We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Houston
Ranked #25 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice previously and keep going back due to the close proxiity to my office as well nearby eateries; not to mention the shopping mall across the street. The housekeeping was good and reception was helpful. I ordered room service and no complains.

There is also a shuttle that can take you around however often times its a long wait. I would encourage the hotel to get a few more shuttles given the mere number of guests visiting the hotel.The wait can go upto 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsetterkarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 929 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

The beds are excellent, the bathroom is cheap and look like the one in the dorm. The housekeeping and maintenance awful! Despite black hairs all over the tub enclosure, the sink was clogged for all 3 days of staying. The business and conference halls are good though.

Room Tip: Ask for the high floors but expect a super low water pressure in the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have nothing but perfect things to say about this hote. The pool and fitness center are absolutely to die for. Great view. I loved everything about this hotel. I was upgraded as well. The rooms are enormous and offered unparalleled service. Just fantastic property. Good location for restaurants too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatBGuye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The JW Marriott is situated directly across the street from the Galleria; quite convenient if you plan to visit. With this primo location comes a high valet price-$30 a day but it is the most convenient way to go.

At checkin I was greeted by a lovely welcoming front desk employee. she needs to give lessons to the grumpy guy at morning checkout.

The rooms are pleasant and clean with comfortable beds. I didn't think they were as dated as others claim.


I would stay again if I was able to secure a good price but otherwise wouldn't be heartbroken if I didn't.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillah19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for a conference for three nights.

The hotel is old and a little worn, but very clean. Our room was nice. I am not sure why they do not have refrigerators, as there is a space for one in the cabinet. We ordered one and they promptly brought it up and installed it in the cabinet. There are no towel bars in the sink area or in the bathroom except behind the door to the shower and in the shower. Makes it real unhandy for hand towels and wash cloths. The internet service is spotty and hard to get on. After working with it for 30 minutes, we discovered that it was down. They charge you $12.95 a day for the service. It seemed to be better in the ballrooms. The beds are comfy and the towels are thick and fluffy.

For the most part service is excellent, especially in the dining rooms and ballrooms. The food here is excellent. They buy their produce and meat from local farmers, so it is very fresh or some of it is organic. Everything we ate here, bar food, breakfast, lunch, dinner, was very good.

The meeting facilities were very nice also. I liked the fact that it did not get freezing cold, as is usually the case. They maintained a nice, comfortable temp.

There are tons of nice restaurants and shopping down and across the street. The hotel will give you a ride to someplace also that is a few miles away and back. We took the shuttle to Houston's restaurant and they came back and picked us up. We also self parked at a cost of $17 per day. The parking garage is easy to get to in the hotel. The elevators are right beside the check in desk. Valet is twice that rate per night.

This is a great conference hotel. I would not stay there though for any other reason.

Room Tip: The elevators are really slow in this hotel. If you don't mind not having a view, I would stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

There was a bartender in the lounge that was so rude! I watched her get cursed out by so many people. Why would they keep her there? Elevators were out of service. Long lines to get on them. Very nice front desk clerks! I would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here last night and it was just ok. Its in a great location, near the Galleria, and there are many hotels in that area.
When I called the number provided for me online to make the reservation, they quoted me one price but once I checked in, the price was completely different....The room itself was nice, pretty roomy and also very clean. Unfortunately the bed was not comfortable at all.
The worst part is the price for overnight parking. You can self park for one price or have it "valeted" for another. Again, sign outside says one price for overnight parking, but price on bill was completely different. And our car wasn't even parked safely in a garage, it was just sitting right out front of the valet, which the valet guys just gave us our keys and we had to go get our car ourselves...TOTAL rip off. Think next time I'll choose from the 10 other hotels in the area...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#3 of 518 in Houston
827 reviews
Great Uptown
The St. Regis Houston
The St. Regis Houston
#36 of 518 in Houston
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Houston

Address: 5150 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056-5506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Houston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#51 Family Hotel in Houston
#61 Business Hotel in Houston
#63 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $159 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Houston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Houston is a luxury hotel in Houston, Texas located ideally near the Houston Galleria, Minute Maid Park and Toyota Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Houston Hotel Houston
Jw Marriott Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston
Houston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing