We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Houston
Ranked #32 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 27, 2006

I am a frequent traveler and was very impressed with this hotel. The service at the front desk was outstanding and the rooms are terrific. The beds have terrific linens and everything was very comfortable and clean. The rooms could have been a little quieter but that is normal for any hotel. Everything was in excellent working order. They have a courtesy van that will take you (and pick up) from anything within a one-mile radius. This includes many nearby businesses and shopping areas and restaurants. Including the Galleria (right across the street!) and Highland Village.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqTrav3328331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    298
    137
    35
    30
See reviews for
140
131
49
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san antonio,tx
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

Really surpised to find this hotel to be so nice. Stayed here a few years ago and was not impressed. However, they have apparently spent some substantial $ on renovations since I was there. Flat panel TV's, leather furnishings, new cabinetry and granite in the bathrooms. It's directly across the street from the Galleria so has great access. Also, if you don't see the value in paying someone $25 to valet your car overnight, the hotel provides free self-parking right around the corner on Sage Rd. 90 second walk from the hotel. In addition, it seemed as though the entire staff must have just come back from a conference titled "How to make your guests happy campers." Smiles were on every staff member's face along with the corresponding attitudes. Wonderful overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BK
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

I went to Houston for the Essence Festival. The location was just ok, compared to the festival being in New Orleans. I stayed at the JW Marriott. This hotel was Fabulous, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Helpful?
Thank msdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2006

Not a typical JW Marriott. Lacks the JW great amenities and service. Great location - across the street from Galleria Mall.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pmadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2006

Stopped for two nights on a business trip, surely this cannot be a J W Marriott. Stopped at the JW in Cancun, i would like to say different world, more like different universe. Old, dirty and poor service. Asked for directions from front desk sent in the opposite direction. Stop at the Houstonian if you were me. 4 Star what one for each guest.

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — checking in
  • Tips/Secrets — go elsewhere
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2006

The rooms are good (better than the Westin), of a reasonable size for a city centre location and have very comfortable beds. As is often the case, they have refurbished the room but left the bathroom untouched. The widdliest shower and tiniest towels in North America await.

Breakfast is good, with a wide choice and friendly staff, though expensive if you are not planning to gorge and miss lunch.

Other than that, it is pretty grim, with surly staff and very bland public areas. I have yet to find a decent place to stay around the Galleria: the Doubletree and Embassy Suites are both tired, the two Westins are depressing and overpriced. I thought we had a corporate rate for the Marriott, but apparently they fell off the list at the end of last year: suggests the company does not think much of it either.

I won't stay here again.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2006

What a great time! We spent July 14-16, 2006 at the JW Marriott across the street from the Galleria. We found the hotel to be in the best location, within walking distance from beautiful parks, outstanding shopping, manicured neighborhoods, and much more. We drove the short distance to Cafe Annie for a Zagat rated dining experience. YUM! It was about 30 mins to the Space Center but only 10 minutes to the museum district. We found the location to be perfect. We took time to enjoy the pool and fitness areas. The hotel provided a poolside movie each evening, which the kids loved. Room service was excellent and prompt. The food was great. Room was clean and up to Marriott standards. My only complaint would be the lack of service at the front desk during the day. We arrived at nearly midnight and had no trouble...we were greeted by a professional gentleman who took time to explain all the features and ammenities of the hotel. But the next day we had to wait for nearly 20 minutes as they only had one person working the desk during the prime check-in times and we merely wanted to pay for two drinks we'd picked up in the little lobby shop. They seemed understaffed during the day times. Also, our parking cards never worked, but there was a security guard on duty at all times to assist. Overall, a wonderful stay...we will return!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
The St. Regis Houston
The St. Regis Houston
#30 of 510 in Houston
622 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 510 in Houston
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Houston

Property: JW Marriott Houston
Address: 5150 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056-5506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Houston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#51 Family Hotel in Houston
#61 Business Hotel in Houston
#63 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Houston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Houston Hotel Houston
Jw Marriott Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston
Houston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing