We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Houstonian
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveler rating
514
204
68
19
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
514
204
68
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshealth clubtrellis spahunting lodgetennis courtsthe concierge levelhoustonian clubjogging trackfitness classesrock climbing wallresort poolhuge gymfitness centermemorial parkhotel guestsfloor to ceiling windowsgalleria areaturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
674 - 679 of 816 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed at The Houstonian over Christmas. The lobby was elegantly decorated for the holidays, service was excellent, food was stylishly prepared. Stayed on the club level, which provided a very good breakfast and evening snacks. The kids loved it. The hotel offers use of an adjacent high-end fitness club. It's a short drive from downtown Houston, but set in a wooded area, so it feels secluded.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottRHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

* No resort fee
* Great service
* Very clean
* Awesome spa
* many extra options for the kids.

Room Tip: Pay for the concierge level. It is worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulV39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This was our second stay at the Houstonian and it was just as enjoyable. Beautiful location, they are due for some renovations to the actual building. The rooms are very comfortable and the decor is very fitting. The best part and the reason we do stay here is the use of the Houstonian Gym and pools. We took a spin class this time and did use the pools which were very crowded! Will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelani81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I've visited many fine hotels and spas around the globe - but I must say The Houstonian is right up there with the best of the best. Rooms were beautiful, quiet, relaxing and perfect in every way (and I'm a light sleeper so I hear everything). The food was outstanding in the dining rooms, cafe, and spa. The spa services and facilities were super - and the people were the best. Obviously, The Houstonian and the Trellis Spa are well managed and all take great pride in what they do and how they do it. How refreshing to enjoy and encounter great service at reasonable prices - I didn't know about the Houstonian - but now that I do - I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to have great views.
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mam030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed at The Houstonian for two nights during a very hectic and emotional time. The hotel staff was welcoming and solicitous and could not have been more helpful or soothing. Our morning walks in such a beautiful place set the tone for our day, and our room service was perfectly timed and wonderfully presented. Again, the staff at The Houstonian make your time relaxing and refreshing!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmominator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews