We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-kept business hotel in Houston Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Houston
Ranked #38 of 507 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Well-kept business hotel in Houston Downtown”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is not the newest one, but it is well-kept and offers a very friendly service. We felt very comfortable and enjoyed our stay. You should notice that this hotel is mainly visited by business people, it's not really meant to be a hotel for holidays.

Room Tip: Stay high! You will have a great view over the skyscrapers of this huge city.
See more room tips
Green Features: In my opinion the environmentally-friendly practices were average.
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DETraveller089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    631
    273
    68
    70
See reviews for
230
255
106
1,029
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my first Hyatt, so not sure how it compares to others. I was very happy overall. The TV was small and the pool was cold. The staff was very professional and friendly. It is in the more corporate part of downtown, so not much happening in that area on the weekend. Things are a little more active down by the Hilton, so I just walked down to that area and went to an Astros game (nice outdoor stadium with reasonable ticket prices). For the reasonable price I got, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation. Our staff is committed to providing the best experience to all of our guests and comments such as yours are what we strive for. We are delighted to be you hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Woah, $329 a night? I would expect at least a bit of luxury at that price but all I got was a standard hotel. It's a huge 30 storey building and the lobby gets crowded and a little noisy in the morning and evening. Avoid the breakfast a rush hour, the line was way out of the restaurant and into the lobby; luckily I could come back a little later when there was no line. There's a pool available. I was here for work, and downtown Houston turns into somewhat of a ghost town in the evening, there's absolutely nothing to do close by to the hotel, no mall, no bars, just a couple of restaurants, so keep that in mind when booking. If you are in Houston on vacation (certainly not on my list) then this is not the place to stay. Staff were friendly and courteous at all times, and the place was clean. Bed was very comfy. Rated 3 dots for the disproportionate price.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pknho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel was clean, big, and welcoming. I would stay here again for my next trip to Houston. The restaurants within the hotel are excellent. The staff was friendly. My room was clean and quiet. I really liked the fitness facility, a lot of equipment and clean as well. Location is great as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giraffe5023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We appreciate the review and happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Hope we can be a service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Hyatt Regency Houston is directly located in Houston's Business District. By entering the lobby the guest is welcomed by an imposing lobby, the glass elevators are certainly the eye-catcher.
The shopping facilities in the vicinity are quite meager, most restaurants will be closed in the evening hours, but there are some recommendable restaurants near Bayou Place, but you will have to pay horrendous prices.
The staff is quite reserved, except the concierge, who is very obliging and friendly.
The staff is very professional with claims: Our A/C was very noisy, thereupon someone from the maintenance staff came and tried to repair it. They even offered us another room.

Room Tip: Splendid view on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is an older property that has been renovated. The room and the bed were relatively comfortable but I noticed some stains on the bed covers and on the couch that grossed me out a bit - so maybe more attention to detail on cleaning the rooms. On the first night, my bathroom door got stuck when I closed it and I had to fight with all my strength to get myself out. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the downtown location was convenient - not far from the conference I was attending. My one big complaint was noise. All the rooms face an interior balcony which is open to the very noisy lobby below. You can hear shouts, echoes and so on from all the people hanging out in the restaurant, lounge and the lobby below - the noise levels are even worse on the weekend as you can imagine. It was very annoying especially after travelling such a distance and feeling perfectly exhausted. Other than that, the hotel dining was excellent and deserving of rave reviews, however, I think I would pass on this hotel on my next trip to Houston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We understand at times our Atrium design can carry unwanted noise to certain floors in our building. We are in the process of making some design changes to address the feedback we receive from guests like yourself. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our staff and we hope we can be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here for an international conference of organizational psychologists because the conference hotel was fully booked. I am thankful for that circumstance based on my experiences with this hotel. The room was comfortable, well maintained, and relaxing. The employees, from front desk to housekeeping, to restauranteurs were courteous, professional, engaging, and happy. The concierge staff were the most helpful I have experienced. I encourage management to continue the training, culture, and high standard expectation that has been set around the customer experience...you are pacing to be an industry leader in my humble opinion.

Room Tip: Te higher floor you are on, the more you are away from the liveliness that is the atrium an LobbiBar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrScottAtwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We appreciate the 5-star review. We are very proud of our team and their ability to offer authentic hospitality to all of our customers. We will be sure to share your delightful comments. Thank you for your opinions and we hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#7 of 507 in Houston
398 reviews
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#26 of 507 in Houston
2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Houston

Property: Hyatt Regency Houston
Address: 1200 Louisiana St, In the Center of Downtown, Houston, TX 77002-5209
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Houston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#46 Family Hotel in Houston
#47 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 955
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown’s thriving business and entertainment districts, the newly renovated Hyatt Regency Houston is connected to restaurants and services via the city’s famous seven-mile tunnel system. Walk to events at the nearby George R. Brown Convention Center. Take in a game at Minute Maid Park or Toyota Center. Be sure to save time to enjoy a show in downtown’s Theater District or explore the shops along Main Street. A quick ride on Houston’s METRO Light Rail, with stops just seconds from our hotel, will take you to the renowned Museum District, Children’s Museum, the Houston Zoo, the Texas Medical Center or Reliant Park. Enjoy 360-degree views of the city as you dine on award-winning cuisine at Spindletop, our iconic revolving restaurant. When it’s time to relax, retreat to your spacious accommodations and enjoy the plush Hyatt Grand BedTM, state-of-the-art technology and thoughtful amenities. Always the right choice; book your reservation now at our outstanding accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing