We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lancaster Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$210
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$239
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks(Houston)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$184
$169
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Houston Hotel Westside(Houston)(Great Value!)
$159
$104
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$259
$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
$105
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,503)
Filter reviews
1,503 results
Traveler rating
1,230
188
33
21
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,230
188
33
21
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe theater districtjones halllion's denhouston symphonyhobby centerboutique hotelvalet parkingwithin milesfree shuttle serviceheart of downtownfavorite hotelwonderful hotelmile radiuscorner roombed was very comfortablefree breakfastdefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
1,347 - 1,352 of 1,503 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Recently used this as a hotel for a two-day business meeting and the staff, especially Cathy Sanchez, Food & Beverage Manager, were very helpful and obliging. The meeting was a big deal for me and it was great that it went so well. None of my guys stayed overnight, so I can't comment on the acommodation, but everyone seemed pleased.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrietMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Recent Guest,

We were so honored to serve you for your recent business meeting. We have such a great banquet team and we wish to host your group again in the future.

Sincerely,

The Lancaster Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was impressed with the hotel. It is very nice, especially the lobby and bistro. The room was quite small, but I wasn't spending much time there so it didn't bother me. Bathroom was nice. Breakfast buffet was above average for being included with the room. The hotel staff were very helpful and welcoming. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guests,

The holiday decor is an added touch that our patrons always enjoy - we are glad you liked it! Thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff and service. It is our honor to serve you and we wish to do so again in the future.

Sincerely,

The Lancaster Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I recently stayed here for a business trip. The room is well appointed and the beds are quite comfortable. There is a restaurant on-site and the food is pretty good! The hotel is located in the heart of downtown so practically everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are so very glad that you found your recent stay quite favorable. We strive to deliver the best customer service on each and every level. We are glad you enjoyed the new mattresses and the Bistro. We hope to see you again when your next business trip brings you to Houston!

Sincerely,

The Lancaster Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lancaster Hotel.. It is an older hotel but very nicely done. The bed was very comfortable with down pillows and duvet. The bathroom is done in marble with a great shower. The breakfast the next day was with a waitress bringing our own pot of coffee to the table. The buffet was hot and tasty. The staff was helpful and friendly. Wonderful service, great downtown location within walking distance to theaters and functions, great night's sleep, and a hearty breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Recent Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay! Thank you for the descriptive comments and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

The Lancaster Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Lancaster Hotel as it was one of many choices nearby to our company party venue, and the Lancaster offered the best price, the best discount, and the best location overall. I am so glad we stayed here - it is just beautiful from before to step foot through the door all the way up to your room. I loved the ambiance of the decor and the fact that they issue you actual metal keys to the room (rather than magnetic swipe cards). The bed was very comfortable, there were pillow galore and bathroom was huge too. The sitting area even had a fold out couch for any extra guests that may need to be "resting it off" rather than being behind the wheel! LOL Our stay was superb and the staff were very warm and welcoming. From the valet attendants to the hostess at the restaurant to the front desk clerk, Russell. They were all amazing and very accommodating. I will certainly be back for another stay at the Lancaster. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The higher, the better - to get away from the traffic noise.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Recent Guest,

We were honored to host your group for the holiday party this past weekend! We know you have an array of hotels to choose from and we are glad you experienced the Lancaster. It is evident that we appealed to you on many levels and we wish to serve you and your company again in the near future. We wish you a wonderful holiday season from our staff at The Lancaster!

Sincerely,

The Lancaster Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews