We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a wash...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Ranked #104 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bergen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs a wash...”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotel is old and unmodern, and needs a major clean up. The carpets at the room and in the corridors is dirty and smells like containing a lot of ship and dust. The whole establishment is no longer up to date, except the fitness room that was new and well quipped. Staff gave good service and does a great job.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stifinneren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    217
    86
    32
    30
See reviews for
111
84
47
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel is in a good location near the mall but careful of the traffic going in and out of the hotel. The room is roomy and clean but decoration and color kind of dull. Peoples around the hotel are very helpful and will accommodate you very quickly. I did not know about the extra charge of $14.00/day for self parking.... so be ware and know that there is extra to pay.

My last day at the hotel was not a pleasure one (I booked 7 days). There is totally no hot water for almost the whole day, can not get a good shower for the meeting. I ended up take the cold one (I have to) and get sick for the rest of my week (outside was cold in the30). When checked out, the hotel offered 2 free parking day for the inconvenient, I ask if they can do more..... they said the best they can do is 3 free parking days (I hope they can give me 1 day hotel rental free of charge - but they did not)

Well, after almost a week now, I am still sick (may be cold or flu from the cold shower)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thanh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

There are no platinum upgrades at this property, just the SPG floors where guests get free bottled water and (sometimes) cookies.

The rooms are slightly outdated, and the pool is very small. I like the breakfast buffet, which has a lot of options. The staff is nice and professional, especially Nancy, who works in the Omaha Steakhouse Restaurant. That being said, there is some inconsistency with the service. Sometimes I'll ask for breakfast vouchers that were not given to me during check-in or toiletries, and it can take more than a few reminders to have them sent to my room.

As for the location, this property is conveniently located on the loop. It's centrally located, so if you're going downtown or to the medical center for example, the traffic will be short lived. If you're going anywhere outside the loop, you'll be driving against traffic. Of course, you'll encounter traffic coming back in the evening, and 610 is always congested near the Galleria.

I don't recommend eating at the hotel for lunch or dinner. There are so many great restaurants in Houston like Pondicheri, Chuy's, Giacomo's, Yia Yia Mary's (and any other Pappa's restaurant), Oishii, The Tasting Room, Breakfast Klub, Brasil Cafe, etc... Plus, Chinatown is only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missxmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

its an average Sheraton with good location. i have stayed at this hotel more than three times. I love the free WIFI & the location (walking distance to the Galleria Mall and access to 610 highway). The most important thing is to get a room the the galleria area and not to the 610 side.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAQi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Filthy small reception, with really bad smell. Seems like a very old outdated facility. Probably used to be a Holiday Inn or something similar.
Rooms are outdated, specially the bathroom. Bed is okay but not at sheraton standards.

We used the concierge service and was terrible, we asked for a restaurant and recommended us a food pick up canteen.

Much better options for the same price, will never stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnaviation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
250 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

It looks good at the entrance, but the rooms are like so many rooms in so many hotels in the US: tired. They look old, smell old, feel old. AC system is old; bath tub small. Yes, the bed is very confortable. But the rest.... I think the hotel chains of the US should travel more often to Asia.
On the positive side, very nice hotel staff at all levels.
Gym room is small, and breakfast ordinary

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently spent 2 nights there. The actual room was fine...large and generally comfortable. However, the furnishing are somewhat worn and could use replacement. The side of the hotel I stayed on is adjacent to I-610 and was incredibly noisy.
The room service was a sad joke. I ordered a chicken cobb (no bleu cheese), tortilla soup and a pitcher of ice water (since the ice machine on the floor did not work). Over the next hour, I dealt with three waiters. 1) delivered a cobb with bleu cheese and no dressing, tortilla soup with no spoon and a small juice glass of water; 2) The next waiter brought a new salad and a pitcher of water and forgot the spoon and the salad dressing; 3) The next finally brought the spoon and some incredibly bad balsamic dressing roughly 75 minutes after the initial order and about 20 minutes after the soup turned cold.
Clearly, room service is a complete and absolute joke. In fairness, although I didn't demand it, the "meal" was never billed to my account.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria

Property: Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Address: 2400 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Houston
#32 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#133 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the glamour of uptown Houston, Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria is ready to greet you with a pleasant and comfortable stay. Our full service, all-suite hotel puts you close to the excitement at the George R. Brown Convention Center, NRG Park, Minute Maid Park, Toyota Center, BBVA Compass Stadium, Museum District, downtown Houston, and the world renowned Texas Medical Center. Spend the day browsing Galleria Mall's extravagant shops and day spas, just two blocks away, and then return for a refreshing swim in our outdoor pool. After, share in some delightful food and conversation at our restaurant or lounge. Fully unwind in one of 283 spacious suites, beautifully appointed and full of all of the ingredients for a memorable stay. Find a great hotel convenient to Houston’s major airports at the Sheraton Suites Near The Galleria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria Hotel Houston
Sheraton Houston
Houston Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing