We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great last minute stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center
Ranked #141 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great last minute stay”
Reviewed March 5, 2009

On our way from Austin to New Orleans, we ( 6 guys ) stopped ib Houston for a great night. The hotel was very accomodating last minute, made our reservations on line via Hotels.com and was able to get a $99.00 rate for each room. We caught the Houston Rockets playing that night last minute as well. Concierge however was way off on his local recommendations for meals and night life. We were sent to a very seedy part of town via taxi and realized this was not the type of places we would patronize as all of us are willing to spend a little more money than the avergae CLUB scene...

However we did find a great bar " Lucky's " I highly recommend this place, great for beer, mixed drinks, games and great atmosphere, the girl working the front desk when we called the hotel back from our seedy night club romp, was April. She directed us to this little gem, really made the trip...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    165
    122
    73
    60
See reviews for
180
85
52
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Wonderfully close to the medical center and Rice University - they even have a free shuttle to take you. The rooms have wonderfully comfortable Hilton beds, and we had a huge suite that even had an extra 1/2 bath so more than one person can get ready in the morning at the same time.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dax892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

This hotel is very small, but the rooms are large and clean. The view was a residential area, so nothing to see. There is nothing within walking distance except medical buildings. They have a small store in the lobby and if you are a Hilton member, they leave complimentary water in your room. There is a coffee maker, fridge and sink in the room, which is great. I couldn't find a hair dryer in the bathroom and a colleague told me it is hanging in the closet in a bag...who would look there?

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank saturncmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip to the nearby medical center in Oct. 2008. The hotel rooms are dark and creepy with mirrors on one whole side of the wall. Even with the lights turned on, it was really dark and hard to see (and I'm not old!).

Which probably explains why the cleanng person missed a DIRTY BLACK THONG on the floor of my hotel room. It was completely disgusting how it could be missed and skeeved me out to no end.

This hotel is gross and I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiji3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittenango, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Stayed at the Hilton Houston Medical Plaza for 4 nights in August 2008. The location to Texas Medical Center is perfect, and they have a shuttle that will take you anywhere in the TMC for free, which leaves on the half-hour, and picks you up when you call. We took advantage of this once, but it seems like a nice perk. The rooms, though, are incredibly large, and nice. Flat screen TV's in both the living room and the bedroom. Fast high-speed wireless (although it costs $9.99/day). Parking is easy, but its $12/day as well.

Ironically, it took awhile to get hot water from the tub, and it took awhile to get anything but warm water from the sink faucet. Perhaps this is because I was on the 16th floor, but you learn to deal. Run the tub for a few minutes first, and you're all set. As a hilton honors member, you don't get the "full" breakfast in the cafe, but you get a private continental breakfast in the bar in the morning. Kind of cheesy, but hey, its free, right? There is an "executive floor" for honors members, but its the same as the regular floors. Oh well.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank bkafrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

I stayed here for a medical conference so I chose this hotel because it was close. I had a very enjoyable stay with the exception of the pool being closed two of my three day stay! The rooms were nice and clean and apparently fairly recently remodeled. The view off the 19th floor is very pretty. Make sure you ask for the city view. The other side looks off into one of the medical building. I had a truly excellent BLT in the restaurant. In contrast to the previous review, the shuttle service was fast and friendly. At least during my stay, they make it clear that there is limited service to the Galleria. I chose instead to go to Rice Village. The front desk made it clear that I needed to call for pickup. When I did, the shuttle arrived in less than 10 minutes. Although I was very happy, I would probably stay in the Marriott Medical next time just to try something different and also because it's just a little closer.

  • Liked — Great Business Accomodations
  • Disliked — No reason to stay at this location unless you're going to the Medical Center.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yiching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Stayed at the Hilton with my spouse for a conference at one of the nearby hospitals. Arrived at the front desk at around 11 AM and was initially told that my room was not yet ready and was told by the lady at the front desk to return after 4 hours (!!!). This despite my being a member of the HHonors. Strike 1.
We decide to place our bags at the concierge and see where we can go. Since we decided against renting a car as the hotel informed us of a shuttle service to the nearby Rice Village and Galleria (HUGE mistake), we decided to try our luck with the former since it was closer. Before leaving, I attempted to push my luck with the front desk again, this time with a different person (Maria, bless her heart). THIS time she gave us an upgrade to a King Suite on the 18th floor, which was really nice and spacious. Two toilets also enhanced the convenience despite the fairly small ensuite bathroom. The bed was too soft for my preference, but comfortable nonetheless.
After settling in, we decided to check out the nearby Rice Village, which was quaint enough, for lunch and some window shopping. The lunch was forgettable (but that's for another review). Apparently, public phones are non-existent in the Medical Center district and I had to make an international roaming call from my mobile to the hotel for the shuttle pick up since they don't do regular rounds of the place.
Here's strike 2: We were informed (rather late) that the shuttle to the Galleria (singular) leaves ONLY if there are 3 or more people leaving so my wife had to take the cab. Looking at the signboard, nothing there states the 3 or more people condition.
During the conference, we also had to call from the Medical Center to the hotel since the shuttle apparently doesn't make regular rounds (unlike the Holiday Inn - Should have used my Priority Privilege). Myself and a delegation from Norway and India had to wait 3HOURS for the shuttle and only after a terse call to the manager!
Would I stay at the Hilton Medical Plaza again? Maybe, but only if I plan to rent a car!

  • Liked — Maria, at the front desk who was most helpful
  • Disliked — LOUSY shuttle service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank viajeroManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Medical Center
Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center

Property: Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center
Address: 6633 Travis St, Houston, TX 77030-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#143 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center hotel is located in the heart of the Texas Medical Center, the largest medical facility in the world, and is on the doorstep of Rice University. We offer complimentary shuttle service around the extensive medical center complex and surrounding areas.Our rooms and 720-sq.ft. suites provide views of the Houston skyline, and we host two onsite dining options for your breakfast, lunch and dinner needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Plaza Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing