We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay at Houstonian Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Houstonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Houstonian
Ranked #7 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at Houstonian Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

We spent four nights at the Houstonian Hotel in November, and it was delightful. The service is great, the room extremely comfortable, and the wooded setting beautiful. The elegant lobby is decorated for Christmas and is charming, colorful, very festive. This is a great place for a holiday event, party, dinner, etc. We visited the spa and health club, and all facilities were excellent. The health club and spa are highly rated in several spa publications. The walking path through the woods is a good way to start the day. The staff throughout the hotel should be commended for outstanding service. Olivette is the higher end restaurant, and the food is excellent as was our experience in the bar. Prices were reasonable for this level of dining. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a central location with alot of amenities and comfort.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    186
    59
    17
    10
See reviews for
159
199
39
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a class. Very nice venue! The hotel provided top notch lunches and snacks thoughout the day.

The rooms were always kept clean...they even put chocolates on the pillow!

Workout facility was top notch, enclosed (with A/C) tennis courts, jogging trail included.

By far the nicest hotel that I have ever stayed at .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyBob2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

I stay in a lot of hotels around the world and have come to value 3 things and the Houstonian knocked it out of the park on all 3
1) the people - they could not have been nicer - went out of their way to smooth over problems
2) the Gym - just about the best that I have seen. You have full access to the large health club which has dozens of classes a day and pretty much any equipment that you could want
3) the bar - warm and friendly

I like to spend as little time in my room as possible so it is not a factor for me but as it happens the Houstonian does very well there also

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonanRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

We (parents, three kids incl 2 babies, nanny) stayed a week in a block of three adjoining rooms while in town for my Dad's wedding.

The corner 'king' qualified, perhaps, as a deluxe room in some places; it had a distinct sitting area with couch etc. I don't think they tried to pass it off as a junior suite or the like, it was just a corner room. The others were conventional double or kings. None were particularly large or unsuitably small, and all had the same small bathrooms precisely the length of a tub and probably the same length in the other direction.

In any case, as other reviews have tended to say, the rooms are neither bad nor special, and do have their quirks. We also had one unresponsive thermostat that required a fixit guy to come up and putter in the ceiling; the woman at the desk was totally unsurprised, so this would appear to be a chronic issue with the building. The rooms do have large panel TV sets, with a panel in the stand full of connectors -- TV, VGA, HDMI, composite, etc. Sadly some of these front panels aren't working, the fixit guy had to bypass it so we could settle the kids in front of a show when we needed to. Even then my phone utterly stopped cooperating with the TV after day three. And there was an ant convoy going up and down one wall which they had to send a guy to deal with.

On the bright side, the room furniture was fine, including good beds. They had the usual turndown service with the chocolate on the pillow and the TV on calendar/mood music mode. The concierge staff was effective at arranging for two cribs and a box of toys to be waiting for us on arrival. We did not tax the concierge further, though, so I could not say if they were useful for arrangements beyond the hotel.

The hotel does provide free WiFi property-wide, plus Ethernet at the desk in the room. The wifi was a relief; it's one thing to be gouged for internet during business overnights, but quite another to be a family with umpteen wireless devices for a week. I did not try anything bandwidth-intensive such as netflix streaming, but it was fine for web and mail.

In any case, the star of the hotel is certainly the club, which hotel customers can use. The Houstonian is really a private club with a hotel attached, and it shows. The club has a huge gym, indoor track, outdoor track (0.9mi, rubbery astroturf, mostly shaded), tennis and basketball courts, an excellent set of three pools, racquetball courts, rock climbing wall, lounges, library, and I don't know what else. The restaurant over in the club is self-consciously healthy, with juice bar, a fish-dominated grill menu, etc.

If you have kids, the club includes separate and excellent facilities for kids from infants up through teens. The infant-toddler set gets a nursery area and toddler-safe indoor play place. The K-12 set gets a big climbing/habitrail/slide sort of affair in a room apparently converted from two racquetball courts. They have toys, basketball hoop, video games, movies, and can be signed up for rock climbing and outdoor playground time. Importantly, all of these are structured for drop-off of up to 3 hours; there are babysitters or the like on duty in both. You just have to stay in the club and let them know where you will be.

The hotel appears to host on the order of a dozen weddings or mitzvahs weekly. This probably goes on most of the year, Houston weather being what it is. You will see brides, party goers, etc in the lobby level and coming and going from the gazebo and other suitable event areas around the property. There are also plenty of conference-style daytime events; there are several ball and conference rooms to fill in the place. In practice we never felt overrun or disturbed by other event guests, but I expect that this might depend on who is in the room next door, we had nothing on one side and our own children on the other, so there was no noise we didn't bring with us. Nevertheless the size and busy schedule of the place makes it not a good choice for a romantic getaway type of stay.

The bar is a reasonable sort of room decor-wise, but it seemed a bit loud to me. Certainly Thursday was very loud, they have some sort of 'Jazz Thursdays' program with music. The bar selection seemed fine, they had a workable selection of scotch and port, although not much beer.

We didn't dine in the hotel dining room, although we did do room service. Burgers, various appetizers, and kid's mac and cheese were pretty good; midnight pizza less so. All in all, a fair effort at the fashionable food one expects in these sort of places. Given the scale of the place this is no more than one notch less than it could be.

Long story short, it's a comfortable enough place to stay if you don't need a big bathroom, and the club is wonderful. So overall, very good if you have kids or will yourself make use of the gym/club or pool; otherwise sort of so-so for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjsdkfji3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Beautiful Hotel, excellent service. There is a safe running track on the grounds,3 beautiful pools, a full gym with an indoor basketball court.
Very nice guests at the pool. So much nicer than the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoPeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

This place was perfect! There were many families and also couples. There were three pools, one geared for families, one that was small and secluded, and a lap pool. I loved the padded running trail through the woods. You truly would not know that you were in such a huge city when you stay at this resort! This hotel catered to those who love fitness but also like to relax or go to the spa. We had a great time and loved everything about this hotel. I traveled with my 14 year daughter and couldn't have had a better time! The conceirge level is well worth the price you pay. Free bar where you make your own drinks! Especially good if you are in there to watch a game or two!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

I didn't realize this hotel had so much to offer!

It takes awhile to drive to this hotel from the airport. The lobby is gorgeous. It has a very western type of feel to it, but in an upscale kind of way. My room had huge windows that overlooked beautiful tall trees. It felt like I was in a treehouse.

The hotel has two swimming pools, one seems geared more towards kids and the other is a little more sedate (your standard rectangular affair). There is also a sports complex onsite with a gym and a spa (Trellis) that are pretty fantastic. The sports complex is much more impressive than the pool, in my opinion. There is also a jogging trail that I wish I had known about; I would have brought my running shoes!

They have a free car service that will take hotel guests around the nearby area. I used it to get to the Galleria mall. The driver was supposed to pick me up at a certain time and he was about 15-20 minutes late, which was the only thing I could really complain about.

They also have a nice, reasonably priced restaurant in the hotel. The restaurant staff was very nice. I got the the hotel a night before any of my colleagues so I had dinner there on my own. The staff made me feel quite comfortable during dinner and the food was pretty good for the price.

There's a lot of outdoor space to wander at this hotel. It feels a little bit like a resort because it's not deep in the heart of downtown and of all the grass and trees surrounding it. It feels like you're not in a city. It's a great place for a getaway but I can't say I got a good feel for Houston itself since it feels a bit isolated from the rest of the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lngwlksnbdwthr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#19 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houstonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houstonian

Property: The Houstonian
Address: 111 N Post Oak Ln, Houston, TX 77024-7703
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Houston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#21 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Houstonian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Houston’s historic gems, this property is known for its grace, comfort and unparalleled guest experience. Located in the heart of Houston, The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star, 18-acre retreat that defines authentic Texas luxury. The floor-to-ceiling wooded views envelop guests in a natural environment while offering the modern amenities and luxuries of home. Local areas of interest such as Downtown Houston, Memorial Park and The Galleria are just minutes away, offering guests the opportunity to escape into the city – not from it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Houstonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Resort Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing