We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of The Houstonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Houstonian
Ranked #15 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our family stayed at the Houstonian for Xmas. The hotel is decorated beautifully! It's exactly how you would see in a magazine. The lobby had a wonderful fireplace and big comfortable chairs to snuggle in. Our rooms were perfect! The workout facility is outstanding! It is a membership health club that hotel guests can use. We worked out everyday. The grounds are beautiful. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay on the concierge floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Vicky G,
Thank you for visiting The Houstonian and for taking time to share feedback regarding your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your rooms and access to The Houstonian Club. We are so happy that you are interested in returning and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 795 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife & I bought the "Diamond Package" at the Houstonian for New Year's Eve and were not disappointed.
The hotel is set among beautiful gardens making a peaceful setting. Rooms and the hotel in general have excellent decor, the staff are friendly and efficient and meals very good. Our package included room, dinner with wine in the Manor House, drinks throughout the night and brunch the next morning. At over $600 the night was not cheap, but I would do it again as I think it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Jeff P,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at the Houstonian. We deeply value hearing from our guests. We are honored that you chose to ring in 2014 with us. I’m glad you enjoyed yourself and that you found everyone to be helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Houstonian soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We get a week guest pass when we're in town for the Holidays. The Houstonian is clean, well run, an overall excellent experience. The gym facility is top notch, the restaurants offer good, healthy food and great service. Really this is an excellent experience.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Whipple9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Whipple9,
Thank you for your loyalty. It pleases me to know that the quality of service you experience at the Houstonian keeps you coming back year after year. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Houstonian soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here for a business conference in early December, and the property was decked out in breathtaking holiday splendor. The staff was friendly and professional and the accommodations were spacious, tasteful, and well appointed with all amenities a traveler could want. But the real icing on the cake is the fitness facility that has approx. 300 pieces of equipment, a basketball court, rock climbing wall, cafe, and who knows what else! It blew my mind. The heated outdoor pools were also a real treat. Unfortunately, my schedule did not give me time to visit the Trellis Spa, but it is supposed to be outstanding. It will have to wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euvites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Euvites,
There truly is nothing like the Houstonian during the holidays! I'm glad you were able to stay with us during that special time of year. It is also fortunate that you had the time to enjoy the facilities at the club. Indeed, next time you're here you must find some time for relaxation at Trellis. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Houstonian soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Wonderful hotel, top notch service,beautiful grounds.
Great service, amazing Christmas decorations!
Great concierge floor!
I will be back.
Thank you to everyone.
Great location, great staff.
Close to the Galleria.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller12382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear traveller12382,
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Houstonian. It pleases me to know that you were impressed by the Christmas decorations and grounds. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Houstonian the next time your travels bring you to Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

If you need a break from the hustle and bustle the Houstonian may be the answer. Situated in a beautifully landscaped woodsy setting this is a great hotel to relax or use as your base for exploring the Galleria area. The staff is welcoming and helpful upon your arrival. The lobby area with huge fireplace was beautifully decorated for the Fall season and a good place to carry a drink and relax. The room was spacious but the bathroom was a little cramped. The bed was comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. Staying on the Concierge floor provided a nice place to relax with a glass of wine before dinner and to return after dinner for an after dinner cordial. The breakfast the following morning in the Concierge room was adequate but not special. We encountered one small problem which was properly addressed by the front desk and the manager. We appreciated their professionalism in addressing the problem. We look forward to returning to the Houstonian in the future

Room Tip: Rooms facing the west seem to have a better view. We were on a corner room which may have accounted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1948_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent facilities for a corporate event @ 250 people in our party, food was excellent with good choice, meeting and break out rooms plentiful. Staff very attentive and courteous. Rooms not modern looking but had character and ticked all the boxes. All the facilities in one place very well appointed. Local amenities close by 'Galleria Shopping Centre' for those with large wallets.
Nice place to stay if you are passing through the area on vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#4 of 518 in Houston
864 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 518 in Houston
532 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houstonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houstonian

Address: 111 N Post Oak Ln, Houston, TX 77024-7703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Houston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#9 Family Hotel in Houston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#21 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $194 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Houstonian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Houston’s historic gems, this property is known for its grace, comfort and unparalleled guest experience. Located in the heart of Houston, The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star, 18-acre retreat that defines authentic Texas luxury. The floor-to-ceiling wooded views envelop guests in a natural environment while offering the modern amenities and luxuries of home. Local areas of interest such as Downtown Houston, Memorial Park and The Galleria are just minutes away, offering guests the opportunity to escape into the city – not from it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Houstonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Resort Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing