We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs renovation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park
Ranked #152 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
572 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Needs renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I've stayed here a few times, and mostly this is easy because of the price point and availability of rooms. Internet is poor. Linens and interiors need update. Inside the hotel is always hot and stuffy, even in January. If you stay in Springhill, you know exactly what the rooms are, and the layout either works for you or not. This one just isn't kept up as well as most of the others I've been to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JrMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
JrMushroom,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you stayed with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.
Yours truly,
Dwan Lightfoot, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    93
    59
    15
    15
See reviews for
99
28
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed at this location for an in town get away from the "burbs". It is near Hermann Park, Montrose, and Rice Village. The staff was hospitable, knowledgeable and was not apparently unnerved by the constant needs of a hotel well occupied with teenage girls, their parents and coaches. The rooms are well insulated, clean, spacious, and comfortable. Though the breakfast was well attended, there were no deficiencies in service or food. I will spend time there in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schulenburg, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Walking distance to Reliant for HLS&R 2012. Average property for Marriott, I am a Marriott rewards member and am used to much better accomodiations.

Room Tip: high floor was a good choice, lots of traffic due to rodeo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
MommaDK,
Thank you for your review, We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.
Yours truly,
Dwan Lightfoot, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Wife and I stayed at this hote in February. Overall, hotel stay was pretty good. Our biggest disappointment was that the hotel failed to honor our confirmed reservation for a king bed guestroom. We were slammed into a room with two double beds. We were told it was our fault because we arrived at 11:45pm on a Wednesday evening. Sorry, we couldn't make the plane from Chicago move any faster! it was a confirmed reservatioon after all. The night audit clerk didn't seem to care and told us the hotel was overbooked but then said we were the last reservation to arrive. So not sure which was correct but we still didn't commit any fault; the hotel just failed to honor the reservation type.

Breakfast each morning was nice. Varied hot and cold food choices and frequently replenished. The breakfast clerks were very friendly and attentive. The mattress was very comfortable but the bed was too small (we had a reservation for a king bed, not honored when we arrived).

For some reason, the back half of the parking lot was roped off. Not enough parking on the first evening. Don't know why. The ice machine on the top floor emits ear piercing nises at times.

Room Tip: Don't think of checking in late at night if you want your reservation type honored or do not wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank revpar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Revpar77,
All reviews are important to us and I would like to thank you for your candid review. There are times when in-house guests extend their stay unexpectedly and unfortunately, we’re unable to honor all reservations and room types. You have my deepest apologies for not honoring your confirmed room type, and I can appreciate all of your frustration.

I truly appreciate your intent to stay with us and hope you will consider staying with Marriott in the future.

Thanks again,
Dwan Lightfoot, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here while at MD Anderson for 5 days. Very clean and quiet property, although dated. You can tell from the wall paper in the hallways. Front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. Shuttle personell were very helpful and it was on schedule each day. Breakfast in the morning was very good. Quite a variety, plus there were three employees who kept the food items stocked and the area clean. Short drive to Reliant Stadium, a Kroger grocery store, and other restaurants. Room was clean and large enough for us to spread out. There was a bedroom and another small living area which each had a TV. Desk area, love seat, and chair in living area. Good for when my wife and I wanted to watch something different. Our experience was positive and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler56287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Traveler56287,
Thank you so much for writing a review about our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We take a lot of care into our breakfast selection and I am glad you found it enjoyable. We look forward to see you again when you are in the area!
Thanks again,
Dwan Lightfoot, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

3 of us stayed at Springhill Suites in early January for the AFC Wildcard game (Texans vs. Bengals). I think the big plus is the location of this hotel. It's a leisurely 10 minute walk to Relliant Stadium, a bit longer if you've had a couple beers. The hotel is a short drive to the Medical District and as others have said there's apparently a free shuttle. It's a good walk or short drive to Rice University and Rice Shopping district. There's a CVS, a Krogers, and a Target within walking distance. The restaurant selection nearby is OK, but not the greatest. There are a bunch of Mexican style restaurants in the area and Marco's Mexican (recommended by the hotel front desk) was pretty good. There's a burger joint and some fast food chain restaurants in the area, but no real fine dining that I was aware of. We also weren't able to find a sports bar nearby. We did feel safe walking around late at night.

One thing worth noting is the hotel is about a 15 -20 minute drive to the huge Galleria shopping mall. It's got over 375 shops (most of which are very high end) and is 4th biggest in the United States. The airport is roughly 35 minutes away from the hotel.

In my view the property and it's landscaping are kept in reasonably good shape. Our room condition was OK. We had 2 Queen beds in one area, and a pull out sofa in the other. The beds were comfortable, but the pullout sofa was very uncomfortable, but I've yet to find one that isn't. We found the 2 TVs to be a useful feature. The sink near the sitting area was also useful.

The breakfast was OK, not great. We also had trouble finding seating on one of the mornings. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, although sometimes there was only one person manning the desk. This didn't cause us any problem.

All in all it was a comfortable stay, and for $109 / night for 3 of us it was good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AjaxBassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
AjaxBassman,
Thanks so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and taking the time to share your comments. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. Your business is important to us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Best regards,
Dwan Lightfoot, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

It is and older building that has been updated, but nice, quiet and clean. We never heard another person in the hallway or upstairs over the 3 day stay.The room had hot water immediately and the shower had very good water pressure. The bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. It was more space than we expected. There was a "living room" area with couch, chair, desk w/desk chair and one flatscreen TV. It had a wet bar with microwave and mini fridge and then a bedroom with dresser, another flat screen TV, king size bed and two night stands. Had an ihome clock radio so we could charge our iphone. The breakfast was good. They offered hot scambled eggs and sausage patties or cooked oatmeal. They had the usual breads, cereals, coffee fruit and juices. And, make your own hot waffles. Only negative thing was the old, rough towels. I'll ask for new ones the next time I stay here. It is close to Rice Village with shopping and restaurants, MD Anderson Medical Center, and Reliant stadium. They offer a shuttle to and from the Med Center, although we had our own car so we didn't use the service. The staff was very nice and always ready to help!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
K F,
Thanks so very much for writing a review about our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We take a lot of care into our breakfast selection and other amenities we provide and I am glad you found it enjoyable. We look forward to see you again when you are in the area!
Thanks again,
Dwan Lightfoot, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston SW-Medical Ctr Area
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#200 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Houston Medical Center
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park

Property: SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park
Address: 1400 Old Spanish Trl, Houston, TX 77054-1816 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/Reliant Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among Houston Medical Center hotels, the Springhill Suites Houston Medical Center/ NRG Park hotel offers the refreshing services you deserve. Our spacious suites are a breath of fresh air that offers modern decor in our separate bedroom and living areas that includes a mini-fridge, microwave & 32" flat screen TV. SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/ NRG Park hotel will help you revive with our new complimentary hot breakfast buffet. At this Marriott Houston hotel take advantage of the outdoor pool & whirlpool, fitness or business center & one meeting room perfect for gatherings of up to 50 people. SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center hotel is ideally located in the heart of the Texas Medical Center and NRG Park section of Bayou City. This Houston hotel is near Reliant Stadium/ NRG Park, Hermann Park Zoo and Toyota Center. With some of the friendliest staff among Houston hotels, the Springhill Suites Houston Medical Center/ NRG Park hotel is ready to exceed your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Houston Medical Center/Reliant Park Hotel Houston
Springhill Suites Reliant Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing