We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria
Ranked #40 of 516 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“OK?”
Reviewed July 20, 2007

First, it is not BY the Galleria. It is somewhat near the Galleria and is quite a hike in hot and sweaty Houston.

I recently spent 5 nights there while on business and have mixed feelings.

The entrance is right on the street and is two car widths wide. Not much room to load/unload. And the hotel itself is right next to a 6-8 lane interstate. More on this later.

Check-in was fast and courteous. The room was somewhat small and was furnished in typical Marriott although it was clean. The bed was overly firm and not up to the usual Marriott standards. My room was at the very end of the hall next to the interstate, lots of road noise. It must be a problem for a lot of guests since there was a pair of hotel furnished earplugs on the night stand!!

The strangest thing about the place were the eating arrangements. The restaurant was open for breakfast and lunch with overpriced buffets and a very limited menu. The menu consists of a couple of salads and a couple of sandwiches. So if you don't want the buffet you better want a cheeseburger or a club sandwich. The restaurant is closed for dinner and if you want to eat in you have to eat in the bar with the same limited menu with the excpetion they offer a $30+ ribeye steak. Room service was quick and the food hot but you had to really want that cheeseburger or club sandwich because that was all there was except for a couple of salads. If you want to eat out you will have to walk quite a distance to get to any restaurants

There was a charge for internet. I didn't have a car but there is a garage attached to the hotel. The area is kinda sterile with little to see if you go out for a walk. I would not recommend the place for anything but business travel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Eating choices
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KCMA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    203
    77
    34
    23
See reviews for
79
76
44
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

We stayed at the hotel March 10, 2007 during the rodeo. We hava a child and the only reason we chose this hotel over some of the other hotels was because it had an indoor pool. After the rodeo my child wanted to go swimming but we were not allowed because the area next to the pool was being used for a wedding, so they blocked the pool and sauna to the rest of the people staying at the hotel. It wasn't written anywhere on any of their literature that the pool is closed for weddings or special events. They don't advise you of that and I feel that people (especially with kids) should know that the pool may not be available before they choose this hotel. The bathroom wasn't very clean , the room was tiny and the service wasn't that great either.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Not being truthful about their amenities
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyboomerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

We booked on the hotel's website, which offers great deals particularly if booked in advance.

We had a room with 2 queen beds, 2 breakfasts, valet parking and a gift certificate for $50 in the Galleria mall all for $159 (Feb 07)! Amazing value!

Not too much to say really, good check-in, good quality coffee and coffee maker in room, pool nice and breakfast very good. As we were there for a Saturday morning there was an omelette bar.

Good facilities for printing out your Boarding Pass in the business suite next to the breakfast room.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2006

Overbooked hotels in the area forced me to stay 1 night at the Marriott at the modest rate of $250 plus Internet, etc.

Usually Marriotts have very comfortable beds and this one was no exception. The front-desk staff was helpful and allowed us to check in early, even pick our room. Most have horrible or no views at all, we opted for one overlooking the freeway. Not pretty, but better than a wall. We were on the 7th floor and had no trouble with street noise.

Tried the room service, which was delicious and of course insanely expensive. Internet connection worked well, however as we were given late checkout the Internet connection had to be renewed (another $9.95), which didn't happen. Instead I got overcharged $150 and had to make 3 calls to the hotel afterwards to get it straigtened out. The hotel's responses started with denial and ended with apologies. That could have been handed a bit smoother.

Valet and bell staff friendly and helpful. Parking is either valet or paid self parking in nearby garage, accessible via hotel, but bring your walking shoes.

I recommend trying nearby restaurant Ouisies Table. It's nearby (by car) and very good. While I would definitely go back to the restaurant, this particular Marriott would not be at the top of my list thanks to the price, room size and view, and parking.

  • Liked — The comfort of the room, especially the bed.
  • Disliked — Location by freeway, no views and billing problems.
  • Tips/Secrets — High floor to avoid noise from below. Close to freeway is noiser, but has more light.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank propete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2006

Usual excellent Marriott standards but with exceptionallly friendly staff. Bar meals fairly standard but adequate. Parking a bit of a walk inside the hotel but quite acceptable and convenient. For an easy break, try the Greek restaurant walking distance down the street. ( Yia Yia or something similar-- sorry I didn't make a note!!) Food is very good value and quality. Shuttle to the Mall is easy!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Its a bit of a trip to get downtown but worth a visit. Red Cat Cafe worth a visit
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jonboyjacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

I just stayed two days at this hotel over the Thanksgiving weekend. I received a great rate of $71.00 per night on the hotel's website. I've noticed that this hotel frequently has great rates on the weekend.

For a reduced rate, this hotel was excellent. It's an older property - - built in the early - mid 1970's at least - - it not a little older. I would not pay the rack rate for this hotel and there usually is no need to do so if you do your homework.

Service: excellent. Every staff member was polite, professional, and helpful.

Decor: Dated and in need of an update - - but in good repair. Nothing was worn out, broken, or dirty.

Room size: adequate room - - about average for a corporate hotel these days. It was not huge, but not cramped either. The room had all of the usual ammenities but did not have a mini bar or laptop safe. It was equipped with high speed internet for a fee of $9.95 per day.

Views: This hotel is surrounded by other buildings so you won't get much of a view in most rooms. My room overlooked the wall of the parking garage next door. Limited direct light into the room.

Cleanliness: Very clean - - everywhere I went, the hotel was clean and in good repair. My room and bath were very clean.

Bed: excellent. this hotel has the new Marriott bed and it's very comfortable.

Restaurants: I did not use the hotel's restaurants as there were lots of options in the immediate area.

Concierge Lounge: Fairly typical of Marriott Concierge Lounges. It was clean, comfortable and offered a very nice breakfast buffet.

Parking: $10.00 per day for self parking in a connected garage.

Location: Very good but not excellent. It's about a 20-25 minute walk to the Galleria Mall and about 15 minutes to the stores and restaurants on Post Oak. It's about a 7 to 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants at Uptown Park. All-in-all, this is a good location that allows you to walk to lots of shopping and restaurants - - although you'll be the only one on the sidewalk. People just don't walk anywhere in Houston.

You can stay at the Westin Hotels at the Galleria or the JW Marriott at the Galleria - - or at the Hilton on Post Oak which puts you right in the middle of all the shops and restaurants there, but you'll pay a lot more. The 15 - 25 minute walk was not a problem for me as the weather was excellent. Also, the hotel has a complimentary shuttle that runs at scheduled times that can take you to the Galleria and back.

In summary, if you're willing to give up newer, more upscale furnishings and be a few minutes' walk away from shopping, this is an excellent choice. It's clean and comfortable with excellent service. I will definitely stay at this hotel if the occasion arises - - as long as I can get a discounted rate.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, and comfortable accomodations for a very low price
  • Disliked — Decor was dated
  • Tips/Secrets — Check the hotel's website for weekend specials
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mid_West_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2006

The lobby are nice, check-in went smoothly. We upgraded to a executive suite so it's nice size room, but the regular room on the same floor look cramped (my brother-in-law stay there also). The coffee maker with coffee and tea and a very large work desk was a very nice touch. The carpet looks very warm and soiled in different placed. The traffic notice is not bad, but the heater/AC made horrible noise when it's turn on, I'm surprised that my kids did not waken up by that.
Room Service for dinner was fine, but next morning for breakfast, they did not bring half the order first time, come back again, still missing the milk for kids and the butter for bread. They apologized and took care the tab for that.
Staff are all very nice and helpful, in-door swimming pool and hot tub are great, since we have the whole place to ourselves both night when we went down there.
Overall it's a nice hotel, but I won't pay full price for that.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#31 of 516 in Houston
877 reviews
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Great Uptown
Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria

Property: Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria
Address: 1750 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Houston
#21 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#63 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel with shuttle service to the Galleria and many of Houston's finest restaurants, clubs and shops. Come relax at our hotel with our indoor pool and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott West Loop By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing