We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Questionable cleaning practices!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Ranked #109 of 515 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, IL
1 review
“Questionable cleaning practices!”
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I stayed at The Sheraton Suites at the Galleria from 4/30-5/2. The hotel was ok for the rate (79/night). Rooms look a bit dated with old wallpaper. The fabric on the couch was rough and felt like an SOS pad & the cushions were so flat and worn that you felt like you directly on the bed underneath. Dont plan on sitting on the couch relaxing. Free wi-fi was nice. A microwave would have been helpful. Parking should have been free. All that being said, the accomodations were ok for the $$$. BUT here was my major issue, I found a "little blue pill" on the floor in the sleeping section of my room. After examining it closely w/the help of the internet, I realized it was VIAGRA. It was left there by the previous customer. The pill was clearly visible and had housekeeping vacumned thoroughly as they should after each customer, then they would have found it. I was concerned because my 4 yr old son was playing on the floor. He would have been very ill had he injested the pill.Hotel manangement's response? "We will waive your parking charges." Gee thanks Sheraton! Makes me wonder where else the cleaning staff took shortcuts. I would not recommend this hotel unless that rate was low.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagotraveldiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    228
    89
    35
    33
See reviews for
118
90
47
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, CA USA
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

My son and I stayed at the Sheraton Suites Near the Galleria for our visit to Rice University in Houston for my son. The hotel is very nice and either new or newly renovated. The lobby is a warm with wood walls and marble floors and the check in desk was very friendly and quick. We were on the 15th floor at the top for the Starwood Preferred Guests were there were some cookies, snacks, and water by the elevator for complimentary use. The best part of the hotel is the larger room size. It has a living room area with a LCD TV and then a bedroom, in our case two double beds, also with a tv. The bathroom had granite counters and the separate shower and toilet area had marble walls.
In all I was pleased with the apperance and style of the room. It was an elegant look and the views on floor fifteen were very pretty, especially at night as the galleria area lights up. We did not eat at Omaha Steakhouse nor did we use the pool/gym. Free wireless internet in the rooms was a great plus.
Be cautious when you exit the freeway from the north because the hotel is right there and you have to dart across four lanes of traffic. Look at a map to be safe and try to arrive not at rush hour. The location is walking distance to the Galleria mall though.
I also appreciated the late check out as we were at Rice University during regular check out. The hotel just gave us new room keys for use after 12PM and let us leave at 2PM.
All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1travel5MV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

I took my 11 year old son to Houston for a Mommy/Son vacation. We spent 3 days at the Sheraton Suites and really enjoyed it. The room was spacious for us and very clean. Had no troubles with any of the staff. The pool was a very relaxing place to hang out. The only thing is getting there. Thw way it is situated makes it a little bit confusing. And to those who are wanting to explore Houston proper be advised that this hotel is not right in the middle of the city. However the drive into downtown does not take long at all if you are doing it by car. For those who don't want to mess with rentals the hotel is a short walk to the bus stop which takes you right to medical center plaza and then you can jump on the light rail and be downtown in a blink. We rented a car for the days we were in Webster visiting NASA but took the public transportation once we got in Houston and had no troubles at all. The Galleria which takes less than 5 minutes to walk to has plenty of meal options (in addition to the various ones around teh restaurant) and has an ice skating rink open year round. There is also a Starbucks right behind the hotel as well. It is located in an area that feels very safe and we never had any concerns walking around or jumping on the bus or light rail. Overall we had a wonderful time. Oh and to the person who said that the business center is nothing more than a "cubby hole". Yes it is true that it is a small area right by the reception desk. There are a couple of computers with internet access and printers that you can use at no charge. Perfectly acceptable for quick things that you need to do or to check in for your flights. However- keep in mind that when you go to a hotel if you are planning on doing official company business and tying up computers for hours on end you need to bring your own and work in your room. I am constantly amazed by what I see in the address bar of computers when I am going back to a screen I was on. These areas are not meant for privacy and holding major business meetings. So there really is not a valid complaint with the way it is set up.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank akasha3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

I am a member of Starwood Resorts and booked into this hotel at short notice after finding out I was allergic to my friends cat!

The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the Galleria, but despite it's urban location had ample parking and even a small swimming pool. The restaurant provided nice meals and all the staff I encountered were friendly and courteous.

My room was spacious and comfortable, not to mention spotlessly clean and had separate living and sleeping areas which was handy when friends came round to pick me up. It was well equipped with free wireless internet access, a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.

I stayed here for around five nights and was very happy. Should I ever be in Houston again I wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank purplegrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

I stay at this hotel on most visits to Houston, usually because I can get a decent rate on Hotwire, plus the free Internet. The rooms are large, with a small bar area with refrigerator. The entire hotel is no non-smoking, which is nice (for a non-smoker). It is located within walking distance to the Galleria, but getting in and out with a car can be time-consuming because you have to access from the service road, right at the off-ramp from the freeway to Westheimer - one of the most congested areas of Houston. The parking garage can get full, and there are no other places to park in the area if you can't get a space there.

The hotel is beginning to show its age, so don't expect too much. And whenever you deal with desk staff, make a note of names, because they may tell you something that isn't policy. I booked a room for two nights but was unable to make it the first night. I called to let them know, and the desk person said "No problem". But when I arrived on the second day they had deleted the entire reservation. Luckily, they had a room available, but told me I should have called. I told them I did , and they were very nice about it. But I believe if their had been no rooms available, things could have gotten ugly.

Overall, I like this hotel, but it's not as nice as other Sheraton Suites I have stayed in.

  • Liked — Location, room size, free Internet
  • Disliked — Access, parking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yowzatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2008

I am a member of starwood resorts and a world traveller. I stayed at Sheraton Suites for business for 4 nights. The hotel is well kept and rooms are decent but the service is EXTREMELY POOR.

a) Day two - I call in-room dining to order my dinner and no one picks up. I call front desk and they tell me that someone will call me to take my order. No call for thirty minutes. I am hungry so I got frustrated and went out.

b) Day three - I got nice to-go desert previous night I went out. I put my desert in my mini fridge and plastic silverware on the table. When I come back in the evening, the silverware is gone. The cleaning crew might have tossed it. I call front desk to get me a spoon. She tells me they dont give silverware unless you order food. On this statement, I told her look I had it but the cleaning crew might have tossed it and that is why I am asking for it. On this she goes, our cleaning crew will never do that. What does she mean? I am lying over a plastic spoon.. give me a break.. I could not handle this rude behaviour. I ended the call.

I am out of here tomorrow but please dont go by the name Sheraton..This hotel SUCKS big time.

  • Liked — Great location with great restaurants close by
  • Disliked — Extremely poor service and rude staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bizz_travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid-west
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Right across the street from the Galleria. We booked on hotwire for $62/night. We were very happy with the service we recieved. The staff was really friendly. Our room was huge and the bedroom area could be completely seperated from the living area. I would say that this hotel is probably an update soon, but over all for the price we were thrilled. The beds were comfortable and the room was really clean. Not bad for the price.

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — Had to pay to self park
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria

Property: Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Address: 2400 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Houston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#133 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the glamour of uptown Houston, Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria is ready to greet you with a pleasant and comfortable stay. Our full service, all-suite hotel puts you close to the excitement at the George R. Brown Convention Center, NRG Park, Minute Maid Park, Toyota Center, BBVA Compass Stadium, Museum District, downtown Houston, and the world renowned Texas Medical Center. Spend the day browsing Galleria Mall's extravagant shops and day spas, just two blocks away, and then return for a refreshing swim in our outdoor pool. After, share in some delightful food and conversation at our restaurant or lounge. Fully unwind in one of 283 spacious suites, beautifully appointed and full of all of the ingredients for a memorable stay. Find a great hotel convenient to Houston’s major airports at the Sheraton Suites Near The Galleria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria Hotel Houston
Sheraton Houston
Houston Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing