We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy rooms, rates way too high”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Ranked #151 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Lately (first quarter of 2014) the rates have been insanely high, but on par with most of the hotels in the immediate Galleria area. I understand the nature of competitive rates, but rates should reflect, at least in part, the quality of the hotel. The rates I've experienced so far this year at this Sheraton are far too high for what you get.

The location is decent if you can easily navigate the 610 access roads and Texas-turnarounds (as you can only access the hotel via the 610 access road). A minute drive to the Galleria and a couple of minutes drive to at least 100 restaurants and stores. Also, very easy access to highway 59.

I booked a Deluxe Suite. I attempted to discern what separates a "Deluxe" from a regular suite, but I think I failed. All rooms seem to be exactly the same. The only item in the online description of the Deluxe Suite that differs is "Deluxe Bath Amenities". This got me excited! Maybe something better than the typical Sheraton stuff that leaves a lot to be desired. Nope. Same stuff. Ugh.

The lobby is nice. A few areas well set up to sit with your colleagues to chat and/or pound away on your laptop for a bit. My confusion progressed after getting to my room. Everywhere you read, they tout their recent big buck renovation. Maybe my room missed out? I really don't see it. Everything, while certainly not in horrible condition, is outdated by at least ten years.

Lastly, my room had a door connecting it to the room next door. Certainly super convenient for people who rent adjoining rooms, but not me. I could hear everything this guy did, including flushing the toilet. You should also know that they desk in my room just so happened to be placed right next to this door--so my neighbor surely was able to hear every single part of the 10 some-odd conference calls I took from my room.

Parking is $16 overnight with in/out privileges. Funny thing, though - I went in/out several times and the gates were always open.

I'd much rather stay at one of the other Galleria properties.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room that does not have a door connecting to the room next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 572 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

they advertised multi million dollar remodel but didn't see it. Fairly nice looking rooms and great separate suites to sit but 2 TV's was excessive and when you turned one tv on with remote, both came on (kind of strange). The rooms were very clean but the lobby was dull and the reception was not too friendly. I expected the lobby to be something special but it wasn't. As for Sheraton's internet request they were a waste of time. The receptionist said they did not receive any of them. It was our 29th anniversary and I had requested a lower room and champagne and strawberry's in room upon arrival; 2 minor request I thought but none was done and we were put on 12th floor out of 15. not too low. It started out bad with the lack of service so our attitudes didn't change the whole trip. Obviously we will not be staying there again. It was close to galleria but so are many other great choice hotels.

Room Tip: talk to a person; internet is useless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChipNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently Located Near Galleria. Suites are okay lack of space. Lobby is small and unplanned. Staff is quite helpful except one female staff who had attitude problem. I stayed in 1115 between 6 March till 11 Mar. I spoke to one guest relations staff for some specific requirement while cleaning the room and she was very very helpful and cooperative. Compare to their Room rent it's good value for money. Recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank arshadwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We took a suite, it was spacious and well furnished . The hotel is quiet old. The club option is limited , a few snacks and the wines offered for the “happy hours” are quite expensive . However the club lounge it is fine for a continental breakfast. The location is perfect, as closed to the galleria. All together a good option if you want to stay downtown Houston , for a quite reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bzh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Hotel

First the hotel: old style room, clean, excellent coffee machine in room. 2 TVs in room, one of them didn't work. A bit noisy if your room is on the freeway side. Walking distance to galleria, although most people don't walk in Houston, where you find many places to eat and drink (much better than in the hotel).

Now the poor service. Had to call twice to get the safe fixed. Front desk staff not helpful at all and felt a bit arrogant. I was told the free shuttle service starts only 7 but was given a lift at 6:45. Great but I felt the driver was expecting me to pay him.

All in all, average but wouldn't stay there again unless I have to. It used to be much better 5 years ago when I visited the place.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I got here on Saturday night, after checking out of the terrible Sam Houston. We stayed two nights. The shower was kind of old, and sprayed water everywhere. And the toilet, if the door was open, was impossible to reach the toilet paper. This hotel is good for business,not relaxation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had not planned to be in Houston needing a hotel room, but sometimes things work out that way. Princess Cruises assigned us to this hotel and we did not pay for it, they did.

The room was spacious, clean, and well stocked. One of the nicer rooms I have ever been in. It is walking distance from the Galleria, so that is a plus. This hotel has one of those elevator systems that requires the key card to operate it. When the key cards don't work, then this system ceases to be a security feature and becomes an annoyance and hinderance.

The breakfast buffet is $20 per person. A cup of coffee is $3, orange juice $4. We left after drinking our $9 (with tip) beverages. The price surprises me as there are so many hotels that offer good breakfast buffets as complimentary with a night's stay.

The front desk staff was adequate. They were neither mean or friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSHG, Director of Sales at Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We would like to thank you for providing us the insight about the experience you encountered during your stay with us; in particular the restaurant pricing and the issues with your room key's not functioning in the elevator's.

We have shared your candid comments with all of our team members so that we may be able to create memorable moments versus an experience such as the one you have brought to our attention.

Again thank you for the comments and for helping us improve our service.

With warmth,
JamalM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria
3.3 mi away
Hilton Houston Galleria Area
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Houston by the Galleria
0.1 mi away
Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria

Address: 2400 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Houston
#37 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#133 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $111 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the glamour of uptown Houston, Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria is ready to greet you with a pleasant and comfortable stay. Our full service, all-suite hotel puts you close to the excitement at the George R. Brown Convention Center, NRG Park, Minute Maid Park, Toyota Center, BBVA Compass Stadium, Museum District, downtown Houston, and the world renowned Texas Medical Center. Spend the day browsing Galleria Mall's extravagant shops and day spas, just two blocks away, and then return for a refreshing swim in our outdoor pool. After, share in some delightful food and conversation at our restaurant or lounge. Fully unwind in one of 283 spacious suites, beautifully appointed and full of all of the ingredients for a memorable stay. Find a great hotel convenient to Houston’s major airports at the Sheraton Suites Near The Galleria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria Hotel Houston
Sheraton Houston
Houston Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing