We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center
Ranked #149 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel was super and I would recommend to all. The staff was helpful and friendly. Willis the guy a the desk is great for the guest and knew who I was from my last stay. You have a lot of opportunity with a great workout site and good food if you choose to stay in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 709 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel shuttle will take you to nearby destinations. Also the MetroRail is only a five minute walk away. The buffet breakfast was quite good, and the restaurant is open fairly late (until 10pm.) My room was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sandra J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Despite a reservation mix-up when I first arrived—my flight was delayed and I arrived at the hotel in the early morning hours the day after my scheduled check-in, resulting in missing or unclear paperwork—I was permitted to get a room relatively quickly and did not have to switch rooms during my stay. I appreciate this enormously, and I thank Wilber(?) at the front desk for his help.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Aaron_VanO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I am a Diamond member so I know my Hilton Hotels, especially in Texas. This hotel has a great location but it is expensive for what you get. I stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. While it was clean and nice, it showed it's age very well. The shower looked to be from the 80's along with the wallpaper and decor. The walls were cracked and the paint was peeling everywhere. The room was spacious but it needs a severe update for the price they're asking.

Gold & Diamond members get free breakfast. The one offered at this hotel was a joke. I've had a better breakfast at a soup kitchen. For a big and pricey hotel I would expect the full layout and not just juice, eggs, bacon and bread. I work nights so the breakfast is my dinner and I had to go to bed disappointed.

As far as the staff goes they a miss. They didn't get my parking ticket right, I had to pay on most days. They didn't have my name on the breakfast list and it took a while to clear up. I work overnights so I need my room cleaned at night. I have never had a problem with this request until now. The room was cleaned once and that's it.

I like Hilton and will continue to stay at Hilton, but not at this property. I will either stay at the Courtyard down the street or at the Hilton across town for the next 3 months I do business in Houston.

Room Tip: Get the studio, it's the only one updated with things from this century.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidgO8863FQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Hi priced with nothing to show for it. Twin bed in double room/not queens. No breakfast. $9.00 a day parking. Not even a hot cup of coffee to catch down stairs. For the price, I would been so much better off at a Hampton Inn or Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send your review. We value the input we receive. I’m so sorry that you weren’t satisfied with the price for breakfast. Did you know you can choose complimentary breakfast as a choice with your HHonors status?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for a convention at the George R Brown Convention Center, unfortunately all the hotels were booked around the convention center, so we were referred here by another Hilton property. It was a quick easy trip to the convention center, the free in room Wi-Fi was also nice.

The only negative, I was not quoted a price when booking and was caught off guard by the room rate. I would have gladly paid this price for a room next to the convention center, but not here (I will take some of the blame for not confirming a price before booking).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Outstanding and personal service from all the staff at the Hilton Plaza Medical Center. Our family received assistance to insure that our needs were fully met. First class service at a first class hotel by competent staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

We are so happy that you had a great experience at the hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to respond. I will pass on your comments to the department heads and share them with the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Medical Center
Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center

Address: 6633 Travis St, Houston, TX 77030-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#143 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $118 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center hotel is located in the heart of the Texas Medical Center, the largest medical facility in the world, and is on the doorstep of Rice University. We offer complimentary shuttle service around the extensive medical center complex and surrounding areas.Our rooms and 720-sq.ft. suites provide views of the Houston skyline, and we host two onsite dining options for your breakfast, lunch and dinner needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Plaza Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing