We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold shoulder”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria
Ranked #60 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cold shoulder”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I travel 80% of the time for business and I stay exclusively in Marriotts. This is the first (and last) time I stayed at this location for the following reason: snootiness. Perhaps this hotel is Texas' version of "upscale", but, in my opinion, the service I experienced was not up to the Marriott standards:

When I arrived at the front desk, I was warmly greeted, but, when I asked them to not put a hold on my card for incidentals, they decided to try to put the incidentals on the "card on file". This charge was declined.... because that card is full (remember, I travel for business). When they told me this, I replied, "Yes, that is why I asked you not to charge incidentals." They asked if there was some other solution to handle the incidentals, and I said, "Yes, I could stay somewhere else." They then had to "ask their manager if it was okay". The manager OKed it, but, I was then rudely told I would not be able to charge anything to the room. I replied, "Yes, that's exactly what I want."

Bottom line: when they greeted me, they were all smiles, but once it became clear that I would not be using any of their other services (e.g. room service, etc), I felt like I was treated like a beggar.

I have platinum elite status, so I spend alot of money at Marriotts. This is not the type of service I've come to expect from Marriott.

Needless to say, I checked out after one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leroybrownisbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    194
    73
    34
    23
See reviews for
74
73
42
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a hotel! I have never experienced such great service at any other hotel that I have ever stayed. I had to leave in a hurry and left my hang-ups in the closet and they mailed them to me in Alabama and didn't even charge me. I will certainly be going back to this hotel in the future! Outstanding!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The property is undergoing some renevations outside, but inside the rooms are already very nice. The help at the front desk, and in the concierge lounge, is exceptional. All the staff here goes out of their way to be helpful and friendly, which is very nice for a change.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

They took the fact that I was a Marriott gold member seriously. First up we got a room upgrade to the concierge floor that included free drinks and free breakfast. I was really surprised when I left to find that they didn't charge me for parking either. Really friendly staff. Very comfortable room. Good small restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brobob1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The staff at this conveniently located hotel is amazing. We did not meet one person who wasn't friendly and eager to please. Kindness is every where! Amber is especially caring and full of surprises! She helped make our anniversary trip extra special! The hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and stores, but there is also a shuttle. The location is great. Sadly, I have to report that you can hear outside traffic in the rooms. We were on a high floor and could hear cars all night. Ear plugs might come in handy. Despite this, the warmth of the staff and great location make this hotel a winner!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1caringmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We paid nearly US$ 500 per night for rooms at this hotel during the busy OTC week. I am not satisfied that this was value for money, however, it really was a case of you take what you get.

The hotel was perfectly acceptable if you were paying about a third of what we were paying.

I would probably pick a different hotel if I were visiting in future, but sometimes you don't really have a choice...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nev911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have been wanting to write a review for this hotel for sometime, but due to busy work schedule had been putting it off. But it's certainly time for me to give this place a shout out!

I have been staying in this hotel for the past two years on extended stay basis, typically from 3-4 weeks per stay. My fiancé and I are both Marriott Platinum members and we have been staying in different Marriott hotels over the years but not one came close to offering the excellent service and hospitality like the staff at West Loop. The front desk knows us by names and the check-in is exceptionally fast. They practically have the key waiting for you as soon as you walk into the lobby when you have your booking done online prior to your arrival. There are just too many good stuff going on for this hotel; let me break it down to several aspects:

1) The super Marriott bed - once you sleep on one, you will find it hard to sleep on other bed because it is just sooooo comfy! I find it really hard to part with this bed everytime my alarm rings at 6:30 am!
2) The 6 star service - from the housekeeping ladies, to the front desk staff to the fantastic ladies at the Alexander who knows exactly how my fiance and I like our breakfast, to the chirpy and helpful Amber who works at the 12th floor lounge, and the boys who takes you around with the shuttle service; you can really feel that they go out of their to way to make you feel at home!
3) Free shuttle service - the hotel offers free shuttle service to places nearby the Galleria area. I find that really convenient whenever i need to pop over to the mall or to a restaurant nearby and not having to worry for parking.
4) Food - two thumbs up to the spicy chicken wings, the Marriott burger, bread and butter pudding and steak!!! Never fail to order one of these for room service during my month long stay!
5) Location! Location! Location! - the hotel is close by to Galleria mall where you can almost get everything you need under one roof, there is even a tax free shopping office in the mall if you are a foreign visitor and did lots of shopping:), so it is very convenient, and then there are so many good restaurants closeby along the Westheimer stretch; Japanese, Brazilian, Mexican, Greek, Thai; they have it all. My favorite cupcake store, Crave is just around the corner at the Uptown!

Unfortunately, my fiancé and I have decided to reduced traveling in our jobs this year, so we truly miss the hospitality that we get from our stay in the Marriott West Loop. We also dearly miss the familiar faces of the staff who work there. We think that the management must have done something right to keep the staff happy working there; so keep it up and we look forward to our next visit in the near future.

Room Tip: For those who really like a quiet sleep, request for rooms from level 1 - 4 (i think) that are faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiquitabananaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#37 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Great Uptown
Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria

Property: Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria
Address: 1750 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Houston
#24 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#63 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel with shuttle service to the Galleria and many of Houston's finest restaurants, clubs and shops. Come relax at our hotel with our indoor pool and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott West Loop By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing