We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place!”
Review of The Lancaster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lancaster
Ranked #1 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Midlothian, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This is the place!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I come to Houston all the time on business and have been hopping from hotel to hotel looking for the one I can settle on as a home away from home... someplace that doesn't have the head-board mounted to the wall. This is the place. The front desk staff were very welcoming on my entrance as were the valet staff. The rooms are super clean and have a feeling of being outfitted above the very reasonable price I paid to stay here. I especially enjoy that the hotel has brass fixtures throughout and most of the furnishings are old-school Texas period-looking items like the massive leather seats in the lobby.

The bistro is a bit more pricey than I normally look for however the food was delicious so I suppose the adage that one gets what one has paid for holds true. Dino, the bartender is a very pleasant and interesting fellow to chat with while demolishing the Lancaster Burger I had.

The buffet breakfast was better than most I have had while on the road and the wait staff was quite accommodating.

Michelle, the sales manager, was very helpful taking time to show me around the building and chatting about the history.

The train is only three blocks away which makes getting around very simple.

One thing I always note about anywhere I go is the attitude of the staff. Are they happy? Do they seem to be taken care of by the management? I must say that every person I ran into while staying here seemed to be very happy to work here and had genuine smiles on their faces. That makes a huge difference to me because I am a chatty guy and it is always more fun to talk to people who are happy themselves.

I have nothing to say that is negative about this hotel. Great stay. Clean clean clean. Service was superlative. Food was great. I am definitely coming back when in Houston.

THANKS LANCASTER STAFF!

Room Tip: I had an XX02 room. This room was fine for me however there is a view into the offices across from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineedrthelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,165
    184
    34
    21
    31
See reviews for
174
588
90
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I am traveling to Houston quite a bit now for business and the Lancaster is very close to my Houston office. It is an older hotel but it is a great value. With the room rate came breakfast, wine/happy hour and free internet. The rooms are very spacious with a couch and chair. They were also very clean. I had dinner in the restaurant and while I was one of only two tables, the food was very good. The hotel is located near the theater/historical district so plenty of places to walk to. Only downside was their 2 elevators were having issues. One was shut down completely, and you had to wait a while to get the other one. Hopefully thos issues will be cleared up soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Lancaster Hotel in Houston Tx, From the start, we were treated in a superior fashion. The hotel looked great and even though there is an ongoing upgrade to the facility, we were hardly aware of it. The room was spotless and quiet. The amenities were luxurious and the staff could not have been more courteous and helpful. In short, we loved it and will return soon. Also within easy walking distance to great restaurants and bars and the downtown music scene from classical to blues to rock and roll.

Room Tip: odd numbered rooms are generally larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The newly refurbished Lancaster Hotel is in a great location for all the downtown Houston events--operas, ballet, theater, symphony, Hobby Center movies, convention events. The food at the Bistro is excellent and there are many other restaurants close by as well. Everyone is friendly, including the courtesy car drivers who will take you to other downtown area locations. It is an excellent value for the price in a city the size of Houston. The Lancaster is always my first choice when I come to Houston.

Room Tip: It is quieter on the upper floors. Less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I live in the suburbs of Houston, yet we come to the Lancaster from time to time for a weekend getaway. It's fun to stay downtown and attend a concert or play and stay at the Lancaster ! The rooms are clean and charming - the beds very comfortable. The staff is so nice. We had so much fun laughing with Russell at the front desk !!
We've also enjoyed the Bistro for years for date nights and for business lunches. Creative, flavorful dishes served in elegant presentation at affordable prices, make it a special place to enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Very pretty historic boutique hotel located in the arts district downtown. Great place to stay within walking distance of the opera, symphony or Bayou Music Center. Very reasonably priced and the buffet breakfast they include with the room is excellent. They recently re-modeled and the rooms are nicely done. We had two rooms and while they weren't huge they certainly were adequate and include a refrigerator and a safe in the closet. They are upgrading the elevators and only one was in service during our visit but that is a temporary problem. Nice place, good value, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdbarker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here with my dad over the weekend and it was a nice hotel. The room was a little on the small side, but the decor was very old and beautiful! We were going out to dinner the first night and asked the valet to call us a cab, but because the restaurant was less than 3 miles away from the hotel one of the valet drove us there AND picked us up. They were so sweet! The rest of the staff, however, weren't as charming. Overall it was a very nice stay but definitely not over-the-top amazing.

Room Tip: 1104 was small but very pretty and had a nice skyline view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofiaNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 508 in Houston
401 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 508 in Houston
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 508 in Houston
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster

Property: The Lancaster
Address: 701 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#4 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lancaster 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently accepted into the Historic Hotels of America with Stately elegance and Outstanding service in a Historic Downtown location with Luxurious accommodations. These are the hallmarks of The Lancaster hotel. Here at The Lancaster Hotel in Downtown Houston, Texas, classic luxury and a grand tradition of hospitality blend perfectly with modern technology and warm, personalized service. Our stylish boutique hotel combines classic modern design, pampering services, amenities and superior comfort to exceed the expectations of the discriminating business or leisure traveler. The Lancaster is perfectly situated in Houston’s theater district near all the entertainment in downtown Houston, including Houston’s finest culinary, cultural and entertainment destinations. Experience luxurious comfort in our 93 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites designed with the amenities and ambiance you have come to expect from a luxury boutique hotel. Unwind in the plush comfort of down duvets and feather pillows, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, plush bathrobes; complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary courtesy car service to nearby attractions and businesses and much more. Relax with the knowledge that we are completely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing