We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay, Especially for Shoppers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Ranked #109 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Beaumont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Place to Stay, Especially for Shoppers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here for our back to school shopping trip. It was so much fun! The Westin hotels are perfect for shopping because they are connected to the Galleria You can easily take your bags back to your room without having to get in your car. It makes it extremely safe for women. There are also great restaurants to eat at located in the Galleria & within close walking distance. We have stayed here many times & can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CordovaBmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    319
    204
    88
    44
See reviews for
178
124
50
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Everytime I stay at this hotel, I always get a warm genuine smile from everyone I encounter. From the valet, desk clerk, bellman, room service and the housekeepers, they were all so friendly and accommodating. It is great to be recognized and be called by my name by the employees, especially the valet drivers who saw me come in and out the two day I was there. Nice touch. I ordered room service (contl bkfst an light dinner) and it was delivered on time and fairly fast. I would be remiss if I did not mention the nice, clean and comfortable room. The hotel is in a great location. The main thing is how the employees make one feel - pretty special. I will definitely stay here again not only while traveling on business but also while on a personal mini vacation.

Room Tip: Westin Heavenly bed is heavenly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsaw196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

I've stayed here before and always had a pleasant experience. This time however, three $50 and one $209.38 holds were placed on my credit card for a two night stay. The room rate was $99 and valet parking $27 per day plus tax. I PREPAID one night, so I had already been charged $115. Since I was sharing the expenses of the room, on checkout my room mate gave her credit card to pay for her parking expenses and the second night. I have been charged for the 2 days of parking, but after 4 days I still have the $359.38 worth of holds on my account. I have been in touch with the billing office, and they have now sent me someone else's bill, with apparently the same name. The holds, they say should have been removed in 3 days, they have not. Instead of taking care of the problem, they insist that this is just the way the system holds account. I have never stayed anywhere that placed 4 diffierent holds on my account, especially since one night was prepaid, then act as if it is not their responsibility to remove it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMimi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear MsMimi08,

I am deeply sorry to hear of the issues you encountered on this visit regarding holds on your credit card account. I will send you a private message so I can look into this further as well as to ensure this issue has been rectified to your satisfaction.

Kind Regards,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
202 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Conveniently located – offers access to several restaurants within a short driving distance – which believe me is a big thing in Houston. A fairly impersonal hotel – with the regular offerings of large spacious rooms and standard fittings (slightly tacky though – like plastic glasses in the bathroom – could have used regular glasses if not ceramic). Not much to speak on in terms of view, but then that’s Houston. Has a humongous galleria running below the hotel, so if you are a shopaholic – then you’re in paradise.
We ate out, hence can’t comment on the quality of food that’s served in the hotel.
To summarize, a functional business like hotel, which could do with a more personal touch from its staff, especially given the fact that it’s a pricy hotel. Can definitely do with an upgrade in fixtures and fittings. They need to come up with some USPs to differentiate themselves.
Would one want to stay there again and again – probably not, prefer trying out other options.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KSBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

For two days I stayed while on business. The location is very convenient, connected to the Galleria Mall. The breakfast was very good. It was a very good choice

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Excellent staff which provided a good stay. The concierge was friendly and gave good advice. Clean rooms and great service. The roms are very good and the beds...the best. The pool is on the roof with little shade, which is unfortunately, but it is large enough so that all kids will enjoy it..as well as their parents. The only downside is the fact that you have to pay for your in room wifi, this while just out of the hotel in the Galleria, wifi is free available. Besides the wifi, very good

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sytse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

A very relaxing atmosphere for business trips. Customer service is excellent, very professional and friendly. Since the property is connected to the Galleria there are ample restaurants and amenities within very close walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Mark B.

We appreciate you taking a moment to share your story with us on TripAdvisor! We are very pleased to hear your stay with us was enjoyable. At Westin, our staff strives to deliver personal and instinctive service and we are more than happy to hear you experienced that while at our hotel. We are also thrilled to know our location provided you with easy access to an array of shops and restaurants. We look forward in welcoming you back soon!

Be Well,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#34 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Galleria Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Property: Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Address: 5060 W Alabama St, Houston, TX 77056-5801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#125 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Galleria Houston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome when you arrive at The Westin Galleria Houston. Connected to The Galleria Shopping Center it is the only place to stay for ultimate leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Jetsetter, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Westin Galleria Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing