We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Houston
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveler rating
645
228
77
23
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
645
228
77
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews health club concierge floor hunting lodge tennis courts fitness classes huge gym indoor track garden pool grounds are beautiful fitness center memorial park hotel guests floor to ceiling windows club level beautiful hotel galleria area self parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 986 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was ready early upon request due to tight time line for an event. Actually got a bed turn down with chocolates on the pillow. Haven't had that in a long time, was a great touch. The bed was super comfy.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank raybX9240DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F, General Manager at The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear raybX9240DT:

Thanks for visiting The Houstonian. Our Front Desk staff does an excellent job at handling guest requests, and we're pleased to hear we were able to get you settled into a room early before your event. Our turndown service is just one of the personal touches our guests get to experience when they stay with us. We're glad you had a good night's sleep, and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were guest of a large family gathering. The hotel was chosen for its location to the venue our gathering was at and for its amenities. I must say it was a wonderful stay. Because its off the beaten path, you do not feel like your in the middle of Houston. The grounds are beautiful. Check in was seamless. The staff was very accommodating You can valet park, but left parking is a breeze, with the elevator or stair easily accessible. Very quiet and tranquil. We had breakfast at the in hotel restaurant, very good and service very attentive. The Houstonian will definitely be on our list when visiting Houston again.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85terriec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F, General Manager at The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 85terriec:

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Houstonian. We hope you had a wonderful time catching up with your family at your event, and are happy to hear you found your stay so enjoyable. We offer great amenities that we hope make your stay feel a little more like a home away from home. Depending on the time of year you visit, our grounds may have dozens of azaleas in bloom. Our staff does an incredible job at welcoming guests such as yourself, and all of the dining options on property offer stellar service and exceptional cuisine. On your next visit we suggest you try the nachos or smoked blue crab claws. We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is beautiful but older. Everything is elegant & clean. Service was great!! Highly recommend. We did have a grumpy concierge at the spa that wasn’t very accommodating which started off the day on the wrong foot . Additionally We also were frustrated after someone at the gym got hurt and there wasn’t anyone around to help, we were able to track someone down. It was scary . Too many elderly people at the gym not to have some kind of monitors walking the floor .

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F, General Manager at The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear gspet:

Thanks for choosing the Houstonian for your getaway. Our staff really takes pride in working for such a historic property, and we appreciate your kind words about our unique level of service. We’re really excited for our rooms refresh, while keeping the same authentic and elegant quality we’re known for. We’re sorry to hear that your spa experience started your day off wrong, but we hope your treatments at Trellis were able to brighten your day. We agree, your experience in the fitness center does sound unnerving. Our safety team is CPR and first-aid certified, and we suggest that your next visit if something like this happens, go straight to any of our fitness or front desks where they can immediately dispatch a member of the safety team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

room DND was not observed by the staff, they put an item inside my suitcase - not ok and threw out a box that I needed for shipping items back to my office. I registered the concern with the front desk and I don't imagine anything happened with it after that.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephanieking2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F, General Manager at The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear stephanieking2020:

It doesn’t sound like you had the type of stay that reflects the culture and service standards we strive for here at The Houstonian. Our Hotel Manager would like to personally apologize to you, and find out more about what happened. He can be reached via e-mail at mdriskill@houstonain.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It has been almost 20 years since my last stay and I was super happy to find that The Houstonian is still one of the best properties in the area. Service and Hospitality were perfect as you would expect from this Hotel/Resort. The property was clean and inviting with plenty of amenities available as a guest.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Q1491KBrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F, General Manager at The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Q1491KBrobert:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Houstonian. We're pleased that we've maintained the level of excellence and service that you remember from your visit 20 years ago. Our staff is well tenured, welcoming, and one of the best assets of our property. We look forward to continuing to maintain our reputation for excellence, and hope to welcome you back to The Houstonian soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews