We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy...but fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria
Ranked #25 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. First, the bad....this hotel is near the 610, therefore, some of the rooms can be very noisy. In looking at the configuration of the hotel, it seemed that the rooms that were odd numbered faced the freeway. The rooms that were even numbered faced the interior of the hotel, which may have been quieter.

Now the good...very easy access to the 610 freeway and in a good location. The Galleria was about block or so away.

The best part of this hotel is the staff!!! This was the nicest, most helpful hotel staff I have ever encountered. Our first room was noisy so we happened to mention this to once of the hostesses in the concierge lounge. She immediately got on the "horn" and made arrangements for us to change rooms...as we were eating our breakfast! And when we switched rooms, the manager left us a nice card with free drink coupons for the hassle.

Amber in the concierge lounge was an absolute joy! She was so funny and she treated every person who came in to the lounge like they had been her friend forever.

AJ, one of the bell staff, was very nice helpful and directed us on how to get to Chinatown (he was the only one who had ever been there!).

One of the hotel security officers, who's name I did not get unfortunately, was also very kind to indulge my friends and I in an Easter surprise for our other friend. He agreed to place an Easter basket inside our friend's room to surprise her. The surprise went awry when my friend answered her door but the security officer was such a good sport!!

All in all, the staff is terrific and not in just one area. Restaurant staff, reception, bell, concierge room...EVERYONE... at this hotel was friendly and helpful. It is such a joy to see people who truly enjoy their jobs and it is obvious that the Marriott company really takes care of their employees.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is even numbers. From what I can gather, they face the interior of hotel, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reidog06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 738 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Second time to visit Houston and stay here--friendly and helpful front desk staff and awesome staff at the concierge lounge. Amber was helpful and full of information! Great first day of our vacation! Galleria mall is nearby and there's a shuttle.

1  Thank xBluemoonsx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Marriott West loop Concierge lounge had great food - the quinoa, hummus and pita bread was fantastic ! Amber is also a great hostess and knows everyone by name, greets them and she also knows what each guests' preferences are as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkhooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Staff at the Mariott is the most curteous and kind hotel staff I have encountered. I travel weekly and this Mariott's hotel staff bend over backwards to make sure you are comfortable and well taken care of. The staff at Alexander's and the Fairway's Grill remembered my name from the first week and try to accomodate every request. They really have become like family. The food is excellent and the chef's are willing to make adjustments to their menu where possible to accomodate special dietary needs.

I think this hotel should be named "The friendlyest and best service hotel" in Houston. Each of the staff members should be given an award for going above and beyond for their hotel guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Another good Marriott but with excellent staff! All very helpful and courteous. Rooms close to the 610 are noisy so avoid them if you can. As soon as I complained at the front desk I was moved to another one, away from the freeway and very quiet. Had a late flight and arranging for a late checkout was not complicated at all. Wi-Fi in the hotel is not the same as for the conference center, that could be improved to prevent one from having to pay twice. Parking is plenty, very convenient. The name is misleading as there is a JW Marriott across the street from the Galeria, but this is not it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCFViana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I spent three nights at this hotel while attending a conference. While I've stayed in fancier places, I've never felt as welcome and well-treated as I did there. Everyone, from management to cleaning staff, always says hello and usually asks if they can do anything for you. The meeting room was nice and wasn't freezing cold which was a welcome relief from most places. There was coffee and newspapers in the mornings and lemonade and cookies in the afternoon in the lobby. The breakfast buffet, including made to order omelets and smoothies, was delicious and like everywhere in this hotel, the service was excellent. They even offered me a canned soda to go. One thing we really liked was that the room a/c worked well - when you put the thermostat at 67, it got down to 67.

The location couldn't be better. It's located in a very upscale area and within walking distance of great dining, the Galleria, and the Water Wall. There is a free shuttle that will take you to the Galleria. Beware that the self-parking is $17 a day and the internet is another $9.95. Unfortunately, that's pretty common now.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I loved the service of bartender Francisco Santacruz. He was excellent and went beyond good service to exceptional. All other service was good. Just hated paying daily for wifi. Reception desk very helpful and rooms were very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2350doreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#28 of 518 in Houston
929 reviews
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria

Address: 1750 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Houston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#63 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $104 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houston Marriott West Loop by the Galleria is an upscale hotel in Houston, Texas with shuttle service to the Galleria and many of Houston's finest restaurants, clubs and shops. Come relax at our hotel with our indoor pool and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splitty, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott West Loop By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing