstrous highways in the area is dangerous. The trip was ruined when my wedding ring was stolen from our hotel room. I didn't get an apology or any help from the staff trying to locate it. There are too many other hotels to patronize the Westin again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita J, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Tara J,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Westin Galleria Houston. I apologize to learn of the disappointing experience you recently encountered while staying with us. We take accusations of theft and missing items very seriously and would like an opportunity to further discuss your review. Please contact me at your earliest convenience at wecare@westin.com referencing your TripAdvisor post. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,

Anita Jain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Houston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#37 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Galleria Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Property: Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Address: 5060 W. Alabama St., Houston, TX 77056-5801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#125 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Galleria Houston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome when you arrive at The Westin Galleria Houston. Connected to The Galleria Shopping Center, it is the only place to stay for ultimate leisure, dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westin Galleria Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing