We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni Oasis”
Review of Omni Houston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Houston Hotel
Ranked #21 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Omni Oasis”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Houston in late August can be, well, miserably hot. The Omni makes a 107 degree day more bearable. The property is centrally located (about 2 miles from the Galleria) and while it sits close to major roads, the surrounding trees and the fact the property sits back makes it very pleasant. The room I had (1110) was spacious, clean, with a comfy bed and a decent size bathroom.

The rooms and property are a little older, but tha is not a detraction. Self-parking is a 30 second walk to the front door of the hotel and it is covered, so no need to valet park. The staff is very helpful and check-in and out went smoothly. The hotel has a small gift shop which serves Starbucks drinks and a more formal dinner restaurant. One work about dining: the dinner memu was somewhat limited and if you do not plan to dine at the property you will need to drive. Other good restaurants are whinin a 2 mile radius - just be advised!

The hotel has a real outdoor pool (one you can actually swim in) and a three-year old spa. I had one treatment at the spa and found the price reasonable, the service relaxing and the staff very courteous. The spa is not that large and doesn't have all the bells and whisltles that you would find at a Ritz Cartlon or Four Seasons spa. This again is not really a negative, just an FYI.

The business center is small and charges a fee to use the internet - a pet peeve of mine. Comeon Omni join Hilton and Hyatt and start offering free internet!

In summary, this property is functional, quiet, with great staff and a decent location.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Omni Houston Hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing you again. The hotel does offer free internet access for our Select Guest members, and the program is free to join for anyone. We appreciate your time and business. Thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    456
    151
    76
    59
See reviews for
367
404
71
722
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Omni is a great find in this area. Super easy access to Memorial Park so great if you want to get out for an early run or people watching. Rooms are large with great decor. Pool area loked great...wish I had time to use those facilities!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyoffourdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Spent 2 nights at the Omni during a business trip.
Lavish if a bit of a hodgepodge styled lobby, nice, big rooms with nicely sized bathrooms.
Pillows not luxuriously fluffy, which was a bit disappointing. Cafe on the Green provides acceptable breakfast and lunch options. The tortilla soup with avocado is especially good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Great Omni experience. I am a "black" level. This hotel gave me a full bottle of very nice mid-tier chard and cheese plate on arrival. I love the free pressing of my clothes, and free continental breakfast.

As usual all the employees are great. The hotel is nicely updated, the only thing they can't change are the small baths. Nice pool, health club. They charge for parking, which kind of irks me. Overall, not a deal killer. Very close to the Galleria and 6 miles from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayfarer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here last week for local family event. We were satisfied with our first room, (layout, cleanliness, and view) until we tried to go sleep that night. Our room was a connected room (with a door) and the guests on the other side of the door on several occasions woke us up during the night (talking and laughing all night). We were so tired from travelling and being in the exhausting heat that day, we slept intermittently through the night. I mentioned the disturbance to the front desk the next day and after requesting a move, they relocated us to a different room (not as nice though) that did not have a connecting door. Room was quiet. Early one evening, we had dinner in the restaurant downstairs "Noe" and we found it very good. All and all, it was a nice place and the staff was courteous and helpful. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icestation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you very much for your review of the hotel. We are glad to hear that the front desk was able to assist you with a room move, and next time feel free to contact us and we can send up security to ask the guests to quiet down. We hope you are able to join us the next time you return to Houston. Thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My wife and I just spent an unpleasant weekend at the Omni Houston Riverway.

Greeting us for a nice first impression on arrival were two male guests walking down the hall and getting on the elevator without their shirts on, and there were McDonald’s bags on the foyer table on our floor.

At 2 AM Sunday, there were guests yelling (either partying or fighting) loudly in in our hallway. After about fifteen minutes, I opened our room door and shouted "Quiet, Please". One man responded with a stream of obsenities and started down the hall towards our room in a threatening manner. I locked our room door quickly. We tried to call Security, the Front Desk and the Concierge, but AMAZINGLY the hotel does not answer any of its lines at night (cost savings measure?). I did not call 911 simply because I did not want to get caught up in a major police incident. I was afraid to leave my room to go to the lobby to complain, so I guess we were prisoners in our room.

Plus, our room was hot at night (this is not a good thing in humid Houston). We kept setting the air conditioning lower and lower, finally giving up at a setting of 67 degrees, and our room remained uncomfortably warm all night.

Fittingly, for nice final impressions at departure, there were McDonald’s bags on the decorator table by the front door when we left on Sunday. Plus, as we started for the parking garage, the hotel valet took my wife's rolling suitcase, literally from her hand, without asking, in essence forcing us to use him and tip him.

We will not be returning to this hotel, and suggest you look elsewhere as well.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pete f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your review. We apologize for this incident and are looking into why there was not an answer when you called as we do have staff on duty 24 hours a day. We have reached out to you to get further details and to ensure that this incident will not be repeated. Thank you for letting us know about this, and we hope that if you return to Houston you are able to join us to see that this is not an ongoing issue but a onetime incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The hotel is a beautiful facility at the edge of Memorial park. It was a little hard to find. The room was spacious, modern and well equipped. The gym and pools were modern and well maintained. Breakfast was included in the bed and breakfast rate. Breakfast in the Cafe was excellent, might be one of the best hotel breakfast places in town.
There was free self parking garage behind the hotel. It was a long walk back to the hotel. The parking was shared with the surrounding office buildings so it was confusing as where the hotel guests could park.
There was errors on my bill where I was charged for breakfast even though I paid for the rate which includes breakfast. When notified, the reception clerk corrected the error promptly.
Would like to go back next time with grandchildren. They would definitely enjoy the pool!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your review of the hotel. The hotel does have several parking options, including valet and paid self parking which is located right outside the front door. The complimentary parking is near the back of the hotel, but is a quick walk to the main building. We hope that you and your grandchildren are able to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Houston Hotel

Property: Omni Houston Hotel
Address: 4 Riverway, Houston, TX 77056-1915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Houston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#24 Family Hotel in Houston
#27 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Houston Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a luxurious oasis at the Omni Houston Hotel. Situated on impeccably manicured grounds, the Houston Galleria hotel features the finest in Houston accommodations with 378 spacious guest rooms, including 33 luxury suites, all with sensational views of the city or pool area. Enjoy the nightlife at Black Swan. The Omni Houston Hotel is centrally located in the prestigious Uptown Post Oak/Galleria area and is just minutes from all of the excitement that Houston, Texas has to offer. You are just 10 minutes by car from the central business district and 30 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport or 25 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport. Of course, our exceptional amenities and four-diamond service may make it hard to leave your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Houston
Omni Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing