We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Lancaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The newly refurbished Lancaster Hotel is in a great location for all the downtown Houston events--operas, ballet, theater, symphony, Hobby Center movies, convention events. The food at the Bistro is excellent and there are many other restaurants close by as well. Everyone is friendly, including the courtesy car drivers who will take you to other downtown area locations. It is an excellent value for the price in a city the size of Houston. The Lancaster is always my first choice when I come to Houston.

Room Tip: It is quieter on the upper floors. Less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,200 - 1,206 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I live in the suburbs of Houston, yet we come to the Lancaster from time to time for a weekend getaway. It's fun to stay downtown and attend a concert or play and stay at the Lancaster ! The rooms are clean and charming - the beds very comfortable. The staff is so nice. We had so much fun laughing with Russell at the front desk !!
We've also enjoyed the Bistro for years for date nights and for business lunches. Creative, flavorful dishes served in elegant presentation at affordable prices, make it a special place to enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Very pretty historic boutique hotel located in the arts district downtown. Great place to stay within walking distance of the opera, symphony or Bayou Music Center. Very reasonably priced and the buffet breakfast they include with the room is excellent. They recently re-modeled and the rooms are nicely done. We had two rooms and while they weren't huge they certainly were adequate and include a refrigerator and a safe in the closet. They are upgrading the elevators and only one was in service during our visit but that is a temporary problem. Nice place, good value, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdbarker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here with my dad over the weekend and it was a nice hotel. The room was a little on the small side, but the decor was very old and beautiful! We were going out to dinner the first night and asked the valet to call us a cab, but because the restaurant was less than 3 miles away from the hotel one of the valet drove us there AND picked us up. They were so sweet! The rest of the staff, however, weren't as charming. Overall it was a very nice stay but definitely not over-the-top amazing.

Room Tip: 1104 was small but very pretty and had a nice skyline view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SofiaNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed overnight to attend a show at the Bayou Music Center. Great location - one block from all of the events in the theatre district. Room was very clean. Not a large room but had a loveseat and chair in the room. Would stay again. Only rated it a 4 because only one elevator was working and they are small elevators since it's a historic building.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryRandi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on a Friday night when we saw a Ron White performance at the nearby Bayou Music Center. The hotel is beautiful and recently redone. We upgraded to the Honeymoon package for an early honeymoon and valentines day celebration also. The service was excellent. The only disappointment we had was we expected the room to be a little larger. It was supposed to be a deluxe king size room but was pretty small. From the room layout diagram it looked to be the smallest room on the floor.

Room Tip: Confirm the room size via phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarpersGampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I am a solo traveler, a senior aged lady. I fly to Houston every other year or so for a weekend of opera and/or the symphony. I use the SuperShuttle to get to the hotel so have no experience with the valet parking and haven't used the hotel's shuttle yet as there's been no need for it. The Lancaster is the closest hotel to the venues. I think next time I will stay another night and also go to the Alley Theater. The hotel has put in a room full of snacks and other handy items for guests and there is a little fridge in the room. The breakfast was excellent and included in the room. When I went in my room for the first time the radio was on softly and Madama Butterfly was playing. Just right to set the mood for my opera weekend. I had room 307 on the corner; great view. It was spacious and luxurious, no tub-- but I don't care.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceRoberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 518 in Houston
501 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#4 of 518 in Houston
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster Hotel

Address: 701 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#4 Business Hotel in Houston
#5 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $237 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lancaster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently accepted into the Historic Hotels of America with Stately elegance and Outstanding service in a Historic Downtown location with Luxurious accommodations. These are the hallmarks of The Lancaster hotel. Here at The Lancaster Hotel in Downtown Houston, Texas, classic luxury and a grand tradition of hospitality blend perfectly with modern technology and warm, personalized service. Our stylish boutique hotel combines classic modern design, pampering services, amenities and superior comfort to exceed the expectations of the discriminating business or leisure traveler. The Lancaster is perfectly situated in Houston’s theater district near all the entertainment in downtown Houston, including Houston’s finest culinary, cultural and entertainment destinations. Experience luxurious comfort in our 93 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites designed with the amenities and ambiance you have come to expect from a luxury boutique hotel. Unwind in the plush comfort of down duvets and feather pillows, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, plush bathrobes; complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary courtesy car service to nearby attractions and businesses and much more. Relax with the knowledge that we are completely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing