We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE - doesn't hold reservations, stuffs customers in crappy rooms”
Review of Omni Houston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Houston Hotel
Ranked #25 of 515 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE - doesn't hold reservations, stuffs customers in crappy rooms”
Reviewed November 12, 2010

My wife and I recently traveled to Houston to attend a friend's wedding. We had looked forward to the trip for some time since we don't have many vacation days.

When we arrived at the Omni in Houston, we were told that even though we reserved a bedroom with a king-size bed, no more rooms were available. Apparently the Omni doesn't understand the meaning of the word "reservation." After we protested, they said they actually had one king-size room left.

Unfortunately for us, the only room left was 1) on the same floor as, and just down the hall from, all of the noisy convention ballrooms, and 2) directly above the insanely loud dance club in the lobby. And although we had reserved a hypoallergenic room, the room was not hypoallergenic.

The staff were downright rude and unhelpful, as if we should be honored to hand over our money in exchange for broken promises and noisy hotel rooms. Granted, the furnishings are nice and the room is larger than at most hotels. But at midnight, when the bass and music are blaring so loudly that you can figure out the name of each song, you won't care about the size or style of the room.

Houston is a huge city with many options -- only stay at the Omni as a last resort.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hippyleftist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniHouston, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
It was with mixed emotions with which I read your comments. While feedback from our guests is always welcome and of significant value, I was disturbed by our failure to meet the high standards we strive to maintain and of which you have every right to expect at Omni Houston Hotel.

It is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service, and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of our own high standards. Let me simply say that all of us here at the Omni Houston are able to provide much better and more pleasant experience for our guests than what you had the misfortune of experiencing.

My apologies for an unfortunate experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    475
    162
    83
    64
See reviews for
409
430
76
761
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2010

The best thing about the Hotel is the location, a few blocks from great shopping and dinning. I would recommend this Hotel for leisure as well as for business travel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avrsalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniHouston, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. Look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

In a nutshell, stay somewhere else.

For $130 a night, does NOT include:

Parking: $15 extra
Internet: $10 extra
No breakfast: Continental Breakfast cost $18.95 plus tax
No vending machines in the building. If you want a 12 oz coke can, prepare to pay $3.25
No Hair dryers in rooms.
Awful, staticey TV's, no HD barley a signal.

Rooms are well decorated, but for the money you can get something better for a lot less. I will not be staying at an Omni again. It is obvious they are here to gouge their customers and not concerned with providing the best customer experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwdross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniHouston, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We listen and read all guest feedback and review with the management team. We are a full service hotel providing many services. We have parking options that include complimentary parking. We offer daily coffee service and free WIFI if you sign up for our loyalty program (no charge to join). We have a Gift Shop in the hotel for additional treats. We have service staff on duty 24 hours a day to take care of all your needs. Thank you so much for staying with us. Feel free to contact me should need further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our 10 year anniversary. The hotel's campus is absolutely beautiful, and very quiet. It almost makes you think you are not in Houston! The lobby is also amazing, with great, quiet sitting areas. The room was ordinary, but had an awesome bathroom! For your convenience, there was a fully stocked in-room bar with snacks, very good idea! We spent a couple nights at the Noe bar, which is inside the Omni. It was nice, the drinks were great, but nothing too spectacular. The staff let us know that they were unable to upgrade us to a suite due to them all being booked, but they did send us a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries to our room for our anniversary. What a nice surprise! As far as parking, they do have additional parking which is free a short distance from the hotel. But we soon learned that it was much more convenient to park yourself for $12 a day! It is worth it, it is right across from the main entrance to the hotel. They also have valet parking, although I am unsure of the daily rate. Also, if you are into Starbucks in the morning, they have a coffee shop in the hotel. But it is hidden! We didn't find it until the day before we left!! Dang it!! Look for it by the entrance to the pool.

All in all, I loved this hotel! It is nestled right in the high end galleria area of Houston. Now I'm not a city girl, so at times, I felt out of place with some of the other guests, but the staff always made us feel welcome. Thank you Omni!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celiamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniHouston, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed here for 2 Nights during family function, Did not really spend much time in the hotel. I do have to say the Lobby and dinning room area was top notch. The rooms were large and Clean, Great beds, Liens and just really great room.

PROBLEM :
The service on the other hand was another story.....Need to get on line and I am Points member which allows me free internet in the rooms. It was for work so pretty impt. Internet was down in the room, called the front desk and they told me to call the help desk.....so called the help desk. They told me there must be a problem (REALLY, I think so that is why I am calling the HELP DESK. The help desk told me to call the front desk there was nothing they could do on their end. Once again called the front desk.....Their answer was 'You can just come down to the lobby and do your work down here we have Free WiFi'.

Packed everything up and went to the Lobby and they have a desk there. So spread all my work papers all over so I could finish...They then tell me I can not sit there. JUST OVER ALL REALLY CONFUSED....Glad they were helpful!

FOOD:
The food was really good, have to give them that! Room service was great!

The hotel is not far from the airport, Great Parking, Large Lobby (BUT I GUESS NOT MENT FOR SITTING).

Over all Really Nice hotel, but Poor customer service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktee036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniHouston, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
First off, Thank you for the positive comments. Our apologies on how the WIFI situation was handled. I have reviewed your comments with the managers of the hotel. We strive to provide excellent customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Rooms were nice, clean and updated. The workout facility was small but very nice. Convenient location. We will definitely stay there the next time we are in Houston.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wifimaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Stayed here for 3 N. and felt like we were at a resort. The staff and service were superb, the surroundings beautiful, the restaurant fantastic ( breakfast) and the rooms beautiful. We attended a wedding at the hotel- which was incredible from start to finish-every detail attended to in style, and the food for well over 300 guests was delicious - can you believe it? We couldn't! Exercise room clean and well maintained with towels, ice water and apples, Tv's on equipment, gorgeous pool, ice water with lemon and apples in the lobby, self park for half the price of valet immediately in front of hotel-easy. Just a perfect stay! The maitre d and the waiters in the restaurant for a fabulous made to order breakfast were unbelievable. Remembering our name the next day, serving coffee, but changing the cup to a hot cup before I returned from the buffet, delicious food and impeccable service. We felt like we were at a 5 star resort in another country but in the US. Stay here! We even got an incredible deal they had for staying 3N at $94/N! Almost half what we pay for a Marriott Courtyard or Hampton Inn for SO MUCH MORE. stay here! Gorgeous lobby. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. Join the Select Guest club for free and get free internet and many extra personalized services during your stay. Gorgeous pool.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlovetheCaribbeannow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 515 in Houston
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Great Uptown
The St. Regis Houston
The St. Regis Houston
#29 of 515 in Houston
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Houston Hotel

Property: Omni Houston Hotel
Address: 4 Riverway, Houston, TX 77056-1915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Houston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#24 Family Hotel in Houston
#27 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Houston Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a luxurious oasis at the Omni Houston Hotel. Situated on impeccably manicured grounds, the Houston Galleria hotel features the finest in Houston accommodations with 378 spacious guest rooms, including 33 luxury suites, all with sensational views of the city or pool area. Enjoy the nightlife at Black Swan. The Omni Houston Hotel is centrally located in the prestigious Uptown Post Oak/Galleria area and is just minutes from all of the excitement that Houston, Texas has to offer. You are just 10 minutes by car from the central business district and 30 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport or 25 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport. Of course, our exceptional amenities and four-diamond service may make it hard to leave your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Houston
Omni Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing