We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“1st Class Stay in a Historic & Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife & I live in Houston, but have always loved just getting out of the house on the weekend even if it's just a 20 minute drive to Downtown. The Lancaster was a hotel that we had driven by & walked by many times but had never visited. After hearing of the recent upgrades we decided to book a room while attending a concert at Bayou Music Center. My favorite thing is that this hotel is essentially soundproof for being in a busy area of the city! I'm a lite sleeper, so noise is a problem at night- couldn't hear it from the street, hallways, adjacent rooms nor from guests walking above us. That is HUGE with us! The beds & linens were so comfortable, we slept just like we do at home. The Bistro Lancaster is a nice place to enjoy a meal, as we did our first evening of our 2 night stay. All the staff at the hotel were professional, friendly & always there to assist with all our needs. Already looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetexanrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thanks for choosing us for your getaway downtown! As you are aware, we are just steps away from so many venues in the arts district. We hope you come back and stay! -Michelle M., Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding. The group rate was great for Downtown Houston. Also, the service and food were fantastic. Breakfast is included in the fees & charges and was delicious. The buffet is fresh and good and the homemade peanut butter breakfast bars are amazing! I highly recommend this hotel. it's convenient to the theaters and lots of good restaurants if you feel the need to venture outside the hotel for food. The hotel is cozy & inviting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Our homemade peanut butter breakfast bars are made fresh each day - they are delicious! We are so glad that you particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. -Michelle M., Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

As a suburban dweller going to the theater is a trek with lots of time spent in traffic. The Lancaster has the perfect solution..their Art We Delightful package. Very reasonable, especially with an inexpensive upgrade to a beautiful, roomy suite! The bed was ultra comfortable, the view of the Wortham, Jones Plaza and the Aquarium delightful, the staff courteous and helpful and best of all on a rainy weekend, free car service to attractions within 3 miles. We never had to wait more than 5 minutes at the Hobby Center, Discovery Green, Market Square or the hotel. Did I mention free valet parking? How about a delicious meal at the Lancaster Bistro with a $25.00 credit? Free and tasty breakfast buffet? We listened to music from the Turkish Festival in Jones Plaza from our room. Wonderful! We have already booked our next stay at the Lancaster as we have season tickets to the theater. Just a few, very small caveats..please add some artwork to the walls in suite 1008, it would warm up the room and make it a bit less masculine. That said. the decor is calming and well done. It would be a good idea to post hours on the menu outside the Bistro. We had planned on lunch on Saturday after our excellent dinner on Friday only to find out they do not open until 4 p.m. Is room service available? Nothing in the room indicated this. The last, very small thought, could ice be provided in the rooms? It's a long haul to the second floor for ice late at night. So looking forward to many more mini-vacations at the Lancaster. Kudos to all for the renovations, the food, and the always smiling and pleasant staff, valets and servers.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite if possible. Stunning bathrooms, very roomy, two tv's, large living room and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TxgalSpringTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

You partook in one of our most popular packages - Art We Delightful! So glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you during your next visit. -Michelle M., Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a quintessential boutique hotel. The remodel was a great success, updating and modernizing while maintaining its authentic historical feel with original 19th century artworks throughout the lobby. Warm, friendly, cozy with soft textures and gray-green colors, rich wood finishes. Intimate bar and dining room, busy on a Saturday night after the Houston Symphony Pops Concert. Luxurious bedding; robes in the room are the best ever - thick, cuddly and soft. We'll be back!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bergenbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

We took such special care and consideration with choosing the decor and furnishings in this most recent renovation. Modern amenities with the same historic charm that has been welcoming visitors since 1926! We are so very glad that you will be back. -Michelle M., Sale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A great find we loved the hotel, it has recently been refurbished. The rooms have everything you need and very comfortable. Excellent position I would say more 4 star than 3 . Would stay there again. Had dinner in the restaurant which was very good and popular with the locals, always a good sign. Breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warwkscruiseholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Our restaurant is definitely a hot-spot, especially with the theater arts patrons. So glad you got to enjoy a nice meal there! -Michelle M., Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is very nice. It was tastefully decorated and the beds were extremely comfortable. A very welcoming hotel! Liked the Lion's Den with the honor system too. Great location for theatre or dinner downtown! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gertmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

We have worked so very hard to make the Lion's Den easily accessible to our guests, even during the wee hours of the night. So glad you enjoyed this new amenity! -Michelle M., Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for three nights and my first visit since the re-modelling.

Agree with all the recent reviews. The new look works very well.

Arrived very late but had no problem with either the valet parking or check-in. Was upgraded to a one bedroom suite on the 10th floor, which was great. The sitting area was a little sparsely furnished for my taste and there is alot of unused floor space. Both the bedroom and bathroom, however, were spot on. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and touches such as the luxurious bath rode and bedside radio/docking station were great. The corner room had great views.

The changes to reception have made it so much more spacious and airey. I understand that they are still waiting for the new reception area to be installed, as they are currently just using a table in the old business centre alcove.

Breakfast was good and service efficent.

Had a long wait for my car on the first morning (30 mins) but the valet team were spot on during the rest of my stay.

Glad to hear that the elevators are due for an upgrade by the end of the year. There can be a wait during busy periods and the doors start openning whilst the lift is moving the last couple of inches!

All in all a good job done and looking forward to my next (fifth) visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMSBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

What an honor to be your preferred hotel in downtown Houston! Thank you for the nice comments. See you soon! -Michelle M., Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
481 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#3 of 517 in Houston
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#35 of 517 in Houston
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster Hotel

Address: 701 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#4 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $1,109 - $1,403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lancaster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently accepted into the Historic Hotels of America with Stately elegance and Outstanding service in a Historic Downtown location with Luxurious accommodations. These are the hallmarks of The Lancaster hotel. Here at The Lancaster Hotel in Downtown Houston, Texas, classic luxury and a grand tradition of hospitality blend perfectly with modern technology and warm, personalized service. Our stylish boutique hotel combines classic modern design, pampering services, amenities and superior comfort to exceed the expectations of the discriminating business or leisure traveler. The Lancaster is perfectly situated in Houston’s theater district near all the entertainment in downtown Houston, including Houston’s finest culinary, cultural and entertainment destinations. Experience luxurious comfort in our 93 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites designed with the amenities and ambiance you have come to expect from a luxury boutique hotel. Unwind in the plush comfort of down duvets and feather pillows, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, plush bathrobes; complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary courtesy car service to nearby attractions and businesses and much more. Relax with the knowledge that we are completely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing