We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved being stranded at the Houstonian - great for fitness buffs”
Review of The Houstonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Houstonian
Ranked #9 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved being stranded at the Houstonian - great for fitness buffs”
Reviewed February 13, 2010

I traveled here in February during the Snowmageddon for a business trip and was stranded for 2 additional days while I waited for the DC airports to reopen. The hotel service was great - there were always multiple people in lobby there to help you, and everyone was very friendly with no attitude problems. Even though the hotel was sold out, they were able to accommodate me for additional nights as cancellations opened up. The beds were very comfortable and my room overlooked a wooded area. The food in Olivette restaurant was excellent. The hotel seemed to mostly attract male travelers, I did not see many women except those from my own organization who were there for the same meeting.

One of the big attractions of this hotel is the fitness complex with 3 outdoor pools (I believe they were all heated), and huge gym with indoor track, full size basketball court, pilates room, spinning, and more. The locker rooms had luxurious lounges with free coffee and tea, plus there was a cafe inside the gym for those who wanted more. The pool water was quite warm, so even though the temps were in the 40's-50's you could still swim outdoors or of course use the outdoor hot tub. There was also the Trellis Spa which had an indoor heated plunge pool to use while waiting for your massage, hot tub, steam room, and deluge shower. Or, you could wait upstairs by the fireplace and have coffee. The service in the spa was also excellent. This is a great hotel for anyone who loves to work out or go to a spa while on business. The only thing that I didn't care for was the traditional decor within the modern building.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank artistexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    189
    63
    17
    11
See reviews for
161
208
39
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

We live in Beaumont, 90 miles away. I visited with my 2 small children (ages 3 and 5).
My son had an allergic reaction to a snack I allowed from the mini bar and threw up on the floor. While we were away getting some medicines they completely cleaned up the room. Once back we ordered some room service and mentioned that the battery in the TV remote seemed dead. Someone knocked at the door in 10 minutes to help with the remote and didnt leave until the issue was resolved.
This is a quiet hotel situated on 18 acres. We enjoyed the heated pool in january in the outdoors and had an amazing breakfast in the hotel dining room (highly recommend the huevos rancheros). Hotel enjoys great proximity to the galleria in contrast to its wooded setting.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We celebrated our Wedding Anniversary at the Houstonian and it was the perfect getaway just a few minutes from home. The hotel accomodations, exceptional service, restaurants, and amenities are the best Houston has to offer. For those interested in fitness the hotel's private health club is not to missed. Also, the kids and young at heart will love the pool equiped with waterfall and meandering slide. You can't go wrong booking at the Houstonian; from personal / business events to spa and romantic getaways this hotel is a solid Five Star!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mullinss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfnerd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Just got back during a Labor Day weekend stay. First time I had fun in Houston! Hotel is great, pool is even better. The gym is unbelievable. Definetly, get that country club feelling when you arrive. The staff is friendly and always available. Looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

From the moment we arrived, the staff at the Houstonian gave wonderful customer service. We were greeted at the door and check in was a breeze. Our room was ready before check in time. The room was very nice, but the bathroom was small. Nice view of a small courtyard, big flat screen tv. mini bar with snacks, turn down service with chocolates. The young ones thought the room's doorbell was cool. We ordered room service the night before and asked for an 8am delivery. The food was delivered promptly at 8am and was delicious. We had poolside service that was great and Olivette served a great breakfast. Fresh squeezed orange and pineapple juice. Spa food is typical spa food...bland. But, they did have a number of sauces to put on my grilled chicken at the spa. One unexpected thing was afternoon service of home made smores by the pool. They had a little fire pit and the staff made and served the smores. An excellent touch. I would stay at the Houstonian again without question.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felixthecatTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

My husband and sons (9 & 11) and I visited Houston for two Astros games. I wanted a hotel that would offer us more than a place to sleep. This is without a doubt the best place to stay for an active athletic family. My husband and boys loved the rock climbing wall, basketball and raquet courts. There were ample opportunities to try out several fitness classes. The pools are beautiful with a waterfall and slide.

While the boys went to the game, I used the hotel shuttle ( a beautiful Lexus) to take me to the Galleria for shopping. I adored the grounds and the serene atmosphere of the resort. It is nestled in a pocket of woods in the middle of the city. Although I did not use the spa, it seemed wonderful. I read some reviews that the food was not great but I loved it. Most of it was healthy spa fare which I love.

Our room was a standard King which overlooked a wooded courtyard. Our bed was very comfortable and our sons slept on the pull out sofa. The room came well equipped with amenities and seemed very clean and tranquil. The staff was very nice and helpful. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Houston.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Couldn't have asked for a better weekend! My daughters and I had planned a Mexican cruise, but due to the Swine Flu, Carnival canceled our 5 day cruise. We decided to spend our time together at the Houstonian. It was awesome! Since it was my birthday weekend, we received the most beautiful dozen chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our room. Oh...my, they were delicious! The continental breakfast on the Concierge Level was devine...fresh fruit was yummy, as were the croissants! The food in the Olivette restaurant was outstanding! As was the service! It couldn't have been a better weekend away! We loved the pools, spa, room and food! The doormen were always there to open our doors and treat us with royalty. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarrettsGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#21 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houstonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houstonian

Property: The Houstonian
Address: 111 N Post Oak Ln, Houston, TX 77024-7703
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Houston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#21 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Houstonian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Houston’s historic gems, this property is known for its grace, comfort and unparalleled guest experience. Located in the heart of Houston, The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star, 18-acre retreat that defines authentic Texas luxury. The floor-to-ceiling wooded views envelop guests in a natural environment while offering the modern amenities and luxuries of home. Local areas of interest such as Downtown Houston, Memorial Park and The Galleria are just minutes away, offering guests the opportunity to escape into the city – not from it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Houstonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Resort Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing