We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni Houston Stay”
Review of Omni Houston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Houston Hotel
Ranked #27 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Omni Houston Stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here last week for local family event. We were satisfied with our first room, (layout, cleanliness, and view) until we tried to go sleep that night. Our room was a connected room (with a door) and the guests on the other side of the door on several occasions woke us up during the night (talking and laughing all night). We were so tired from travelling and being in the exhausting heat that day, we slept intermittently through the night. I mentioned the disturbance to the front desk the next day and after requesting a move, they relocated us to a different room (not as nice though) that did not have a connecting door. Room was quiet. Early one evening, we had dinner in the restaurant downstairs "Noe" and we found it very good. All and all, it was a nice place and the staff was courteous and helpful. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icestation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you very much for your review of the hotel. We are glad to hear that the front desk was able to assist you with a room move, and next time feel free to contact us and we can send up security to ask the guests to quiet down. We hope you are able to join us the next time you return to Houston. Thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    468
    161
    83
    64
See reviews for
394
424
75
752
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My wife and I just spent an unpleasant weekend at the Omni Houston Riverway.

Greeting us for a nice first impression on arrival were two male guests walking down the hall and getting on the elevator without their shirts on, and there were McDonald’s bags on the foyer table on our floor.

At 2 AM Sunday, there were guests yelling (either partying or fighting) loudly in in our hallway. After about fifteen minutes, I opened our room door and shouted "Quiet, Please". One man responded with a stream of obsenities and started down the hall towards our room in a threatening manner. I locked our room door quickly. We tried to call Security, the Front Desk and the Concierge, but AMAZINGLY the hotel does not answer any of its lines at night (cost savings measure?). I did not call 911 simply because I did not want to get caught up in a major police incident. I was afraid to leave my room to go to the lobby to complain, so I guess we were prisoners in our room.

Plus, our room was hot at night (this is not a good thing in humid Houston). We kept setting the air conditioning lower and lower, finally giving up at a setting of 67 degrees, and our room remained uncomfortably warm all night.

Fittingly, for nice final impressions at departure, there were McDonald’s bags on the decorator table by the front door when we left on Sunday. Plus, as we started for the parking garage, the hotel valet took my wife's rolling suitcase, literally from her hand, without asking, in essence forcing us to use him and tip him.

We will not be returning to this hotel, and suggest you look elsewhere as well.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pete f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your review. We apologize for this incident and are looking into why there was not an answer when you called as we do have staff on duty 24 hours a day. We have reached out to you to get further details and to ensure that this incident will not be repeated. Thank you for letting us know about this, and we hope that if you return to Houston you are able to join us to see that this is not an ongoing issue but a onetime incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The hotel is a beautiful facility at the edge of Memorial park. It was a little hard to find. The room was spacious, modern and well equipped. The gym and pools were modern and well maintained. Breakfast was included in the bed and breakfast rate. Breakfast in the Cafe was excellent, might be one of the best hotel breakfast places in town.
There was free self parking garage behind the hotel. It was a long walk back to the hotel. The parking was shared with the surrounding office buildings so it was confusing as where the hotel guests could park.
There was errors on my bill where I was charged for breakfast even though I paid for the rate which includes breakfast. When notified, the reception clerk corrected the error promptly.
Would like to go back next time with grandchildren. They would definitely enjoy the pool!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your review of the hotel. The hotel does have several parking options, including valet and paid self parking which is located right outside the front door. The complimentary parking is near the back of the hotel, but is a quick walk to the main building. We hope that you and your grandchildren are able to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is just minutes from the Galleria and other shopping centers. Several restaurants in our hotel and nearby as well. There are black swans in the pond at our hotel, they are beautiful! The pools look great but we didn't bring our suits. I recommend for people staying here to bring their swim suits. The parking is a little pricy at $16/night. Otherwise a great place to stay and I've loved all the Omni's I've stayed at before.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qtess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed four nights at the Omni Hotel, having found a good rate on Priceline.com. The hotel staff was uniformly excellent. The breakfast (we had a child's coupon) was terrific, with excellent coffee. The hotel is in a park setting along with several surrounding apartment high rises. It overlooks a superb pool and a pond where black swans swim. The lobby is huge and encourages you to linger. My only criticism was we had to have two beds and no queen size bed was offered. If queen size beds are available, then it is an irresistible value for a family. It's easily accessible off Interstate 10 and 610, and is near the Galleria. If you don't have a car, the hotel courtesy SUV and Town Car will drop you off or pick you up. The concierge service was as you would expect - superb. I can't think of a criticism. Try it.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mac6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This hotel is secluded from the "hustle and bustle" of Houston. But, the hotel is very close to attractions like the Galleria. Our room was very spacious that had an amazing view of downtown Houston. The best things about the hotel were the pool and lobby. Omni's Select Guest program gave us a bunch of perks such as free high speed internet, complimentary bottled water, and complimentary drinks in the morning. It also gives you a chance to say what preferences of the room you would want. The front desk was very informative and helped us with the free parking garage in the back.

Room Tip: Register for the Select Guest program for perks of your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovemyscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you very much for the great comments about your stay at the Omni Houston Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and are glad to hear that the staff was very helpful as well as the benefits of the Omni Select Guest program. We hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Booked a weekend 'staycation' at hotwire.com and got a great rate. We stayed at the hotel once before many years ago and remembered it to be very nice. There are a lot of good things going for the hotel but it could be much better!

PROS:
*Very nice park like setting. Lots of space and trees surround the property so you don't feel like you are in the city.
*Great rates on the weekend
*Free morning beverages delivered to your room and free WIFI with Omni Select Guest program
*Nice Gym - recent 'Precor' treadmills with built in entertainment/television system on each unit.
*Comfortable bed
*Nice waffle robes in room
*Room Service breakfast was quick and food was delicious
*Front desk staff very friendly and helpful


CONS:
*Free parking is a long walk from hotel (especially in the Houston heat!)
*Rooms are not very clean. The basics are taken care of but you can tell there is no plan for details. There was lots of dust behind all the furniture, mold/mildew on shower tiles, dirt at edges of all walls/carpet. The glass insets on the tops of the dressers, desk etc had prints on the under sides along with some dirt/debris like hairpins, lint, hair under the glass. The furniture knobs and drawer fronts were dusty/dirty. The floor under the sink in the bathroom didn't look clean - looked like they clean the main area of the floor but don't go under the sink. In general the room felt like it needed a very deep and thorough cleaning.
*Public areas not kept clean. The pool looked trashed all weekend - lots of abondoned towels, cups, cans, glasses, food trays left all around. Chairs left in disarray all day, no one was there to maintain the area. Also noticed this in areas of the hotel lobby. Seems like they need a housekeeper assigned to all of these areas to 'maintain' during the day. There is a lot of activity but no one to keep up with things.
*Guests were allowed to bring coolers to the pool area. This does not create a luxury hotel atmosphere but more of a backyard party.
*Hotel attendants that answered the phone when would call down for something were not very service oriented. For example, we called to request that our evening turn down service be done between 7-8pm while we were out of the room at dinner. The attendant took the request but seemed put out. She then called back a few minutes later and told me that turn down services were completed between 6pm and 9:30pm but there would be no special requests for a specific time frame.
*Lobby has a midew odor.
*Alarm clock missing from our room (there was no clock anywhere)
*Iron missing from our room (there was a holder for an iron mounted on the wall in the closet along with an ironing board and starch, but no iron).
*Ice bucket and glasses missing from our room
*Room service trays and carts with dirty dishes lined the hallways at all hours of the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovewestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 510 in Houston
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 510 in Houston
1,659 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Houston Hotel

Property: Omni Houston Hotel
Address: 4 Riverway, Houston, TX 77056-1915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Houston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#24 Family Hotel in Houston
#27 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Houston Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a luxurious oasis at the Omni Houston Hotel. Situated on impeccably manicured grounds, the Houston Galleria hotel features the finest in Houston accommodations with 378 spacious guest rooms, including 33 luxury suites, all with sensational views of the city or pool area. Enjoy the nightlife at Black Swan. The Omni Houston Hotel is centrally located in the prestigious Uptown Post Oak/Galleria area and is just minutes from all of the excitement that Houston, Texas has to offer. You are just 10 minutes by car from the central business district and 30 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport or 25 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport. Of course, our exceptional amenities and four-diamond service may make it hard to leave your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Houston
Omni Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing