We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful property, bad experience”
Review of Omni Houston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Houston Hotel
Ranked #25 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

(If you want to read the summary it is the last paragraph) I have been to this hotel for weddings, high tea, conventions and a weekend get away with my husband. The property is beautiful and located among the trees and a hill on Buffalo Bayou. We booked a Sunday Spa package with a deluxe room, a massage,late 4 pm check out and a credit in their dining room. We arrived on Saturday at noon and the 4th floor room was beautiful, the front desk very friendly and hospitable. The pool wasn't heated, we defaulted to a small indoor jacuzzi that was over run by children who had come to swim. The casual dining room wasn't open and we were directed to to the bar, the bartender said it wasn't 1pm and she couldn't serve us yet. We ended up in the high end restaurant for lunch. Sleeping was impossible, at 10:30pm a woman was scoulding a screaming child in the hall (I guess in an effort to not wake a sibling in the room). At midnight the area outside on the first floor patio had a couple smoking and talking loudly. At 1:30 am a loud drunk crowd bustled down the hall. Falling asleep again, about 3 am another drunk crowd came through and woke us up. We didn't call the front desk because we had no desire to change rooms at 3am. They were supposed to deliver coffee to the room at 8 am and did not. I called room service and they said they would send it, I called back they said the left it outside the room and knocked on the door. They had not. They finally got it to us by 9 am. The spa was beautiful!!! The next afternoon, we had booked a couples massage and it was a transcendental experience. The therapist were first class and gave us relaxing massages, offered us champagne, juice or tea and light snacks. We relaxed in their whirlpool and sauna. Leaving the spa, we were starved and moved to the casual restaurant. It was 2:30 and they told us they were closing. The reluctantly served us and attempted to charge our meal to the room. The waiter came back and told us we had been checked out (all of our belongings were in the room and we were locked out. We had to go to the front desk and inform them that we had a package with 4pm checkout. They gave us new room keys, charged the lunch to our room and told us we could" take as much time as we needed to leave the room." I went to my room and decided to go and get a detailed bill of our charges. I took the stairs which exited outside the hotel. It had rained the concrete outside the door was slippery and I did the splits on the concrete. I filed all of my complaints at the front desk and they issued a $100 credit, which is not enough for all of the disappointment. My husband had called the valet for the car. The car arrived and they had not charged the parking to our room and we had closed out. My husband went inside to pay for the valet. The valets and bell men were all standing around talking while I sloughed my luggage into the trunk. After in the car, we saw the valet had left mud in the carpeting of our freshly cleaned car. I will say we were very disappointed.

Summary, *the pool wasn't heated, *the restaurant wasn't open,* bartender was rude and wouldn't serve us food, *doors and windows thin (noise all night),*they didn't deliver the 8 am coffee that was scheduled, *they checked us out before our time ended resulting in extra trips to the front desk,* the concrete slippery,* the valets ignored me as I loaded our luggage, *they forgot to bill the parking (another trip to the front desk) and *they got mud on the carpet of our car. You would think an Omni would have it together and offer the service and luxury expected.

Room Tip: Maybe this was an off weekend. Beautiful location, BIG disappointment!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JscottHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Operations at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in providing the best possible customer service and a superior experience to every guest, and I am VERY sorry you had these issues in our hotel. It sounds like we had multiple opportunities while you were here to change the direction of your challenging stay. Please accept my sincere apology. I would love to hear from you directly, would you mind e-mailing me at ccoleman@omnihotels.com? Thank you for the nice comments about our Mokara Spa and I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,618 - 1,624 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is very conveniently located in the Galleria area, yet somewhat isolated and out of the hustle and bustle. My wife and I arrived on a Sunday evening for a week-long stay ... business for me and pleasure for her. The bellmen and valets were efficient and courteous. We were greeted in the lobby with a glass of champagne and a quick check-in ... both of which were very much appreciated. Our 3rd floor room was small; but luxurious, clean, and quite comfortable. During the entire week of our stay, we found the staff to be extremely friendly and accommodating ... attentive to all of our needs. Overall, the Omni was a very pleasant lodging experience and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

We are so glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience during your week at the Omni Houston Hotel. We know it isn't always easy to be away from home for an extended period of time so we are happy the staff made you feel so welcomed. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Houston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

In some ways, the Omni Hotel is typical of the kind of business hotel I used to stay in 20 or 30 years ago. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, well furnished and suitable for a business person wanting to work quietly in spare moments outside of the office. The hotel has a restaurant, a bar, a well equipped gym and an outdoor pool. The hotel boasts conference facilities and a ballroom for functions. With our visit coinciding with the Christmas holiday season, we saw several parties take place and there was a festive atmosphere to the place. The elevators were very efficient and we never waited more than a few seconds for one to arrive. The breakfast buffet was very good with freshly cooked omelettes to order. Finally, the staff were simply outstanding; friendly, helpful and full of smiles and willing to go the extra mile to provide good service. Full marks all round for that but now on to the minus points…

Although the lobby area is very large and welcoming, other parts of the hotel look a bit tired and show their age. For example, the dominant colour scheme throughout the hotel appears to be brown. This may have been the standard a few years ago and presumably it's supposed to give the hotel a sober, business atmosphere but to me it felt a bit gloomy. Our room, although very comfortable also showed its age, particularly in the bathroom where some of the fittings seem old fashioned. For example the shower head looked as if it had seen better days and had a low water flow. The lever that switched the water between bath and shower was temperamental and it took me some time to get the shower working properly. The shower curtain seemed dull because it was coloured a light brown in line with the overall theme. Compared to modern business (and even budget) hotels in Europe, the décor in the Omni falls way behind the competition.

Hidden costs: Mrs G and I arrived at the Omni after a stressful arrival at the airport, transit through immigration and a car drive into Houston at peak traffic time. We just wanted to get to our room and relax so opted for valet parking on arrival… at 24 dollars per night as we discovered later. Self parking is a bit cheaper costing 17 dollars a night. You could argue that secure parking in other US cities (and most major European cities) comes at a similar price but somehow it just seemed excessive. I didn't realise until reading through some of the hints just now on Tripadvisor that free parking is available somewhere around the back of the hotel. Not sure how safe this option would be, especially at night.

The major rip off however is the charge for wi-fi access to the internet. More and more hotels (both quality and budget) offer cheap rate or even free internet access but the Omni charges 9.95 dollars per day except there is a catch that isn't obvious or made clear. The charge is actually 9.95 dollars per day per DEVICE. So Mrs G and I had connected with two different laptops plus a smartphone. Three devices at 9.95 per connection… kerching! To give the hotel some credit, we were able to negate the charges racked up over one week by signing up to a loyalty scheme (more junk mail on the way presumably) but seriously?

If my review seems over negative, it's not meant to be. I did enjoy my stay at the Omni and would stay there again, but I'd be interested to see how it compares with other hotels in Houston. Compared to European hotels, the Omni has a lot to learn in terms of general décor and ambience but on the other hand, the Omni could teach European hotels a thing or two about customer service. Overall I enjoyed the stay but those extra charges... ouch!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a thorough and thoughtful review. We are very glad that overall your stay was a good one and that the customer service you received was so outstanding. We appreciate your feedback on both the decor and costs as we use all feedback as a means to assess the overall experience we provide for our guests and make changes when needed. We are happy to hear that the front desk was able to take care of the WIFI charges for you as we do not want any guest to feel that we are not being upfront about our costs. You may certainly opt out of our Select Guest Program so as not to receive any of our promotional e-mails. However, as a member of the Omni Select Guest Program you are also eligible to earn stays though our partner, the Global Hotel Alliance, which has many 4 and 5 Star properties throughout Europe. Again, thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again on your next trip to Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you are looking for a nice hotel a little off the beaten path - the Omni is a good choice. It's in the heart of Houston, but on a big piece of property with plenty of green space (albeit part of a business park). The facilities and rooms are top notch. My only beef is that the service is not quite as crisp as I would expect for a hotel of this caliber.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATXMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay at the Omni Houston Hotel. We're glad you found the facilities and rooms to be top notch. We are, however, disappointed to hear that the service was not as crisp as you nor we would expect. We take great pride in our level of service and hope that your next stay at our property hits all the marks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Love the Omni! This hotel has been always been great. The location is fabulous for shopping! No problems with noise, easy check in, and check out. We stayed for a 40th birthday celebration (2 nights) and had fun going to dinner and shopping. Check out the Black Swan, it was an amazing time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winejunkie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your review...we're glad it was such an amazing time and hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spent almost 2 weeks in the hotel. Staff was so helpful & had a free room upgrade. Everything was well planned and organized, check-in/out didnt take a few minutes. Good variety for breakfast. 30 minutes walking distanve from downtown and good shopping spots like Galleria Houston. Nice forest scenery from the room. Would recommend to any business traveller visiting houston.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fahmkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your review and for choosing to spend two weeks at our hotel! We're glad you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Houston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

First of all, we did fill out the comment card however we got no reply from management!! So now that we had no reply from them,we decided to write this review on trip advisor!! We decided to wait for their concern but they didn't!! So here it is!!
Overall it was a gorgeous resort! The only thing we have to complain about is room service and maid service!! The first day we got there, we got our sparkling wine with truffles and on time!! However the next 2 days the room wasn't done at a normal time!! We had to call or go to the front desk at least twice to advise them!! And for our alloted time to get our wine and cheese plate for the next 2 days it was suppose to arrive at 4pm and we remember that one day we had to call 3 times to get it delivered but it came at 7 pm!! When we are on vacation we don't believe we have to do their job!! It was extremely irritating!! However overall,front desk,restaurant and the whole staff were very
Warm and friendly!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzypoo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. We apologize that you never received a response to your comment card as it unfortunately did not make it to our management team. We value every piece of feedback we receive from our guests and always try to respond in a timely manner. We are very disappointed to hear of the difficulties and frustrations you experienced with room service and housekeeping and this feedback has been forwarded to our Director of Housekeeping and Director of Food & Beverage to address with their teams. We are glad to hear that, despite these issues, your overall experience was a good one and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
Days Inn Houston-Galleria TX
#168 of 517 in Houston
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#4 of 517 in Houston
878 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 517 in Houston
2,080 reviews
Westchase
Hilton Houston Westchase
Hilton Houston Westchase
#90 of 517 in Houston
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Houston Hotel

Address: 4 Riverway, Houston, TX 77056-1915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Houston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#19 Family Hotel in Houston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#27 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $182 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Houston Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to Hurricane Harvey, Omni Houston Hotel is currently closed. Discover a luxurious oasis at the Omni Houston Hotel. Situated on impeccably manicured grounds, the Houston Galleria hotel features the finest in Houston accommodations with 378 spacious guest rooms, including 33 luxury suites, all with sensational views of the city or pool area. Enjoy the nightlife at Black Swan. The Omni Houston Hotel is centrally located in the prestigious Uptown Post Oak/Galleria area and is just minutes from all of the excitement that Houston, Texas has to offer. You are just 10 minutes by car from the central business district and 30 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport or 25 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport. Of course, our exceptional amenities and four-diamond service may make it hard to leave your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Houston
Omni Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing