We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
JW Marriott Houston
Ranked #37 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very comfortable!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2006

For my first visit to Houston, I couldn't have picked a better hotel. Don't pay for valet or garage parking, park in their free parking next to the Walgreens on Sage Road, which is on the side of the hotel. The hotel staff was friendly, and the king guest room was spacious and beautifully decorated. I was on the 14th floor which gave a beautiful view. I was able to actually see my car in the parking lot outside of my window. There is an A/V jack on the side of the television just in case you would like to bring a DVD player, or you can pay $12.99 for a pay per view movie. The toiletries are upscale, and the large spa like shower head gives a wonderful shower. The best thing about the room is the bed, the bed, the bed!!! I know there are about 8 pillows already on the bed, and two more in the closet.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tawnyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    292
    135
    35
    27
See reviews for
132
128
48
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2006

My family and I had a lovely stay the JW Marriott. We rented a car and drove from the IAH airport all the way to the JW, which took about a half hourwithout traffic. There was a free parking lot right around the cornor. It was across the street from the hotel and next to a Walgreens. The lot was quite small and not protected in anyway (ie no security), but it was a good area, so I felt the car was safe. Valet parking is avalable and those boys who park your car are absolute sweethearts!

Our rooms were quite nice. Our room had:
-Shampoo, conditioner, body wash, soap, lotion, and mouth wash
-Hair dryer and iron
-Towels were quite clean and didn't have funny odor. One bathrobe in the closet plus exra blankets.
Internet access was not free! But, if you want to check in to your plane or find directions, the front desk was helpful.
As other reviews said, the beds were the best part! They had a pillow top mattress and I slept like a baby the entire night. You MUST ask to get the linens cleaned. Just place a card found on the desk on your bed.

There is a shuttle serice to go to places close to the hotel. It runs until 11PM. I would adivse taking your own directions though just in case. Also, the Galleria was RIGHT across the street. It was a great way to kill a little time or grab something to eat (go to Le Madeline's--cheap french food). As for Marriott food, I hate to say it, but it wasn't that good for a hotel resturante. It was overpriced. The positive was that it was quick and great service.

Overall, great value and nice place. I would reccommend people to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DasEFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2006

I was thoroughly disappointed. What is a 4 star hotel? If you think you know, then this hotel is not one. There is one exception. The bed is very comfortable. There are lots of pillows, and if you want the bed changed each day, then just place the placard on the bed and they will do it. However, when we arrived, I listened to a front desk clerk talk rudely to a guest that was checking in. He wanted a room with two beds. She said in several different ways that he would get a king bed, with a sofa sleeper for his two small daughters. I found displeasure in the robotic tone of her voice and the aggressive expression on her face towards him. You could tell he was very unhappy. I was glad when someone else asked to assist us other than her. When checking in with the other clerk, we asked for a crib for our baby. When we got to our room, we were given a refrigerator. The gentleman seemed confused and went to get the crib. Upon returning, he had no clue how to put it together. My husband took 5 minutes to put it together, yet we still tipped him. Lastly, there were stains on our furniture. With all of this, I advised the front desk of our discontent. The young lady stated she would provide us with a dinner voucher. So we agreed this would be a great apology. We left for the day to return to a tray in our room with sparsely placed cheese and pieces of fruit on it. I was stupefied. I called for the manager and advised him of the double mindedness of his staff. He started off defending her, and then when I told him I believe in writing reviews on hotels, well, let’s say his tune changed. All in all, this is not the right hotel for you if you are expecting to be treated like you are in a 4 star hotel. However, if you are concerned about being close to the Galleria, then that is the other exception.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Danise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2006

Great new rooms and I love the hallway carpet design -modern and colorful, yet elegant. The Gym has all new equipment makes it fun to work out again! Nice business center and convenient sundry shop next to the front desk. It was nice they walked me to the elevator, no-one has done that for me before, usually you're on your own to find it. 24 hour room service makes it nice too, when you need a late night snack!
I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2006

This hotel is in a great location. The gym is good and there are lots of stores plus the galleria plus free parking around back. Rooms were big and very comfortable. The front desk service was variable but overall a good deal especially if you can get a good internet rate. We thought about some of the more "boutique" hotels but this is definitely a better bet.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2005

This hotel was wonderful with just a few exceptions. The lobby is small but nice (not new, but still luxe). It smells wonderful - cherry vanilla or some other scented oil is being circulated.

The price was high $169 - but the rooms were just gorgeous. Double sheeted, lots of pillows, an easy chair and an ottoman, a cute window seat, a nice sun shade on the window that keeps out the light but lets in some ambience. There was a great plasma screen TV with plenty of free cable channels. There is a great dressing area and a comfy robe in every room. The tub was comfy and the water pressure was great. The toiletries are upscale and you'll want to take them home.

This hotel is right across the street from the Galleria. A plus for shopping - a downside for traffic. Leave at least 45 minutes for a ride to either airport. I thought parking was a bit high but there is a free self parking lot across the street. Just be careful in the traffic.

My only complaints are that the air conditioner didn't get as cool as I like, and the restaurant was pretty lackluster in ambience and choices (our server was great, though). No complaints about the food, though. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corgimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We stayed overnight for our anniversary on July 14, 2005. It is a very nice hotel with a great lobby. Staff was very friendly. Our room was fabulous! The hotel was in the process of remodeling but we never saw any of this going on. Very quiet room. I think we got one of the newly redone rooms because it was beautiful! Bathroom had seperate sink area with many complimentary toiletries including cotten balls and Q-tips. Bed had feather mattress top and a feather duvet with lots of pillows. Also on the end of the bed was a knit throw. The tv offered many channels including HGTV. There was a coffee pot and 2 kinds of hot tea and 2 free bottles of water. The window overlooked the Galleria Mall and busy Westeimer. There was a window seat with a cushion and 2 pillows and I loved laying there with the throw watching the traffic. We did not eat any of the hotel food so cant say anything about that. We loved our stay and will definitly go again!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Houston

Property: JW Marriott Houston
Address: 5150 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056-5506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Houston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#51 Family Hotel in Houston
#61 Business Hotel in Houston
#63 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Houston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your JW Marriott Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Houston Hotel Houston
Jw Marriott Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston
Houston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing