We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room not there when I arrived.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center
Ranked #146 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed November 14, 2012

They oversold. I arrived in the middle of the night, dead tired and waited 20 minutes before being transferred to another hotel 30 mins away. No offer of anything to make up for it. Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsleezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 742 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Me and my family were up there for a friend in The Memorial Hermann Hospital. We stayed there for about a week. I personally liked the service but I thought the food was expensive. Also it was not very good.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank nascarjjrp p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you did not enjoy your food, and we always look to reviews for insight on improvements to our hotel. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I've stayed here twice now, and the service is excellent. The last trip I left a sweater in my room and when I called to inquire, the staff found it and mailed it to me at no cost. On both visits my room has been very nice-- comfortable bed, and good view of the city. It's very convenient when flying into town to meet with researchers at the nearby universities and I will definitely stay here again. Had dinner and a beer in the bar after flying in late one night and it was good food and pleasant atmosphere. Had the breakfast buffet ($15) with my business colleagues and was quiet and just right for our morning discussions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Since UT System is a client I visit the medical district often and I really like the location and layout of the rooms. Big suites and the ones that have been refurbished are even better. It's like a home away from home. While I never need the 1/2 bath at the entryway it's nice to have if there are meetings in the living room.

I've only eaten once for breakfast in the hotel and it wasn't good at all so I've avoided it for all future trips. I'm not sure it's fair to judge a restaurant on one experience but I've stayed away since then.

I typically will walk to Main Street or Fannin and grab dinner or coffee.

I (and co-workers) continue to visit and plan to as long as rooms are available.

Room Tip: Always ask for a "complimentary upgrade". You never know what you're going to get. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annoddddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for a friends birthday weekend. Check in was fast, but uneventful. The staff wasn't exactly friendly nor mean. Just not what you expect when checking in. The service was real slow. We had to call more than once for them to bring towels to the room & when they got there they didnt bring wash cloths. So they had to come back, which took another 5 mins after the 30 mins it took for them to even show up. There wasn't anything special about the hotel. The hallways were hot, It was an overall strange hotel. Other than the slow service everything was just okay. Being a Hilton, I definitely expected more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 619miamiluv662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of being more attentive to our guest’s needs. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area. I do hope that you will be our guest again – thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very nice location for both Texas Med Center and Rice Univ. The value is definitely very good too based on the very spacious 2 room suite. Parking is additional but is pretty inexpensive and you have in and out privileges which I haven't had at other nearby hotels. The only downside is that the property is a little dated and could probably use some updating. But I will definitely stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I may be a bit picky but I do have a set standard when staying at a Hilton. This property is definitely below par when compared to most others and I have been a gold/diamond member for the past 12 years.

The hallway/room has a strange odor, like from an old establishment. I believe my floor is non-smoking (not sure about the entire hotel) but i can definitely pick-up the scent of the smoke; kind of smells like its been baked into the walls.

The suites are quite large, with a living room, bar, mini-fridge, and 1.5 baths. However, the shower/tub is worn, in need of renovation. I'm not sure if there are renovated rooms in the hotel, but as a Diamond member, i should have been given a room upgrade if available. At least the furniture is new.

The best thing about the hotel is its proximity to the Medical Center.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your review of the issue with your guest room. I often times utilize guest reviews to assess insights within our hotel operations and I have reviewed your feedback with the hotel team and we are now actively taking steps to freshen our guest rooms. We’re sorry if we did not meet your expectations of a Hilton. I appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Medical Center
Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center

Address: 6633 Travis St, Houston, TX 77030-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#143 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $122 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center hotel is located in the heart of the Texas Medical Center, the largest medical facility in the world, and is on the doorstep of Rice University. We offer complimentary shuttle service around the extensive medical center complex and surrounding areas.Our rooms and 720-sq.ft. suites provide views of the Houston skyline, and we host two onsite dining options for your breakfast, lunch and dinner needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Plaza Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing