We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A team of people that go above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria
Ranked #43 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The staff at this conveniently located hotel is amazing. We did not meet one person who wasn't friendly and eager to please. Kindness is every where! Amber is especially caring and full of surprises! She helped make our anniversary trip extra special! The hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and stores, but there is also a shuttle. The location is great. Sadly, I have to report that you can hear outside traffic in the rooms. We were on a high floor and could hear cars all night. Ear plugs might come in handy. Despite this, the warmth of the staff and great location make this hotel a winner!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1caringmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
There are newer reviews for Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 690 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We paid nearly US$ 500 per night for rooms at this hotel during the busy OTC week. I am not satisfied that this was value for money, however, it really was a case of you take what you get.

The hotel was perfectly acceptable if you were paying about a third of what we were paying.

I would probably pick a different hotel if I were visiting in future, but sometimes you don't really have a choice...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nev911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have been wanting to write a review for this hotel for sometime, but due to busy work schedule had been putting it off. But it's certainly time for me to give this place a shout out!

I have been staying in this hotel for the past two years on extended stay basis, typically from 3-4 weeks per stay. My fiancé and I are both Marriott Platinum members and we have been staying in different Marriott hotels over the years but not one came close to offering the excellent service and hospitality like the staff at West Loop. The front desk knows us by names and the check-in is exceptionally fast. They practically have the key waiting for you as soon as you walk into the lobby when you have your booking done online prior to your arrival. There are just too many good stuff going on for this hotel; let me break it down to several aspects:

1) The super Marriott bed - once you sleep on one, you will find it hard to sleep on other bed because it is just sooooo comfy! I find it really hard to part with this bed everytime my alarm rings at 6:30 am!
2) The 6 star service - from the housekeeping ladies, to the front desk staff to the fantastic ladies at the Alexander who knows exactly how my fiance and I like our breakfast, to the chirpy and helpful Amber who works at the 12th floor lounge, and the boys who takes you around with the shuttle service; you can really feel that they go out of their to way to make you feel at home!
3) Free shuttle service - the hotel offers free shuttle service to places nearby the Galleria area. I find that really convenient whenever i need to pop over to the mall or to a restaurant nearby and not having to worry for parking.
4) Food - two thumbs up to the spicy chicken wings, the Marriott burger, bread and butter pudding and steak!!! Never fail to order one of these for room service during my month long stay!
5) Location! Location! Location! - the hotel is close by to Galleria mall where you can almost get everything you need under one roof, there is even a tax free shopping office in the mall if you are a foreign visitor and did lots of shopping:), so it is very convenient, and then there are so many good restaurants closeby along the Westheimer stretch; Japanese, Brazilian, Mexican, Greek, Thai; they have it all. My favorite cupcake store, Crave is just around the corner at the Uptown!

Unfortunately, my fiancé and I have decided to reduced traveling in our jobs this year, so we truly miss the hospitality that we get from our stay in the Marriott West Loop. We also dearly miss the familiar faces of the staff who work there. We think that the management must have done something right to keep the staff happy working there; so keep it up and we look forward to our next visit in the near future.

Room Tip: For those who really like a quiet sleep, request for rooms from level 1 - 4 (i think) that are faci...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiquitabananaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Outstanding cooperation from Nelda & Scott. Excellent recommendations on DJ & florist. Attentive staff. Accommodated a custom menu. Food was served timely & hot. As father of the bride I could not have asked for a more professional or helpful staff or a better prepared & presented meal. Location for out of town guests was very good. Rooms were comfortable. Bar was friendly and helpful - no sports bar atmosphere - more like a local bar.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwjjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you are considering having a function or an event at a hotel, the banquet manager Kaleb Clark is amazing! He and his staff go above and beyond to make sure your even goes off without a hitch. I would highly recommend staying and planning your next even with him!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Although concurrently undergoing remodel construction, the staff is doing their best to alleviate
any problems associated with this "redo"! I imagine it will be quite nice when completed. The location is great if you are interested in shopping at the Galleria. There are excellent choices
of restuarants nearby as well. Marriott rooms are always very clean with great linens and good
service. This hotel's restuarant and breakfast choices leave a little to be desired however. Overall the stay was good. We were there to attend a wedding.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for the OTC show in Houston last week. The hotel is good enough; my room was a reasonable size with a very comfortable bed. One drawback was that the road noise from the I-610 was distracting. The bar and restaurant were ok without being spectacular although there is an excellent choice of restaurants within walking distance. A small gym and a sauna are on the 2nd floor and a room seating approx. 30 people is available on the 12th floor to do work, hold small informal discussions, etc. The hotel also has a swimming pool.

A free shuttle bus ran every 20 minutes or so from the hotel to the show at the Reliant Arena and the hotel also ran a free car service to within 3 miles of the hotel. The Galleria shopping mall is very close to the hotel.

Overall, it was decent enough although the price of $590 per night including taxes was a little steep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not look onto the freeway.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celtic_traveller165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#31 of 517 in Houston
885 reviews
Great Uptown
Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria

Address: 1750 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Houston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#63 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $138 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houston Marriott West Loop by the Galleria is an upscale hotel in Houston, Texas with shuttle service to the Galleria and many of Houston's finest restaurants, clubs and shops. Come relax at our hotel with our indoor pool and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Houston Marriott West Loop by The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott West Loop By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing