We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental
Ranked #95 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is an older hotel and soon will need some facelift, however our stay was very good.
We only stayed 1 night and used the hotel as our stop over, so for that purpose it worked out just fine. The staff made all the difference making it a comfortable stay. Very attentive, friendly, southern style. Didn't have much time to enjoy the outside pool and too tired to use the indoor one, however they are there to enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Elkins, Front Office Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    224
    135
    69
    49
See reviews for
76
114
80
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Oh dear, not too inviting as first impressions were that it was tired and dated from the outside. On entry the reception had a horrible smell of stale greasy food that lingered throughout our stay right through the hotel. The staff were all very welcoming and booked us in efficiently and quickly. The hotel was spookily quiet. The corridors and lifts were tired and battered and the colour scheme drab. Having said that our room was fine with a nice, clean comfortable bed. The bathroom was a good size and had everything needed inc nice towels. We had a good, very quiet night's sleep and for an airport hotel that was a bonus. It's a pity that the hotel is in such a sad state. The windows throughout were dirty and blown and really in desperate need of replacement. The pool area outside looked rather nice and inviting. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again but it was fine for a night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FizzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Elkins, Front Office Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive words on the staff. The hotel was recently purchased and had begun an extensive renovation. We will be remodeling everything from top to bottom. This includes the rooms, halls, restaurant, bar, lobby, pool areas, and much more. I sincerely hope that if you’re in the area you stop by and see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

For the price, I think it's what can be expected. The hotel's airport shuttle service was very good and took just about five or seven minutes to get to the hotel. I got lucky and it was already outside loading up when I arrived, so I had no wait. My flight was early so I had to wait for quite a while for my room to be available but enjoyed a nice soup and salad in the restaurant. The soup was actually quite good!

I chose to stay in a club level room and was glad I did. It's convenient to have water, soda, and snacks available. Breakfast was served in the club lounge and consisted of eggs, usually some sort of potato, and one morning they even had french toast. They also offerred fresh fruit and pastries, as well as the standard bread, bagels, and english muffins for toasting.

The club level room seemed to me to be identical to the standard room that I had last year. The only difference was that I had to use my card each time I needed to go to my room. Housekeeping was pretty decent, with things fairly clean. Upon check-in, I inspected the bathroom, which appeared clean. The second day I noticed a hair (mine) on the floor and left it, just wondering if it would still be there after housekeeping came. It was. The next day it was, too. In fact, I arrived back at around 2pm and my room had not yet been cleaned. Housekeeping arrived while I was back for a small break so I asked her to return in a half hour and she did.

The front desk staff - how else can I describe them but apathetic. They were there. They did the basic requirements. That's all. Nothing more and nothing less.

I attend an annual conference and if it is held at the Sheraton North Houston again, I will return. I would probably choose another property a couple of doors down if I had the choice but this property is certainly not a bad place to stay.

I read stories of bad internet connections and no hot water on other reviews before I went. I experienced neither on the 9th floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the airport if you like to see planes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLZplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Elkins, Front Office Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hi JLZplus4,

Thank you for such wonderful words about our property. I’m glad you had enjoyed the Club Lounge and your stay. We are in the process of remodeling the entire hotel. I sincerely hope that if your conference is back next year you decide to stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Not much to say here. A good location close to the airport. Serviceable rooms. A nice staff. But not much around here. I wouldn't stay here unless you need to be next to the airport. Had dinner in the lobby and it was terrible. Should have walked across the highway to Taco Bell

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpolatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Elkins, Front Office Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel. We are in the process up upgrading many different aspects of the hotel, including the restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Yet another dismal stay here (company paid hotel) and its getting worse. This place is an embrassmemt to the Sheraton name. Good luck finding hot water and if you like cold showers this is your place. Doing work on pipes at all hours which rattles parts of hotel. Maids are hit an miss with what they leave and do. Bar food is cheap and salty. Main restaurant is ok. Wifi absolutely sucks. Clearly Shertaon doesn't care much about this property.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayMark1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Elkins, Front Office Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are consistently make improvements to the hotel to better serve our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I needed a hotel to crash for one night to catch a return flight to Calgary AB. at 0700. Staff was very helpful at check in. The fellow at the concierge was excellent. I checked in and returned my car to the airport and as instructed, called the hotel for a shuttle to pick me up. After 20 minutes (the hotel was 1 mile away) the shuttle arrived. Friendly service but she said she hoped I wasn't in a hurry as we were going to the airport. It was closer to 45 minutes before we got back to the hotel. I wasn't in a hurry so no impact, just time.
The kicker was the next morning. I left a wake-up call for 0345 to catch an 0700 flight to Calgary. First time ever I decided to set my phone alarm. The wake up call never came. I went to shower and ran the hot water in the sink for 10 minutes without getting any hot. Took a quick cold shower and headed for the lobby to check out. Seems that there has been a lot of work here to resolve lack of hot water issues. The staff told me the building was old and there had been many complaints and many repairs on the lack of hot water. Again, the staff tried to help me and seemed to really care. I would probably not stay here again as there are much newer hotels across the road.

Room Tip: Club floor has breakfast and hors doeuvres. Not nearly as nice as some other Sheratons though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harley_Squirrelnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Elkins, Front Office Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for such positive words on the staff. They all work very hard to please our guest. I hope that the next time you are in the area you decide to stay with us. The hotel has started a major renovation and will look brand new very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was attempting to return to the states from London and could only make a Houston flight during Hurricane Sandy. Getting back to NYC was a nightmare. SPG is always my go to hotel brand so I was stoked to find this little gem (sarcastic) in Houston. I was only going to be in Houston for 16 hours so I wanted airport convenience. SPG's website advertised a free airport shuttle but after having waited for 40 minutes and calling the hotel 11 times, my co-workers and I decided to pay for a cab instead. That was irritating. Upon arrival, the attendant at the front desk asked "Well why didn't you just call us" when we told her about our issues with the shuttle. I wanted to scream.

My room was basic to old in terms of Sheraton quality. The lock on my door did not work but I continued to use my key just to fool myself into a false sense of security. I ate in the club lounge, bar downstairs, and the breakfast buffet--every single person in all three was super super polite and accomodating. The front desk, on the other hand, could use some in service training.

The lady that checked us in told us all that we could eat breakfast in either the club lounge or the restaurant in the lobby due to our platinum status with SPG. She advised us to come to the desk the next morning and pick up vouchers for the restaurant--not sure why she couldn't give us the vouchers at check-in like every other hotel does. Maybe she was trying to pass the buck. Sure enough, the next morning when I asked the gentleman at the front desk for a breakfast voucher he looked at me like I was speaking Chinese and advised me to go to the club lounge. My coworkers all got the same run around. We explained the disconnect to the employees of the restaurant and they were very accomodating.

Taking the shuttle back to the airport was much more pleasant.

Two stars. My experience was below normal Sheraton quality. Would probably stay somewhere else next time. Almost went with the Marriott inside of the airport. Hindsight is 20/20.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InNYfromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Elkins, Front Office Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for staying at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had to endure. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to leave your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus JFK Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Bush Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston / Bush Intercontinental Airport
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental

Property: Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental
Address: 15700 John F Kennedy Blvd, Houston, TX 77032-2316
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton North Houston At George Bush Intercontinental Hotel Houston
Intercontinental North Houston
Sheraton Houston
Houston Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing