We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Walking distance to nice restaurants. Nice pool area and gym.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Houston
Ranked #31 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Walking distance to nice restaurants. Nice pool area and gym.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for a week on a business trip. This hotel is perfect for short or long stays. The Galleria is right across the street and includes multiple nice restaurants. The parking here is conveniently on your own (so you can come and go as you please) or valet. There is a nice indoor/outdoor pool with lanai, a nice hot tub area (not the best, but great to use after a long day), and the gym is the nicest hotel gym in the galleria area. Would recommend to those on business or for a short stay in the downtown Houston area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    298
    137
    35
    29
See reviews for
140
131
49
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

As a standard, I have found JW Marriotts to be great. I can trust that they will be clean and that the rooms will be updated. This was the case at the Houston hotel. I did however have to watch prices on a few websites until I could get a good rate. If you don't go through a discount website, you will pay a pretty penny. I travel most often with my family, so keeping costs low is top priority. I found the staff to be very helpful. They were nice to my kids too.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We got a great rate and for the money this property was just fine. Liked the room, BUT the bathroom was very small and outdated. Otherwise it was fine. Self parking works well but not sure if I would want to be down there by myself if I were a woman - there seems to be no security in that basement garage. And the other downside was a hideous internet access charge. But at the right rate, this is above average for a short stay.

I don't really get why this is a J W Marriott as opposed to a regular Marriott. I figured there had to be something special for the J-Dub name. 10+ years ago that was probably the case, but the rooms just seem a bit too dated at this point. But again, plenty nice at the right rate.

Room Tip: Suggest a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcmax29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I'm a platinum member and have stayed here several times as a business traveller. My likes:
1) self parking is under the hotel and manageable and with elevators going directly up to the rooms
2) comfortable king size beds
3) concierge lounge has good variety of food with morning breakfast open at 630 am ... and with healthy oatmeal and fruits too
4) 24 hour access to the spacious and well outfitted exercise workout room
5) very clean
6) friendly service
7) relatively good location
8) lots of restaurants around and with a large Walgreens right next door

Picky items?
1) towel racks don't seem to be positioned well ... None by bathroom sink
2) location good but lots of traffic during peak hours ... Just like everything around the Galleria area
3) Internet renewal appears to be a daily exercise

Am I satisfied? Yes. Would I recommend the place? Yes. Will I come back? Most definitely. Have had my wife accompany several times and she likes staying here more than other places.

Room Tip: 1) Make sure room not adjacent to elevator banks. Can hear them going up and down. 2) ask for the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiianBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

recently stayed at this hotel and was impressed. Room was excellent, facilities pool and gym superb. Location near Galleria Mall and great intersection Westheimer. Got a very inexpensive deal and great service, They honored a great rate for a nearby Marriott that had construction problems. In town for a convention at the nearby Hilton and stayed there one night as well found this hotel to be much better for my taste. Really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Check out Houston's nearby, and I recommend, Stockyard Bar BQ maybe a mile away on Westheimer (6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exda85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina Del Rey, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Overnighted here for one night.

Pros: Close to Galleria. If you like shopping and dining, it's just across the street.
Decent service
Starbucks inside
Hot showers, good water pressure
comfortable beds
very affordable at $90 with a AAA membership on a Saturday night
our kids loved the basketball court

Cons: Tough parking garage to negotiate. If you have large SUVS, may be tricky to navigate in there. And also, the garage elevators are separate from room elevators. That was a bit inconvenient. Didn't love the room decor. Carpets need replacing. And you can hear the plumbing if your neighbor uses the restroom or shower.

Overall: It's fine if you're only here a few nights. You'll be comfortable enough sleeping here. If you're looking for luxury, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marinasurferchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Expected more from the top end Marriott brand. Room was average, nothing special. Pool was small and average, gym was ok. Service at check in and in the restaurant and bar was really good - our server at dinner was lovely, full of Texas charm!! But I felt it would be better overall, have stayed at nicer Marriotts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
The St. Regis Houston
The St. Regis Houston
#32 of 510 in Houston
621 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 510 in Houston
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Houston

Property: JW Marriott Houston
Address: 5150 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056-5506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Houston
#17 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#51 Family Hotel in Houston
#61 Business Hotel in Houston
#63 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Houston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Houston Hotel Houston
Jw Marriott Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston
Houston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing