We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very old and tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center
Ranked #151 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A very old and tired hotel”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Because of a large oil & gas conference, getting a hotel room was a bit of a hassle but I finally opted for this hilton because I have some good experiences with the brand. The price was quite steep (USD 355 excl taxes and excl breakfast) but a least I got a suite for that money. The hotel is in the middle of Houston's Medical center area but is not easy to spot because it looks like an office building. I had requested a quiet room away from elevators. The first room I got was an interconnecting, which always results in noise from your neighbors. So I went back to reception and was told it was a full house (which it wasn't as it turned out later). I explained that I really wanted a quiet room at which point the supervisor came by. Within 3 minutes I had a room from the same class but without interconnecting doors. So much for the statements from reception. The room itself is huge and consists of 2 parts, a seating area with a desk and a couch and a second area with 2 double beds and a bathroom. The bed itself was fine but everything in the room was old and tired. It looked like I had walked into a hotel from the 80s. And there was also a smell that I can only define as weird. The hotel had sprayed something, which kind of masked the odour initially but after a few hours, the (mold/damp) small was back in force. The bathroom had just a single bath in which you have to stand to take a shower. But if you are tall (6f4), taking a shower is difficult as the shower head is placed really low. The fitness area was okay (plenty of equipment) and you can run around Rice campus, which is a nice 3 mile run. The swimming pool area was just as tired and old as the rooms. Old astroturf covered the cement surrounding the area, making it look really cheap. I cancelled my stay (I was supposed to stay 3 nights) and got a room at the Four Seasons, which was a little more expensive but sooooo much better. If you can get a room under USD 200 incl breakfast in this hotel it may make sense but at this price there are better alternatives. Hilton, please refurbish this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mddrijver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality. I am happy to say we are scheduled to begin our renovation at the end of the year. The hotel will have a new look and feel and will be fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    163
    121
    73
    60
See reviews for
176
85
49
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Hilton Plaza proved to be a great place to stay. The suite was very comfortable; the food was excellent. The meeting room was just right for the needs of our group. We had a great time while in Houston!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Roberta34352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

In additional to the locations implied by its name, this Hilton lies at the edge of the Rice University campus and was very well placed for attending a conference there. Also it's just 2 blocks from Houston's rapid transit line, which I took a few stops to the Museum of Fine Arts.

I registered for a space-available upgrade but, none being available when I checked in, I was given a rather strange room on the 9th floor. A wall-to-wall, floor-to-ceiling window looked out directly on the pool not 10 feet away -- indeed it would have opened on the pool had it not been locked shut; the huge vertical blind was not convenient for opening partially, either. In warmer months you might find this awkward. A trendy sink was located outside the bathroom with little space to put anything, and the stylish bed flared out at the foot in a way that threatened anyone walking by.

Discussion with other conference-goers revealed that almost all of them were staying in much more spacious rooms. So the next day I asked at the desk for a location further from the pool, and was moved at no charge to a suite on the 10th floor. A suite here is two connected standard-size hotel rooms, furnished one as a living room and the other as a bedroom -- a really pleasant amount of space, though plainly furnished. Thus I enjoyed the rest of my stay.

The public areas are not lavish but include what you would expect of a full-service hotel including bar, restaurant, meeting rooms, business and fitness centers, and that pool.

Room Tip: 75% of rooms are suites, so ask for one! Avoid 9th floor facing SE; better views on NW side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob4er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A must stay with friendly staff and wonderful service. The food was excellent and catered to our needs for a group dinner. The rooms with suites were comfortable enough for business means. There was a half bath for guests in the suite (thumbs up). The bar staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Yvette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was my second time to stay in this hotel and I was very happy with the accommodations. I was at a conference so my room price may have been much less then normal but the value was great for the price I paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The rooms are very very spacious about like living in an apartment. They are quite. Convenient to the medical center. You do have to pay to park in their parking garage. Wifi was great. I would say this was a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I travel to Houston frequently for work, and stay here as often as I can. The hotel's greatest asset is the employees...the focus on customer service is superb, and everyone from the valets to the wait staff are intent on providing excellent service. The friendly atmosphere makes being away from home less isolating, because the staff are willing to go the extra mile to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. In particular, the evening staff in the Garden Court (Jeannette and Daniel) always greet me with a smile and are quick to anticipate every need. They are truly jewels. The morning Honors breakfast area is staffed by a lady who also shows caring and concern for guests, and is a welcoming presence at the start of a busy day. I enjoy the Medical Center area because of the nearby location of shops and restaurants, and the proximity to my work, but rarely leave the hotel due to the good food, good company, and comfortable rooms. The rooms are spacious and clean, and while the hotel is a little dated, it is nevertheless a great place to unwind after a busy day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of downtown Houston. Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I truly appreciate you mentioning the staff and the great job they do daily. I am happy to say we are scheduled to begin our renovation at the end of the year. We cant wait so have you back on your next trip to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Medical Center
Houston Marriott Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center

Property: Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center
Address: 6633 Travis St, Houston, TX 77030-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#143 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center hotel is located in the heart of the Texas Medical Center, the largest medical facility in the world, and is on the doorstep of Rice University. We offer complimentary shuttle service around the extensive medical center complex and surrounding areas.Our rooms and 720-sq.ft. suites provide views of the Houston skyline, and we host two onsite dining options for your breakfast, lunch and dinner needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Plaza Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing