We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”
Review of The Houstonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Houstonian
Ranked #14 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2011

My husband and I love the Houstonian. We live in Houston and venture to the Houstonian (about a mile and a half from our house) about every two years. We spent our anniversary in a suite one weekend and loved it. The spa offers amazing services and I would recommend taking advantage of the steam room, sauna and lap pool when going to the spa. Bring a swim suit. They have disposables but it is much more comfortable to bring your own. The staff is great and we always have great massages. The pools are overcrowded so we don't even venture out to the pool. There is a track around the entire area and we love going for walks, either in the evening after dinner or for a little exercise. A suite or a regular room is well worth it. We love rolling food in and out for all meals. The bar is fun to hang out and watch sports on TV. We enjoy hanging out in the room and ordering movies we have missed. Room service will even bring up some popcorn. Being at the Houstonian is a great getaway for us without the long travel time. It's like being in the woods camping, with lots o'services and an incredible room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScreamingMiMi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 782 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2011

I've been to a bunch of hotels recently for both work/life, and this is one of the better ones. Especially considering the relatively reasonable price of 200-something for a concierge-floor room, it's absolutely worth it. Then toss in the world class workout area, the restuarant/bar, and the incredibly attentive service, and it's a must buy.

Particular likes:
1) I can't count the number of friendly "hellos" I got from staff; it was a ton 2) Brian, the concierge in the concierge lounge was amazing, and brought us all sorts of treats/drinks 3) the room service menu was extensive, and had great late hours 4) the lobby was cavernous, and was a great place to read, 5) the bellhops got us a first-class car service that was right on time, 6) the bed was sublime, very hard.

You can't ask for much more than this. Would recommend 100% to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flapjack30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Stayed here for a "me" getaway. The whole experience was wonderful and I can be fussy. The spa was awesome and competes with any of the well known, high end spas. I had three services and they were all top notch. They served a lovely lunch. Plan to spend the day there even if you don't do any services. There is a minimal charge to use the spa only but it would be worth it. The staff was extremely professional and friendly. The room was great though I am short and the bed is high. The bathroom was small but the furniture and appointments in the room were comfortable and inviting. Dinner in the dining room was very good with classy service. The bar was fun too. Stayed on the concierge floor which was a great deal. The room rate is a bit higher but it is worth it, particularly for a family. Truly, The Houstonian was absolutely the best.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingfool57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Very nice hotel with large spacious rooms set in extensive grounds. Excellent facilties for sport and getting into the outdoors. Close enough to the airport as well as shopping facilities and down town Houston.

Perhaps this hotel lacks some appeal due to its business being predominantly conferences, however a very pleasant hotel all in all

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_scot1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

The Houstonian is a perfet place to travel to whether you are on business or leisure. It is a hideaway that offers every amenity one could ask for and the service is impeccable. I highly would recommend this hotel. I was fortunate to be there during the holiday season and it is absolutely beautifully adorned. There are Gingerbread Houses placed around the top of the fireplace that is amazing. I am told it is a tradition that began when the current GM was their Executive Chef. It is a must see!!! At night there is a choir that embraces the season and sounds angelic!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tere56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

The Houstonian is a very comfortable hotel. It sits in wooded acreage on the edge of Houston's greatest urban park and sits next to Houston's most dynamic urban environment. Guests have free access to a really excellent fitness center. You may need the fitness center or the padded jogging trail on the grounds because the food in the restaurant is excellent.

During December, the Houstonian is very popular for Christmas parties, and every evening a choir or bell-ringers performed around the Texas-sized fireplace in the lobby. The seasonal decorations were very nice.

The hotel is not glitzy nor trendy, but if you know the power players in Houston you may see them there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael21tulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We spent four nights at the Houstonian Hotel in November, and it was delightful. The service is great, the room extremely comfortable, and the wooded setting beautiful. The elegant lobby is decorated for Christmas and is charming, colorful, very festive. This is a great place for a holiday event, party, dinner, etc. We visited the spa and health club, and all facilities were excellent. The health club and spa are highly rated in several spa publications. The walking path through the woods is a good way to start the day. The staff throughout the hotel should be commended for outstanding service. Olivette is the higher end restaurant, and the food is excellent as was our experience in the bar. Prices were reasonable for this level of dining. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a central location with alot of amenities and comfort.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#3 of 517 in Houston
814 reviews
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#26 of 517 in Houston
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houstonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houstonian

Address: 111 N Post Oak Ln, Houston, TX 77024-7703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Houston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#21 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $195 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Houstonian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Houston’s historic gems, this property is known for its grace, comfort and unparalleled guest experience. Located in the heart of Houston, The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star, 18-acre retreat that defines authentic Texas luxury. The floor-to-ceiling wooded views envelop guests in a natural environment while offering the modern amenities and luxuries of home. Local areas of interest such as Downtown Houston, Memorial Park and The Galleria are just minutes away, offering guests the opportunity to escape into the city – not from it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Houstonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Resort Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing