We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Ranked #132 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 19, 2009

All rooms are suites and good sized. Not the most elegant hotel but very clean, good internet service and very close to the loop and the Galleria.

I prefer Westin hotels to Sheraton but would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 553 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2009

This was a great location with terrific room and a great parking garage. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The front desk were pleasant and helpful. Our only problem is we went to a cocktail reception that just served appetizers and came back to the hotel still hungry. It was just turning midnight and the restaurant and bar were closed. I was shocked that a hotel in the Galleria in such a Cosmopolitan City would close their bar so early. We couldn't even get peanuts.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADYgRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We stayed here post cruise one night in Feb 2008. I got the room on Hotwire and since it was Sunday night, it was about $70 after tax. Crazy deal.

Very nice suite. Two rooms so our daughter was in the living area and we had the bedroom. Two tv's, two vanity areas. Nice large bathroom. Close to Galleria and restaurants. Did not eat at their restaurant or use their fitness facility.

For what I paid...it was a 7 out of 5 stars. If i paid the going rate 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevesul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

I stayed here whilst on a business trip to Houston, for 4 nights in April 2009. A taxi from the George Bush airport will cost around $45 single, we were fortunate enough to have a chauffeur drive provided by the Company I was visiting. The journey time from the airport at rush hour was around 40 minutes, and on the return journey at off peak time was a little over 25 minutes. The suites are lovely. I travel extensively on business and it is a rarity to find such a comfortable and convenient accommodation. I booked late and got a good pre-pay, non-refundable room rate, I think it was around $600 for 4 nights. Breakfast is additional $11 per breakfast for continental - fruit salads to die for! If you like Starbucks coffee (I don't!) you'll be happy here.
Outside the hotel is a busy freeway but there is no evidence of this from the room I was is, very peaceful with views over the small outdoor pool, the Galleria Mall and other local retail outlets.
The room was huge - king size bed if not bigger, not 2 beds stuck together so no gap to fall into! - sofa, coffee table, armchair, desk with lamp and wifi access, walk in dressing room and separate ensuite. Under counter fridge, sink, coffee machine, drinking water. There is a bar and restaurant downstairs, the food was of a surprisingly high quality based on my experience of hotel restaurants! Limited leisure facilities within the hotel, a small outdoor pool and a small gym area.
Do be careful though, I took a tourist trip to Nasa and got caught in flash floods on the way back to the hotel. There was an almighty lightning storm which we saw most of from our room when we did eventually get back. Air pressure was very high, lots of rain - the Houstons seeme to think it was just April showers!! Crazy weather. The day we departed the sun was splitting the heavens and at 10am it was already very hot outside.
I would stay here if I am back in Houston again, without a doubt. There are so many shops in the area from Jamba juice to Starbucks, Galleria Mall to discount outlets. Loved every minute of it, even the lightning storm! I will definitely book Sheraton again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I stayed at The Sheraton Suites at the Galleria from 4/30-5/2. The hotel was ok for the rate (79/night). Rooms look a bit dated with old wallpaper. The fabric on the couch was rough and felt like an SOS pad & the cushions were so flat and worn that you felt like you directly on the bed underneath. Dont plan on sitting on the couch relaxing. Free wi-fi was nice. A microwave would have been helpful. Parking should have been free. All that being said, the accomodations were ok for the $$$. BUT here was my major issue, I found a "little blue pill" on the floor in the sleeping section of my room. After examining it closely w/the help of the internet, I realized it was VIAGRA. It was left there by the previous customer. The pill was clearly visible and had housekeeping vacumned thoroughly as they should after each customer, then they would have found it. I was concerned because my 4 yr old son was playing on the floor. He would have been very ill had he injested the pill.Hotel manangement's response? "We will waive your parking charges." Gee thanks Sheraton! Makes me wonder where else the cleaning staff took shortcuts. I would not recommend this hotel unless that rate was low.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagotraveldiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

My son and I stayed at the Sheraton Suites Near the Galleria for our visit to Rice University in Houston for my son. The hotel is very nice and either new or newly renovated. The lobby is a warm with wood walls and marble floors and the check in desk was very friendly and quick. We were on the 15th floor at the top for the Starwood Preferred Guests were there were some cookies, snacks, and water by the elevator for complimentary use. The best part of the hotel is the larger room size. It has a living room area with a LCD TV and then a bedroom, in our case two double beds, also with a tv. The bathroom had granite counters and the separate shower and toilet area had marble walls.
In all I was pleased with the apperance and style of the room. It was an elegant look and the views on floor fifteen were very pretty, especially at night as the galleria area lights up. We did not eat at Omaha Steakhouse nor did we use the pool/gym. Free wireless internet in the rooms was a great plus.
Be cautious when you exit the freeway from the north because the hotel is right there and you have to dart across four lanes of traffic. Look at a map to be safe and try to arrive not at rush hour. The location is walking distance to the Galleria mall though.
I also appreciated the late check out as we were at Rice University during regular check out. The hotel just gave us new room keys for use after 12PM and let us leave at 2PM.
All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1travel5MV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

I took my 11 year old son to Houston for a Mommy/Son vacation. We spent 3 days at the Sheraton Suites and really enjoyed it. The room was spacious for us and very clean. Had no troubles with any of the staff. The pool was a very relaxing place to hang out. The only thing is getting there. Thw way it is situated makes it a little bit confusing. And to those who are wanting to explore Houston proper be advised that this hotel is not right in the middle of the city. However the drive into downtown does not take long at all if you are doing it by car. For those who don't want to mess with rentals the hotel is a short walk to the bus stop which takes you right to medical center plaza and then you can jump on the light rail and be downtown in a blink. We rented a car for the days we were in Webster visiting NASA but took the public transportation once we got in Houston and had no troubles at all. The Galleria which takes less than 5 minutes to walk to has plenty of meal options (in addition to the various ones around teh restaurant) and has an ice skating rink open year round. There is also a Starbucks right behind the hotel as well. It is located in an area that feels very safe and we never had any concerns walking around or jumping on the bus or light rail. Overall we had a wonderful time. Oh and to the person who said that the business center is nothing more than a "cubby hole". Yes it is true that it is a small area right by the reception desk. There are a couple of computers with internet access and printers that you can use at no charge. Perfectly acceptable for quick things that you need to do or to check in for your flights. However- keep in mind that when you go to a hotel if you are planning on doing official company business and tying up computers for hours on end you need to bring your own and work in your room. I am constantly amazed by what I see in the address bar of computers when I am going back to a screen I was on. These areas are not meant for privacy and holding major business meetings. So there really is not a valid complaint with the way it is set up.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank akasha3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria

Address: 2400 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Houston
#35 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#133 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $105 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the glamour of uptown Houston, Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria is ready to greet you with a pleasant and comfortable stay. Our full service, all-suite hotel puts you close to the excitement at the George R. Brown Convention Center, NRG Park, Minute Maid Park, Toyota Center, BBVA Compass Stadium, Museum District, downtown Houston, and the world renowned Texas Medical Center. Spend the day browsing Galleria Mall's extravagant shops and day spas, just two blocks away, and then return for a refreshing swim in our outdoor pool. After, share in some delightful food and conversation at our restaurant or lounge. Fully unwind in one of 283 spacious suites, beautifully appointed and full of all of the ingredients for a memorable stay. Find a great hotel convenient to Houston’s major airports at the Sheraton Suites Near The Galleria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria Hotel Houston
Sheraton Houston
Houston Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing