We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of The Houstonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Houstonian
Ranked #12 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent service and amenities. The beautiful walking trails, warm outdoor pools, extensive exercise facilities, and outstanding concierge makes this hotel and club a great choice for those who enjoy upscale hotel rooms, dining room in a welcoming atmosphere. This is a five star hotel that has the additional advantages of a full service health club. This hotel will spoil you for ever staying in a hotel again. Nothing else compares. Great for families or business travelers. This is a magnificent hotel that is quiet and offers first class service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    191
    63
    17
    11
See reviews for
163
209
39
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've stayed in The Houstonian with my husband and kids (ages 3 and 5). It is a very nice spot as there are many trees surronding the property, which makes you forget you're in a big city. However we didn't have to drive long to reach shopping or restaurants. As a guest of the hotel we could access the club facilities, which had many options both for kids and adults (my husband could spend a nice time at the well equiped gym). Best thing of the hotel was the staff - everyone was so kind and always wiling to help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hip because it is old fashioned and luxurious, yet very up to date. Lovely rooms, great service, great health club, great lobby area with huge fireplace. Texas in every way. Probably the most comfortable bed I ever had in a hotel. The elevators a quirky in that there always seems to be a half-floor that you have to walk to!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the concierge level. Live well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacJack23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at the Houstonian for a friend's birthday. Located right near the Galleria, only two minutes away. Valet is $28 overnight. We had a concierge level suite meaning we had access to the concierge club which has food and drinks available to guests on this floor. We had a fun time at this club. Before dinner, we had pedicures at the spa ($50, appointment only) We ate at Olivette, the hotel restaurant (reservations), for dinner and it was delicious! I would definitely stay again and recommend this to others wanting to spent a little more on a hotel in Houston.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGBebeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at the Houstonian for our annual sales meeting in Jan'13. Hands down the best service I have ever experienced! The hotel and room was very clean and the food was amazing! I really enjoyed my stay! Keep up the great work, Houstonian!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestbed
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The entire hotel and work out facility needs updating. The hotel was dated and smelled of layers of febreeze the minute you walked in the lobby. You could not get into the hotel without walking through the smokers patio..really. There was not a sundry or gift shop for bottled water. We were told to use the mini bar which I am certain was stale and old. The cleanliness of the room was definitely in need of attention. Hair on the ceiling and mirror... No access to the health club without walking outside and around the property. Expensive self parking, totally unnecessary.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bestbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear bestbed, thank you for your feedback. While we are continually updating areas of the hotel, we realize that our residential-style decor is very different from some of the more trendy eye-popping designs favored by competitive hotels. In contrast, we offer a traditional style which many have come to enjoy and prefer. Our scent experience, implemented last year and not to be confused with Febreze, delivers a light aroma in areas throughout the property. I sincerely apologize for the room falling short of your standard of cleanliness, as we are very thoughtful in the appearance and cleanliness of our property. You couldn’t know this, but being that bottled water is our most purchased item in the mini-bar, our attendants check and refill the supply daily. Further, any member of our staff would have been eager to accommodate any request had they been asked. Thank you for your business and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Houstonian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband, 9 month old son, and I stayed at this hotel in early January 2013, and sincerely loved everything about it. From the moment we pulled up, the valets were helpful, the check-in representatives were kind and professional, the lobby was lovely, the room was pleasant, the beds were super comfortable and the black-out curtains were great for helping my son (and us) to sleep-in, the room-service was very good and quick, the concierge was great, and the fitness center is fantastic. We were treated so well by their staff, and just really enjoyed our stay. I recommend it highly! The only thing to know is that the hotel is located slightly outside the city, but it is a quick drive to downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 508 in Houston
775 reviews
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#23 of 508 in Houston
1,835 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 508 in Houston
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 508 in Houston
1,436 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houstonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houstonian

Property: The Houstonian
Address: 111 N Post Oak Ln, Houston, TX 77024-7703
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Houston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#21 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Houstonian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Houston’s historic gems, this property is known for its grace, comfort and unparalleled guest experience. Located in the heart of Houston, The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star, 18-acre retreat that defines authentic Texas luxury. The floor-to-ceiling wooded views envelop guests in a natural environment while offering the modern amenities and luxuries of home. Local areas of interest such as Downtown Houston, Memorial Park and The Galleria are just minutes away, offering guests the opportunity to escape into the city – not from it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Houstonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Resort Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing