We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mother/Daughter March Trip 2009”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Houston Galleria Area
Ranked #79 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mother/Daughter March Trip 2009”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

I booked the hotel via their website with a great non refundable deal. Our room was selected at check in. We arrived early and were given a King.

It is a great location for being near the Museum and Galleria areas, but the hotel is directly off the freeway so be prepared for the sound of traffic. There isn't really any areas you can walk to near the hotel, everything from dining to attractions will need to be driven to but with the ease of the freeway it is not really a problem getting around.

The staff was great. They were very helpful with directions to different areas, offered their free shuttle and made daily trips to the Galleria.

Our room was a little dated but very clean. They had left a note that renovations are in progress and that they would be as quiet as possible. We really were not disturbed by the noise, but I would not have booked if I had known they were under construction. My daughter and I did not want to use the pool with the men on the roof, so we drove to Galveston and braved the spring breakers. There was security in the parking lot which we liked when we returned in the evenings or later at night.

We would book again if we were going to travel to the Museum or Galleria area.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junefour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    219
    159
    97
    74
See reviews for
160
112
83
456
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterlington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

Booked on Priceline.

Recieved a clean room with two beds. Nice coffee maker in the room. Free parking and internet.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank powerplantop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
143 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2008

I stayed here because of the location and the price. I needed to be within easy driving distance of Sugar Land , Westchase and downtown. This location worked. Additionally, the price was right when compared to other hotels. I can't really say too much about this hotel except is just doesn't feel particulary clean, nice or safe. I didn't see any evidence of it being unsafe, in fact, they have 24 hour security in the parking lot. While the room didnt "feel" clean, its not like anything was soiled. This hotel just doesn't really have the nice feeling of most Hiltons. I would most likely stay here again on business, because its very convenient to the places I need to go to in Houston. Additionally, it has reliable, free wireless internet, a decent mattress, nice workspace, etc. However, for leisure purposes, I definitely would pick someplace else. I guess I would describe this hotel as a viable solution for those needing a specific location.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherHoustonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park
Level Contributor
117 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

I booked this hotel via the Hilton website and was surprised it was only $67 a night (weekend rate). The hotel is located right off I-59 and Hilcroft so make sure to request a room facing the back of the hotel or you will be subjected to a lot of noise. The rooms are ok, they don't exactly look like they have been recently updated. The wall paper is old and the popcorn ceilings lookvery outdated. However the beds are very comfortable and its nice to have a flate screen tv even if its not the wall mounted type. The staff is extremly nice and I was pleasantly surprised by the wonderful food in the restaurant. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — A little noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdipace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

This HILTON property does not represent the HILTON name. It definitely should be reviewed by HILTON. It had a definite unpleasant odor upon entering. The lobby is tired in appearance. The night we checked in the staff on duty was unprofessional. We are diamond members of Hilton and were assigned a room on another floor other than the Executive Level. After requesting an upgrade we were told we could have an upgraded room. On arrival into the room - no upgrade. The bathroom was tiny and had energy efficient lights sticking out over the mirror uncovered. The halls were very hot and had the same odor as the lobby. This hotel was not what you would expect a HILTON HOTEL to be.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Odor and bathroom, desk staff, elevator not working properly
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank crestedbutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

I unfortunately got assigned to a client in the houston area right after Ike's devastation. I arrived at the parking lot of this hotel at 7pm on a monday night, and there was not a single parking spot available; I had to park my car in the rental car place that is next to the hotel, but was told i had to come back and park this car in the hotel parking once the parking became available. There was some type of meeting going on until around 9pm so i had to come back at 9pm and move my car. Not cool, specially if you're tired from traveling all day. This happened the whole week i was there so i avoided getting back to the hotel earlier in the evening. Good thing I had dinner with friends so getting back to the hotel 'later' was not a problem.

I proceeded to my room, and the room was a typical hilton room; nothing more, nothing less; only thing i notice d was that the carpeting near the air conditioning was wet. I then went to the concierge room, and was not too impressed there; in my travels i have stayed at many hiltons and i would say this is the worst concierge room I have come across. There were 2 food platters, and I asked the attendant what was in it, and he wasn't sure what was in one of them. I was a bit surprised as that was the first time ever a concierge person had no clue what was in the food platters. Also, at some point this person stepped out of the room, so when i wanted to get a 2nd drink, i had to wait for this person to come back as the drinks are in a room that only the concierge person has access to. And mind you, all i wanted was a bottle of water, not an alcoholic drink.

The room did have wireless free internet access, but of course, it wasn't the best internet connection in the world, but it was good enough to get my email and the weather. The room did have a flat screen tv, but a week later i stayed in the non concierge rooms, and there was no flat screen tv there. No big deal for me as i dont watch much tv, but some of my colleagues who are tv addicts were complaining about this.

There is some renovation or maybe repairs taking place so the hotel's lobby was a bit of a mess, but things have improved. The only reason i continued to stay at this hotel is because my client is only half a mile away; otherwise, i don't think the price we pay is worth it for this particular hilton. It is definitely not the worst hotel i have stayed at, but for a hilton, this one is not worth the money you pay, specially if you're a frequent business traveler used to better hilton hotels.

  • Liked — proximity to my client
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank perseus7401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

Having stayed in many Hilton properties over the course of my life, I have come to expect a certain standard from their hotels. Unfortunately, the Hilton Houston Southwest does not completely live up to the Hilton name and has much room for improvement. I recently stayed in the hotel over one weekend for a conference but had several problems with the hotel.

PROS:
1) Location - the hotel is located right alongside Highway 59 and is close to the I-610 loop and Galleria area. Therefore, the hotel makes for a very convenient central base in order to reach other parts of the city, as Houston and its suburbs are quite spread out.
2) Service - the best thing the Hilton has going for itself is its service. From the fantastic night manager to the very attentive Desert Rose restaurant staff, everyone I encountered tried their best to make my stay pleasant despite the problems.
3) Standard room and free internet - my room(s) had all the standard features of a Hilton though I wish they would upgrade to two queen beds instead of two double beds, which are too small.

CONS:
1) Maintenance - the hotel definitely has problems with upkeep and maintenance. On my first night, the air-conditioning was not properly functioning, and since there is no night duty electrician or engineer, I was moved to another room. However, in my second room, the locks were broken and the latch was coming off its hinges, so half the time, the door would not close properly. Finally, I was moved to a third room and comped free breakfast. However, this is still unacceptable, especially from a Hilton property.
2) Cleanliness - even though the hotel has had a recent renovation, it's showing signs of premature wear and tear, such as carpet stains and paint peeling. The room bathrooms (I saw three of them) already have mildew stains in the showers. Plus, I saw a cockroach or two running through the corridors, which was just the icing on top of a disappointing stay.

Overall, if the upkeep and maintenance of the hotel could be brought up to its same level of staff service and friendliness, then this would be a fantastic Hilton property. Until then, it has a long way to go.

  • Liked — Location, service!
  • Disliked — Maintenance, cleanliness!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Houston Galleria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Galleria Area

Property: Hilton Houston Galleria Area
Address: 6780 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77074-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#92 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Houston Galleria Area 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Houston Southwest hotel, only nine miles from the Sugar Land business corridor, and 10 miles from downtown Houston. Located just off Highway 59 and two miles southwest of Loop 610, this Houston Galleria hotel is three miles from the prestigious Houston Galleria area and offers complimentary local transportation. Centrally located to Houston attractions such as NRG Stadium and Minute Maid Park, the hotel is 30 miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH) and 18 miles from William P Hobby Airport (HOU). During your stay at our Houston Galleria hotel keep in touch with complimentary high-speed internet access in each guest room at the Hilton Houston Southwest hotel. Swim laps and enjoy the sunshine at the sparkling outdoor pool and sundeck area. Stay active in the fully equipped fitness center with modern equipment. Relax with a refreshing drink at the Poquito Bar and enjoy casual dining in the warm atmosphere of Desert Rose restaurant. Host business meetings or events in over 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible Houston meeting space at the Hilton Houston Southwest hotel. The Grand Ballroom is perfect for conferences and the Atrium and Regency areas provide a wonderful backdrop for wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Houston Galleria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Southwest Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing