We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special..but works for a quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Houston
Ranked #34 of 507 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
crazytreamtravel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing special..but works for a quick stay”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

There is absolutely nothing special about this hotel. The hotel is clean and the location good for business. However, there is no part of the hotel that stands out. I was particularly not impressed with the gym, an essential when on business, which was small with a poor change room. Internet is not included in the room price....which needs to change. Breakfast was fine, but again nothing special. The bathroom in my room was very small. Even the bar in the hotel is average.

On the positive side the staff is very friendly and helpful.

I wish I could find a better hotel in Houstan that can be booked at the last minute, but I always struggle.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazyteamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    296
    136
    35
    27
See reviews for
136
130
49
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The food in the restaurant is fabulous- the best I have ever had traveling at a hotel. My room; however, was by the elevator and from 4 am on all I did was listen to it go up and down. The staff has not sent a survey so I can not even figure out how to give feedback. The hotel needs a refresh it is tired, the carpeted rooms are damp and nasty. Tiny bathrooms and mis-matched fixtures make it odd....

Room Tip: pay the extra money for a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGF606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

First stay here as Westin galleria was booked out. Good clean marriot property as I've come to expect. Easy and friendly check in and out. Very nice room, spacious and comfy.

Downsides:
- Air con was very loud especially at night.
- Poor wifi connection at extreme end of 6th floor. All my devices could barely get a signal and very slow.
- Long wait for elevators

Enjoyed my stay and would happily return but only if I couldn't get a room at the Westin.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The first week of February I stayed here for two nights on a business trip. I was put in room 722, which I came to find out is the loudest room on the floor. All room 22's have the entire bedroom wall against 2-3 elevator shafts. The result is late night and early morning sounds which made me think I was staying next to a rail stop in Chicago. Pathetic, especially given the $400 room rate. Put in some insulation or use the space for storage, etc, just like every other hotel. When I complained, the only thing offered was to remove the $12.95 Internet charge; it seems that the hotel was full and I could change...even the next day. Good grief.

I agree with others that the valet situation is inefficient. I was told when walking out the door in the morning that it would be 15 minutes before my car could be brought forward...this for $27/night. When I asked others standing in line, they said its normal for them to wait that long in the morning. Seems like they could plan a bit better.

The room itself was a reasonable size and clean. The bathroom had clearly been reconfigured to help it look more modern, but still had a bit of a '80s feel to it.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms ending in 22. If that's your only option, change hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here a few different times over the years, but do not think I've return after last week, and I'm a Marriott Gold member. There is just way too much traffic and hassle to get in and out of hotel. Valet lines are long, elevator lines are longer, and amenities are overcrowded. Hotel exterior and lobby still look nice, but the smallish rooms are showing their age. Staff great, but they can only do so much given the volume.

This hotel is all about location. If you just have to stay in the priciest hotel close to the Galleria, and don't mind hour long waits in traffic and for your car, then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Longshaft10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Every December our family visits this property for Galleria Shopping just across the street. This
two night stay found the Lobby/restaurant renovations complete. It was very nicely done and is what you would expect in a JW. The staff as ususal were very nice and accomodating. Hospitality gets a big plus on this property. This also happens to be our anniversary so the staff always sends up a bottle of champagne and other goodies. I have to agree with some other recent reviewers that the rooms are ready for some updates. When that is done, this will be a fine 4-5 star facitlity. Please note that this facility does not have what you would expect to be Queen beds. When you ask for two Queens, you will get two slightly larger than double beds. The fitness center is great and the indoor/outdoor heated pool is always nice. On this trip some folks apparently had rented a room to hold a large swimming party for elementary school children and there were a bunch of them creating a disturbance. Property security was very apologetic and advised us they were addressing that problem which they had encountered at other times -- even offered us a generous amount of points added to our account for the inconvenience. Overall we always have a nice stay at this property. The big drawback is parking which is expensive and the self-parking garage which is crowded and hard to navigate. My recommendation is to spend the extra $$ for valet. The big plus is that you can walk to just about everything. The Galleria has just about everything you will ever need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Galleria, preferably overlooking he pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romeosl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed for New Year's Eve, but left much to be desired. Rooms were nice, but not plush. Great fitness center & pool. Lacks privacy & amenities for a restful get-a-way. Busy elevators, with long wait. PARKING IS DREADFUL! $27 Valet, $17 self parking around the corner & down the street. Wish they had a comp coffee bar or something. Bath tub was filthy with hair in it. Not a good value overall. They cater more to the business traveler. If you are looking for a weekend locale, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGal77001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
The St. Regis Houston
The St. Regis Houston
#29 of 507 in Houston
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Houston

Property: JW Marriott Houston
Address: 5150 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056-5506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Houston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#51 Family Hotel in Houston
#61 Business Hotel in Houston
#63 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Houston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your JW Marriott Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Houston Hotel Houston
Jw Marriott Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston
Houston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing