We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and rooms, let down by restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport
Ranked #52 of 515 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cocoa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great service and rooms, let down by restaurant.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I usually book through a no-name website and take what I get. I was glad to get the doubletree, having never stayed at one before and was very well looked after.

Great staff and the quality of the premises was great. Large rooms, comfortable beds and good amenities.

Only downside was the restaurant. It was too cold, too noisy and the staff, while friendly were overworked and dressed in whatever they felt like. There was no hot water in the bar, and the excuse I was given was the heater was broken. In a hotel with a full service kitchen and room service and no effort was made to get hot water ??

The buffet while expansive and good looking was cold as a bone with no-one having realised.

The other food I eat however was great value for a hotel and of a high quality, especially the French Onion soup.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiglm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti P, General Manager at Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
quiglm,

Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry the food quality didn’t meet your expectations. At our property, we want to serve fresh, tasty dishes with the caring touches of home. We work continually to improve our menu offerings, and your comments will help us improve. We hope you’ll stay with us the next time you’re in the area and let us know how we’re doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    301
    160
    76
    45
See reviews for
152
162
101
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff made this stay a great one.Everyone one we dealt with was professional, friendly and helpful. The room was a little dated but the beds and pillows were so comfortable! We got a great price through priceline, making it an excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Dirty, smelly rooms, no a/c, poor security, bad service at the restaurant. Should have been King Bed "Upgraded" to a two double beds. My wife was with me on the business trip and we booked a king bed room. The air conditioning didn't work. As a matter of fact it didn't work in any of the 3 rooms I had booked for myself and other colleagues. We left a jacket behind by mistake and of course they never found it. I won't be staying here again, if possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti P, General Manager at Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Mike J,

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

What more could you ask for in a hotel? We stayed here when we had to overnight to catch our plane in the morning. When we missed our flight on the return, I quickly called to book the night at Doubletree Houston Intercontinental. Their rooms are spacious and CLEAN. They also have a great restaurant with plenty of meat for my husband and they even have vegetarian options for me. They also had a nice workout room. The staff was incredibly helpful in answering my questions about the surrounding area and even arranging a cab to get to the nearby movie theater. Thanks and we'll definitely stay here again. P.S. The shuttle driver even offered us water!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The service was great! Shuttle to/from the airport, cookies and water, complimentary wifi. Every member of the staff, from the front desk, shuttle, and bar was very welcoming, and friendly to talk to. Staff was very enthusiastic and accommodating to every request. Room was very clean and comfortable. We had a very early flight and the shuttle was on time and got us there with plenty of time to spare. A very pleasant experience; we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeeEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

very accommodating front desk service - extra cookies, complimentary internet, rollaway beds. beds were comfortable, location convenient since we needed to get to the airport before 6am. restaurant service was good as well, very friendly people.

Room Tip: location excellent for airport layover
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank californiawithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

No Housekeeping provided in room. Security suspect with poorly functioning key system for both interior & exterior doors. With so many other choices for hotels in the area, you should think twice about this selection. (Although the cookies are delicious, they don't taste as good in an unmade room or while you're standing outside your room or the building with a key that doesn't work properly in a malfunctioning lock.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DblTreeTrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti P, General Manager at Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry you were disappointed in the cleanliness of your guest room. We try to very vigilant in the area because we know how important this is to our guests. Our engineering team has looked into the comments regarding the locks and issue with your room key. I assure you safety and security of our guests is our highest priority. I do hope that you will give us another chance to make a better impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Bush Intercontinental Airport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston / Bush Intercontinental Airport
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus JFK Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport

Property: Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport
Address: 15747 John F Kennedy Blvd, Houston, TX 77032-2315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#82 Business Hotel in Houston
#84 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one mile from George Bush Intercontinental (IAH) Airport, take advantage of the complimentary airport shuttle to and from our DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Intercontinental Airport hotel. Feel at home in our spacious guest rooms, watch HDTV from the calm of your bed, or use WiFi access to stay connected. Upgrade to larger rooms with the choice of one king-sized or two double beds. Our accessible rooms are thoughtfully designed to ensure comfort. Start your day with Oakley's buffet breakfast or grab your favorite beverage at our Starbucks® coffee bar. Catch a game over drinks with the locals in Derrick's Saloon. Host any event on the doorstep of north Houston corporations such as ExxonMobil, United Airlines and Halliburton. Over 18,500 sq. ft. of meeting space accommodates corporate meetings, weddings and grand celebrations alike. Use our 24-hour business center with complimentary printing. Stay rejuvenated with our fitness room equipped with cardio machines and weights, outdoor pool, hot tub and quiet gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport Hotel Houston
Intercontinental Houston Airport
Doubletree Houston Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing