We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful & friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport
Ranked #54 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff was very helpful, made last minute changes for us, needed connecting rooms. Had a problem with the air condition maintenance on the spot and had it cooling within 10 minutes. The rooms were nice, clean and spacious. At least before the two year old twins got there, the cleaning staff was very nice and understanding about our needs. Look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's hard to be let down by an airport hotel, because the bar is not that high. Initially, our stay was fine. Worst I could say was that the room and decor were dated. We dined in the restaurant and when we asked why there were different items on the room service menu and the restaurant menu, we were advised the the menus were different, but we could order off either and they would make us whatever we wanted. But, they had no room service menus. Neither did the front desk, so up back to the room we went, because the room service menu was better than the restaurant menu. The service was slow, and again, I was thinking we should have just eaten in the room. Overall, not the end of the world, but not pleasant. In the morning, we wanted to pay on a different credit card than we had checked in, and at the time of the airport shuttle (only every 30mins), no one was manning the front desk and the driver was very pushy about us going. Finally someone showed up and we were ready to leave before the shuttle driver was ready. The driver is then loading our bags and he is commenting on how much luggage we have and how heavy it is. He tells me, "lady, they are going to charge you for this". I was bewildered - what were my options, to leave my luggage in the parking lot rather than take it home? I understand I was a guest at the hotel for 1 night, but we were on a 3 week trip, and that usually entails a couple of suitcases. Note: bags were not overweight, and we did not have to pay anything. They we head to the airport and the driver drops off a flight crew at the first stop and then drives past our terminal to head to another stop because other guests didn't leave enough time to get to the airport and now they are late. They the driver gets a call that he has dropped off too many bags at the first stop, including a bag belonging to a passenger who is still on the shuttle. So we go all the way back to the first drop point and during the whole drive (which is in the pouring rain and at top speeds), the driver is telling this poor passenger that it's his fault for not standing beside his bag. The driver apparently memorizes which bags are for which person and takes them off accordingly. Not I get that the driver has a system, but can you imagine repeating over and over to this poor guy that it's his fault? The driver stops at the first drop off and a very kind pilot has waited with the bag to ensure the suitcase made it back to the owner. The owner then wisely gets off and tells the driver that he will take the tram to his terminal. Smart. So now, we finally get to go to our terminal and we have to hear about how it's not the driver's fault, it's the passengers fault for not standing with his bag and sneaking onto the shuttle. I couldn't wait to get off the shuttle and away from the Doubletree IAH.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travelingbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti P, General Manager at Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

2travelingbugs,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.

Patti Patenaude
General Manager
281-848-4000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Doubletree last week while preparing to go on a cruise. The chocolate chip cookie at check in was a nice treat. The staff was very friendly and helpful, from the shuttle driver to the front desk staff. The restaurant was very good, although a bit pricey for just appetizers and drinks. We would recommend this hotel and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieJRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I usually book through a no-name website and take what I get. I was glad to get the doubletree, having never stayed at one before and was very well looked after.

Great staff and the quality of the premises was great. Large rooms, comfortable beds and good amenities.

Only downside was the restaurant. It was too cold, too noisy and the staff, while friendly were overworked and dressed in whatever they felt like. There was no hot water in the bar, and the excuse I was given was the heater was broken. In a hotel with a full service kitchen and room service and no effort was made to get hot water ??

The buffet while expansive and good looking was cold as a bone with no-one having realised.

The other food I eat however was great value for a hotel and of a high quality, especially the French Onion soup.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quiglm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti P, General Manager at Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

quiglm,

Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry the food quality didn’t meet your expectations. At our property, we want to serve fresh, tasty dishes with the caring touches of home. We work continually to improve our menu offerings, and your comments will help us improve. We hope you’ll stay with us the next time you’re in the area and let us know how we’re doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff made this stay a great one.Everyone one we dealt with was professional, friendly and helpful. The room was a little dated but the beds and pillows were so comfortable! We got a great price through priceline, making it an excellent value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Dirty, smelly rooms, no a/c, poor security, bad service at the restaurant. Should have been King Bed "Upgraded" to a two double beds. My wife was with me on the business trip and we booked a king bed room. The air conditioning didn't work. As a matter of fact it didn't work in any of the 3 rooms I had booked for myself and other colleagues. We left a jacket behind by mistake and of course they never found it. I won't be staying here again, if possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti P, General Manager at Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Mike J,

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

What more could you ask for in a hotel? We stayed here when we had to overnight to catch our plane in the morning. When we missed our flight on the return, I quickly called to book the night at Doubletree Houston Intercontinental. Their rooms are spacious and CLEAN. They also have a great restaurant with plenty of meat for my husband and they even have vegetarian options for me. They also had a nice workout room. The staff was incredibly helpful in answering my questions about the surrounding area and even arranging a cab to get to the nearby movie theater. Thanks and we'll definitely stay here again. P.S. The shuttle driver even offered us water!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Bush Intercontinental Airport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus JFK Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston / Bush Intercontinental Airport
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport

Address: 15747 John F Kennedy Blvd, Houston, TX 77032-2315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#82 Business Hotel in Houston
#84 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $90 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one mile from George Bush Intercontinental (IAH) Airport, take advantage of the complimentary airport shuttle to and from our DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Intercontinental Airport hotel. Feel at home in our spacious guest rooms, watch HDTV from the calm of your bed, or use WiFi access to stay connected. Upgrade to larger rooms with the choice of one king-sized or two double beds. Our accessible rooms are thoughtfully designed to ensure comfort. Start your day with Oakley's buffet breakfast or grab your favorite beverage at our Starbucks® coffee bar. Catch a game over drinks with the locals in Derrick's Saloon. Host any event on the doorstep of north Houston corporations such as ExxonMobil, United Airlines and Halliburton. Over 18,500 sq. ft. of meeting space accommodates corporate meetings, weddings and grand celebrations alike. Use our 24-hour business center with complimentary printing. Stay rejuvenated with our fitness room equipped with cardio machines and weights, outdoor pool, hot tub and quiet gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport Hotel Houston
Intercontinental Houston Airport
Doubletree Houston Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing