We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened to Crowne Plaza?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow
Ranked #145 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Houston, Texas
1 review
“What happened to Crowne Plaza?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The quality of Crowne Plaza Hotels has declined. I have stayed with 2 different locations in the Houston area, and have been repeatedly disappointed. The staff is unprofessional, unkept and at times displaying a lack of education. I have never seen this much rust in a bathroom. Walls are patched and unpainted. Carpet is sticky even with socks on. Entire facility is unclean, and a layer of filth on everything. Door did not lock or shut properly (1st floor). An entire "tower" had exterior access doors, in the back of the property. I have stayed in roadside motels with better accomodations. Every response from the Front Desk Staff was read from a manual, in response to my concerns. Not a good stay. They were more concerned about this review survey, than the comfort of this guest.

Room Tip: Do not book here at all and save yourself the disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anorak W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNorthwest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Houston Brookhollow.
I apologize that the hotel team did not meet your expectations. I have shared all of your comments with the hotel team, to improve in the future. Our goal is to make our guest's experience enjoyable.
Again, I am sorry that you were disappointed in your experience at our hotel.

David Comerota
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    137
    79
    37
    30
See reviews for
53
45
44
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Overall the Crowne Plaza was pretty nice, the people were excellent, Breakfast buffet was alright, Excercise room was very good, Only went into the bar one time, Rita Washington and the whole staff helped me alot, they were some of the most friendlies host i have been around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNorthwest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for writing your comments concerning your recent stay and our hotel.
I have personally discussed your experiences with Rita Washington and congratulated her on successes with your experience. It is the goal of the entire hotel team to provide a friendly environment.
I hope to see your at the Crowne Plaza Houston Brookhollow in the future.

David Comerota
General Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel is OK. Room was not vacuumed for sure. Room was on the 8th floor but you could clearly hear highway. Free breakfast was C-. Asked to clean my balcony at the front desk - no results. Good thing - free parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasya52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNorthwest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I would like to thank you for commenting on your stay at the Crowne Plaza Houston Brookhollow.
I will share your comments with the entire team. I want to assure you that our goal is provide an excellent hotel stay for our guests".
Again, thank you for your feedback.

David Comerota
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We come here a few times a year for business and each time I have to say the front desk staff is very nice, professional & extememly helpful. This hotel could use a little more updating, but it is very clean and the beds are very comfy. There have been a few times that we had to let the staff know that the water wasn't hot enough, and they were on it right away. The manager Henry S., in particular, ALWAYS greets us with a smile, always remembers our name, very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and it's very refreshing to see someone love their job so much.
We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Join the premier club for the complimentary Happy hour and breakfast M-F on the 2nd floor. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Sandi A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online.

It is greatly appreciated when our visitors have enjoyed their experience with us, so much so, that they share this experience with us and other reviewers. We thank you for your valuable feedback and the special mention you have made to a member of our team.

Thank you very much for your kind words and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The staff were helpful and friendly. Especially Rita Washington. The room was spacious and very clean. There wasn't any noise or disturbances. The hotel was located by many restaurants and stores. Everything we needed was just across the highway. Room service was very prompt and the food was delicious!! We are definitely staying again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNorthwest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the Crowne Plaza Houston Brookhollow. I have recognized Rita Washington for her friendly service that you mentioned in your review.
I understand that you have many choices in choosing a hotel and I hope you return to the Cronwe Plaza Brookhollow on your next trip tp Houston.

David Comerota
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We showed up early for a early check-in with no call ahead .... Rita Washington at the front desk went out of her way to get us in the rooms we asked for. Ms. Washington also made our entire experience far better then we had expected, and accomodated our every need. This hotel also offers a free shuttle service to the local restaurants!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times for business and have always been very impressed with the service etc. I fell ill this trip and ended up in the hospital. I went to the front desk and told the night manager Henry that I wasn't feeling well and he saw to it I got to the hospital. Long story short I was in the hospital for a week and my wife needed to come down from Canada and take care of me. Henry saw to it my wife got to the hospital upon arrival via the hotel shuttle and got back to the hotel until she was comfortable enough to drive here herself. He always asked how I was and if there was anything he could do to help. Bottom line he went above and beyond what he had to do....we were total strangers. Here's to Henry and I wish more hotels had people that were even close to matching his level of compassion and professionalism. Thanks Henry!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNorthwest, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
I want to thank you for sharing your experiences and thoughts about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Houston Brookhollow.
I am extremely proud of Henry's concern and commitment to aiding you during your stay at the hotel. I have shared your experiences with the entire hotel team and will use Henry's efforts as a standard for our commitment to guest service.
I am glad that your health did improve and hope you will be able to visit Houston in the future
.

General Manager
Dave Comerota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Northwest-Brookhollow
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Houston-Brookhollow
0.2 mi away
Towneplace Suites Houston Brookhollow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Houston NW/290 Corridor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow

Property: Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow
Address: 12801 Northwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77040-6301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Houston Northwest Hotels convenient location in Northwest Houston, Texas on US Highway 290 offers easy access to downtown Houston, The Houston Galleria shopping district and many area attractions. A full service hotel offering all the luxuries you have come to expect from a Crowne Plaza if coming to town for business or leisure. Business travelers visiting Weatherford, International Paint, Oceaneering, National Oilwell/Varco, Menniger Clinic, Caterpillar, Cooper Cameron, David Weekley Homes, Siemens or Dresser will find Crowne Plaza NW Hotel the perfect location to work and relax. With over 17,000 square feet of convention & meeting space and a dedicated meeting planner on property, we can accommodate almost any size meeting. The Crowne Plaza Houston NW Hotel features one of Houston's premier restaurants in Remington's Grille & Bar which offers upscale dining and room service. Each guest room is updated with complimentary Rukas WI-FI access, work desk and includes our fabulous Sleep Advantage package ensureing a restful nighs sleep. A key accessible club lounge is available for breakfast Monday Friday from 6 AM - 9 AM and an evening reception including hors d'oeuvres and cocktails available from 5 PM - 7 PM, Monday Thursday evening. Our friendly staff provides world class service which makes this Houston hotel 'The Place to Meet'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing