We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old bait and switch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency North Houston
Ranked #82 of 507 Hotels in Houston
Montrose, Colorado
1 review
“The old bait and switch”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Booked a room via Priceline two months in advance. Got there to find they had no rooms available for us and another family who booked through expedia. They did however have a room available for over two hundred fifty dollars if we wanted to pay full price. They gave us a voucher for another hotel and a free phone call, WOW. The other hotel was not to the standards of the one we thought we were going to stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank scubabones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa S, General Manager at Hyatt Regency North Houston, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing and making your reservation with us. We sincerely apologize for the unexpected change of your accommodation plans upon your arrival at the hotel. It is not our practice nor our intentions to deny any of our valued guests accommodations however at times due to unforeseen circumstances on the day of your arrival we find ourselves with limited or no other options but to find alternate hotel options. Guests who book our hotel through Priceline or any of our valued partners are treated the way same as those who book their reservations direct with us. Your feedback on how we handled your reservation provides us invaluable information on how we can better service all our guests and we will use your example as a further training and couching agenda item.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    204
    93
    45
    31
See reviews for
93
64
57
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here over night due to a United Airline's flight delay ( again). The hotel is clean and about 6=7 miles from the airport. Bed was comfy and bathroom was spacious. There was very little hot water in the morning for a shower and there was some type of construction going on very early in the morning, a rude awakening.The hotel is very dark, very little light comes in and the lighting is very low. But other than that is was a clean comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ES727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa S, General Manager at Hyatt Regency North Houston, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of our property. We understand that having flights cancelled or missed is a very distressing issue, and we try our best to insure that no stress is added when arriving to our hotel.. I do apologize for the early construction and I hope that this was not too much of an inconvenience for you in the morning. I do hope that next time you are in Houston you will choose our hotel to stay with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I booked this hotel literally at the last minute due to smoking issues with the previous one. I arrived and a smiling agent efficiently checked me in and I was glad to find out that the hotel was all non-smoking. My room was large, clean, newly decorated, and because they were renovating the bar I even got a voucher for a free glass of wine--which I used!

The internet was reliable and I slept soundly in that comfortable bed. As an overnight guest this room was perfect but I would not want to be in longer simply because it overlooked an enclosed lobby with no direct access to daylight. That would have been the only issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window to the outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoRobDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa S, General Manager at Hyatt Regency North Houston, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. I am glad to see that our hotel met all your needs and you enjoyed our temporary bar. I hope that you will be able to come back and see the new bar once we are finished. We look forward to having you back again at our hotel. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this Hyatt, which was conveniently close to the IAH airport. The frost desk staff were incredibly nice and helpful. I had a really tough day at work before checking in late Monday night around 10pm and was immediately cheered-up by Kimberly at the front desk - who was unbelievably sweet and helpful while I checked in. The rooms were very clean and the beds were fantastic. Really made a difference after those long days at work. Lastly, the breakfast buffet was a real pleasant surprise, with many options including huevos ranchero, french toast, belgian waffles, etc just during the three days I was there. Will absolutely be staying here again if I need to visit Houston for work.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa S, General Manager at Hyatt Regency North Houston, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We truly appreciate your review of our hotel. I am glad to see that our hotel and our staff met all of your needs and helped take some of the stress off of those tough days. Kimberly is a valued team member and I am glad to see her service was noticed.. We hope to see you again next time you are in Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Hyatt North Houston has a friendly professional staff that handles all your needs. Rosa in house keeping is just lovely, friendly and kind. Jake the manager works hard to please and bring the best of the Hyatt to those who stay there. Front desk staff is fantastic. Kimberly, Melissa and Long do a great job checking people in quick. It can get really busy with a huge group checking in and they do a great job keeping it moving. John the van driver stays late to do runs to the airport when you need. Enoc does a lovely job in the restaurant bringing excellent food very quick. The chef is super friendly and always offers to bring me whatever I need. Beautiful big room overlooking the spacious lobby. Thanks guys for the great stay and the support over a long visit.

Room Tip: 7th floor is really nice... Rooms that face the lobby seem to be bigger and have bigger windows the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKC737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa S, General Manager at Hyatt Regency North Houston, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We truly appreciate your review of our hotel and staff members. It is great to see that so staff members made that kind of impression during your time here. I am glad we were able to make our hotel feel like your home away from home. Please come back and see us next time you are in Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is fairly close to IAH and offers a free shuttle to and from the airport so good for airport stays. This is a fairly typical business-oriented Hyatt suited mainly for business travelers and conferences. As a leisure guest staying for four nights, I sort of felt out of place wearing shorts and not carrying a laptop or cell phone with me. Hotel is currently being remodeled so the lobby is sort of a mess but clean and refreshing none the less. Check-in was pretty easy though it can be a bit confusing and crowded right by the front doors if a lot of guests come at once. A few times guests cut right in front of me because they were rude and because the hotel needs a roping system on busy days. I was placed at the end of a hall on the first floor which is one floor below the lobby and in general a very quiet floor, which was great. The floor below this is the banquet level where the gym is located and the hotel has a nice assortment of new equipment, my wife was very happy. The pool and hottub are located outside the property to the left of the front doors and off of the parking lot. Not sure how quiet or relaxing it is on busy days but the hottub was hot and clean and the pool, though not as pretty as the website picture, was not a cement pool like most hotels and did have nice chairs and a waterfall, though they were not working at this time as it is too cold outside. I did not eat at the hotel as it is way too expensive but room service has a good breakfast selection, burgers, salads, and light dishes for lunch, and a nice Texas themed dinner menu including ribs and steak. This menu is not much different from the downtown Houston Hyatt Regency. The hotel has a business center with Macs and a printer and a large bar area downstairs for tired or naughty business travelers. Newspapers are provided everyday by the front door and although I would have preferred newspaper delivery like I get at most other Hyatts, it was not that big a deal. The hotel missed servicing my room one day and I had to catch a housekeeper in the hall who did not speak good english as I asked her for three big towels and she first gave me two washcloths and two hand towels. I gave those back and again asked for three big towels and she brought me two big towels and some shampoo. I later had to get my wife to go back to the front desk for two more big towels so that was a little bit of a hassle. Otherwise, I would definitely tell the front desk you want service everyday. I tried to call the front desk numerous times from my room but no one ever answered so that was a little scary, though I did get my wake-up call so the phone did work. The light outside my room went out during my stay and stayed out for three days so attention to detail a bit lacking. Also the guest phone outside the elevator on the 1st floor was also not working so in case of an emergency you are out of luck, again very scary for women travelers. No microwave or refrigerator in the room so I would bring a refrigerator bag and some ziplock and use the ice machine as a cooler. It keeps drinks and non-dairy items cold enough and you only have to change the ice out about once a day, though you do have to like to eat cold food or pizza. Internet is also not free but I had my own internet stick so it did not matter. Wireless is free in the lobby but not convenient to sit in your pajamas. The best part of this hotel is the bed itself, they are warm and comfortable and I got a great sleep every night and the showerheads, just right and very relaxing. For a great room and a great sleep this is your hotel. Outside the room is wanting and a little boring for leisure guests but for business travelers they are too busy to care. I still like Hyatt places and Hyatt resorts better so this is why I give an average rating because for the money they are easily better hotels just like Homewood suites. Honestly, I think Hyatt needs to standardize all of their hotels to the Hyatt Place level of amenities so guests are not surprised when going to different properties at what to expect. Lastly, not a lot of restaurants around the hotel other than McDonalds around the corner so we ended up driving 5-10 miles back to the city to eat at the nicer places, which gets old fast as traffic and construction in this part of town are pretty bad all the time. However, there's always that $12 burger on the room service menu and $6 bottle of water in your room so I guess you won't starve.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room and the end of the hall has no traffic as there is just a fire escape. I liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneHonestReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa S, General Manager at Hyatt Regency North Houston, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your informative review of our property. I am glad to see that you were able to enjoy all of the amenities our hotel has to offer. I hope that feeling out of place did not affect your stay and that you noticed that whether you are in a suit or shorts we still provide the same great service. Come back in see us after the renovations are finished so you can enjoy the new and improved lobby and bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tippecanoe, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Front desk staff is wonderful, especially Kimberly, Melissa, and Long! They go above and beyond to help their customers. Restaurant has excellent food and very nice staff! Shuttle drivers do an awesome job, Deji, John, and John work really hard to get passengers to and from the airport on time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa S, General Manager at Hyatt Regency North Houston, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our hotels staff members. They all work hard and take pride in what they do, and it is great to see that this does not go unnoticed. Thank you again and please come back and see all of us at Hyatt North Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston/Bush Airport
0.5 mi away
Houston Marriott North
Houston Marriott North
#129 of 507 in Houston
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston North IAH
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Houston North
Hilton Houston North
#70 of 507 in Houston
1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Houston North & Conference Center
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency North Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency North Houston

Property: Hyatt Regency North Houston
Address: 425 N Sam Houston Pkwy E, Houston, TX 77060-3507
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#58 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency North Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency North Houston invites guests to rest comfortably. Ideally situated in the heart of the North Houston business and medical district, our hotel provides easy access to George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH) as well as Houston's most popular area attractions and major businesses. While lodging in Houston, Texas, hotel guests can enjoy visiting exciting attractions such as Houston's Downtown Aquarium and the Toyota Center. Less than ten miles from our Houston accommodations, travelers can also visit Splashtown Water Park or attend a horse race at the famous Sam Houston Race Park. Business travelers can appreciate our North Houston hotel's location near the Greenspoint Business District. Nearby corporations include Halliburton Energy, Smith International and Baker Hughes. Our hotel also offers over 27,000 sq. ft. of meeting space along with high-speed Internet access to accommodate our guests' business needs. During your visit, we hope you can take advantage of our Houston hotel's free airport shuttle from the Houston Airport. Relaxing amenities include an outdoor, tropically-landscaped swimming pool, a 24-hour business center, fitness center and a full-service restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency North Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston North - Greenspoint Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing